Francis Taylor Diary

Pages That Need Review

Diary, 1786-1799

252
Needs Review

24[246] DIARY OF FRANCIS TAYLOR, 1794, 1794, November, 18, Very cold morning-milder evening & fair. Wm Edwards was here early in the morning & said he wou'd go to Col.Maury's tomorrow. Chas Leathers finished the Corn house. I paid 17/6 for 7 days work. I paid M.Biggers a half Joe & 2 dollars, $3. in acco't for his Wheat. Let him have 2 dollars to buy Leather for me at Hyde's, he intends going there tomorrow. 19, Sharp frost, mild day, cloudy evening, a little mist. Joseph Clark was here & paid 12/- for the 3 Sleys[Sleighs], the other, he is to carry to Barbour's Store. He took away the Linseed oil, which he is to measure & pay for at Court (the oil was in a cask). I rode to Uncle Taylor's- he continues very weak, went from thence to Court house, had my riding mares shoes removed, saw Mr. Howard at Bank's, paid him 1/9 for 100 nails had the 13th instant. came home in evening & dined. 20, Constant rainy day, strong S.wind in evening. Macon Biggers did not buy any leather for me, he ret'd 36/- which I am to let him have at Court. Blustering & warm at night. (25th returned 6 dollars to M.Biggers) 21, Ceased raining & turned cold last night- smart frost. I staid at home. 22, Clear & very cold last night, much frost. I let M.Biggers have 16lb for his part Hhds- He kept 15 Hhds(36 Barrels) suppose his share & 8 barrels. I find him for next year,will be about that much. 23, Sunday, Cold with some clouds- Sharp morning. I went to J.Taylor's and dined. E.Chew there. Nancy went to Mr.Barbour's this morning- J.Taylor jr complains of cold &c. 24, Very sharp frost- Fair day & tolerably mild. J.Taylor sent his negroes & Cart to pay for work done by Davy. Gathered & got the Corn at home to the Stack to day. I went to Court- Got no money of W.Edwards. Jos Clark paid 25/- for 5 Gall's Linseed oil he had the 19th. Capt Jas Coleman paid me 3 dollars, which he aid Spence Mozingo sent in part of his account. Mr.W.Dade paid 4/4 1/2 won of him at his house & C.T's 7 bits last summer. C.Taylor spoke to me to day to let him have a pot of butter,which he sent for at night, 38 lb gross, I think the pot 13 lb25, Sharp frost-Fair day & moderate. I rode to Court & returned in evening. Rec'd 23 & 24 a letter & Cheese 11 1/4 from F.S. Taylor. 26, Frost, Fair moderate day. This day finished measuring the corn made the present Crop, M.Biggers says as follows: Barnfield 67 Hhds at 12 bush ) Bar. Bus. 112, 268, 4 Meadowfield 25) F.T. used 2. M.B. 4 Bus) 6 270.Barls Put in Old Corn house, 52. Do in New do, 43 M.Biggers kept 15, 112 I rode to Court, proved an acco't of G.Taylor's estate agt*A.Madison's Estate for 24/- and one of my own for 5/7 1/2 which sums James Bell paid me.{Note- Ambrose Madison, son of Col.James Madison Sr., and brother of the President, died Oct.3,1793-PFT] I bought sundry articles for K.Chew 3.15.9. I dined with G.Barbour,J.Barbour jr & J.Taylor jr there.Capt Conway came home with me to supper. 27, Clear & windy, not cold. Capt Conway went away after breakfast, by C.Taylor's. I went to J.Taylor's about noon, carried the articles I bought yesterday to K.Chew-who is there- Cha's Bell was writing in the office. I dined there. 28, Very mild-smoky weather. J.Taylor sent for me to dinner. I went over. Mr Macon, Cha Taylor & daughters were there. Mrs Macon was unwell at C.Taylor, otherwise she, C.Taylor's wife & Miss M.Conway was to be there. Mr Banks was there but went away before dinner. Macon Biggers said he shou'd remove 6 Bushels corn out of the old house, which with 4 he used and 15 Hhds he kept make 38 Barrels, being 30 Barrels for his share(1/9 of crop)and 8 barrels allowed for provision for next year.

From the TAYLOR DIARY, #1907-z in the Southern HIstorical Collection, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill. FOR REFERENCE ONLY: PERMISSION TO PUBLISH MUST BE REQUESTED. WARNING: MOST MANUSCRIPTS ARE PROTECTED BY COPYRIGHT.

Last edit about 4 years ago by maxineh
253
Needs Review

25[247] DIARY OF FRANCIS TAYLOR,1794,1794, November, 29, Warm,hazy,smoky & windy,some drops rain. I staid at home:J.Taylor jr & Chs Bell went by in the evening with Dogs and gun. 30, [SUNDAY] Cloudy morning, rainy evening. I went to C.Taylor's to dinner, he & family there.

December, 1, Monday, Small rain last night-very dark morning, cloudy & fine rain, afterwards showers, cleared warm in evening. Sent Davy to J.Taylor's to know the size to make pair of shoes for E.Chew, he had Leather &c,but complains of a violent pain in his knee, & did not finish them. 2. Fair & mild, cloudy & a little rain at night. Mr Banks came here to breakfast, he wanted to buy Pork: I did not want to sell. Had 12 Hogs(fattened by the Spring) killed: 78, 97, 149, 149, 165, 169, 170, 175, 205, =1,357 Nt.kept by F.T.=9. 83, 93, 121, =299, Nt.= 3 M.Biggers had. Let Macon Biggers have 30 hogs 299 lb Nett, also he had 1/2 Bus' Salt. Davy continued so unwell that he did not come out. George assisted to Kill & clean hogs-and cut up two. I put off cutting the rest till tomorrow. Mr Smith's Aggy came and assisted in the Kitchen. 3, Clear & cold, Flying clouds. Had the remaining 7 hogs cut up & salted. I went to C.Taylor's, gave a letter to Wm Smith & a letter to Mess'rs Blairs requesting them to pay Col J's Taylor $3.14,0., to send me $20. & Exchange 25 dollars Bank notes sent by C.Taylor by Capt Conway. J.Taylor & wife- E Chew, Nancy Gaines & W. Pollock jr dined there- C.Taylor set off after dinner, intends to C.Conway's tonight. 4, Frost- and fine day for the season. I went to aCourse race in Willis's field, opposite John Waugh's- There was a smart number of Spectators- Amongst them several ladies. Tom Bell's mare won- 5 started- Rec'd a letter & Newspapers of F.S.Taylor. 5, Great white frost- Hazy- Killed the 11 hogs(commonly called wild hogs) fattened in the Mountain field- vizt. 1 Sow & 10 young ones. Roger Bell came with his dog & caught the old Sow for me, cou'd not get her in the pen- The other old Sow has been missing since early in Fall. Macon Biggers had 2 hogs,201 lb, making 500 lb Nett(including 3 hogs he had the 2d, instant)it being what I agreed to find him for next year. Acco't of 11 Hogs killed: 70, 75, 78, 85, 104, 105, 105, 114, 117, =9 Hogs =853 lb Kept by F.Taylor, + 1,357, Kept the 2d Dec'r = 2,210 lb salted by F.T. Mountain Field= 119, 82, 2 Hogs =201 lb + 299 Macon Biggers had the 2d instant = 500 lb. -See 2d, Decr. Old George assisted about cleaning the hogs & cut them up in evening- Had them salted & Saltpetre on the joints of those Salted before and now. Mr Rob Coleman(Schoolmaster) called here on his way to see M.Biggers- said he had agreed to teach at same place another year & asked if I W'd board him, which I told him would not be convenient. 6, Fair and very, mild. I rode to Uncle Taylor's,he is extremely weak. Col Madison, Mrs Macon, J.Taylor & wife, dined there- Mr Howard & wife & John Taylor's family also there- J.Taylor & I rode after dinner to Mr. Shepherd's Store but did not dismount. Bo't 4 Carp at night, of Moses, to pay 1/- for. 7, Sunday, Mild weather, some clouds. I went to J.Taylor's, E Chew was there. I let her have a pair of Shoes Davy made. James & Nancy Taylor were from home. 8, Mild weather. The Cart brought Lightwood for M.B. here. C.Leathers came to work on M.Biggers' house. I sent a shoulder 9 1/2 old bacon, a chine & 3 Sp ribs.Mrs Strewart & Mrs Biggers were here & cut out the Cloaths for Negroes- I paid 3/- to Mrs B. In night found and killed an Opossum in Turkey house. 9, Sharp frost. Sent Frank to H.Taliaferro's, he brought 7 Gal's Cyder. C.Taylor sent for me to dinner. J.Taylor & family, Nancy Gaines,G.Barbour & Ch's Bell dined there. Mr.B.Porter Sen'r was there but went before dinner. C.Taylor brought me $20. from Mess'rs Blairs, and got 25 dollars Bank notes exchanged. He bought a box Anderson's pills & 1/2 Bus Oysters for me(Received) 10, Mild weather. Finished refining hogs lard, sent Frank for but'r pot to C.Taylor's he brought a side Dressed Leather I had bought of C.Taylor at 10/-

From the TAYLOR DIARY, #1907-z in the Southern Historical Collection, University of North Carolina Library, Chapel Hill. FOR REFERENCE ONLY: PERMISSION TO PUBLISH MUST BE REQUESTED. WARNING: MOST MANUSCRIPTS ARE PROTECTED BY COPYRIGHT.

Last edit about 4 years ago by maxineh
254
Needs Review

26[248] DIARY OF FRANCIS TAYLOR, 1794, 1794, December, 11, Thursday, Mild weather, smoky. I sent to Mess'es Barbour's store & got 2 Gal's Whiskey. J.Taylor & his two little boys came here in evening to get Davy to make shoe for. C.Leathers finished working at M.Biggers's having been there 4 days. 12, Smoky, mild some clouds. M.Biggers went with the Cart to Herndon's Mill and got slabs for floor &c to this house. J.Taylor jr & Charles Bell came here; I went with them over the Mountain with Dogs & Guns- We caught a hare, Killed a pheasant, and J.Taylor caught a fat Doe without shooting, in Langham's field. Ch's Leathers called on me in the morning. I paid his 9/- for working on M.Biggers' house 4 days at 2/3. 13, Mild weather. I rode to Court house, Saw John Taylor's wife going to Rockingham. She said Uncle Taylor was much weaker than he has been. I came home to dinner. 14, Sunday, Moderate weather. I went to J.Taylor's, T.Barbour's wife & children(who came from Culpeper yesterday), Nancy Gaines & E.Chew were there & Sally & Judy Burnley. 15, Cool cloudy morning, milder evening. Mr.D.P.Howard & J.Taylor jr came here, we went a hunting and then to J.Taylor's to dinner. Wm Dade, The Proctor, Gab'l Barbour, T.Bell (C.H.) John Langham, C.Taylor, his wife & some of the children T. Barbour jr's family & Nancy Gaines dined there. About sunset, J.Pendleton & family got there just as I came off, Joe Clark having called with his waggon. I got Jos Clark to take two parcels 45 & 29 lb Tob'o to sell or exchange at Fred' for German ozn'a, a Dutch blanket, a loaf oF Sugar & a jug of Rum, or leave at Mess'rs Blairs if he cannot dispose of it. 16, Cloudy, warm & some rain. I staid at home. Had the Wheat tailings cleaned, about 7 1/2 Bus' very sorry grain. Run the Wheat in Cellar through the an, about 11 1/2 Bu F.T. took 3 1/2, M.B. 3 Bushels. 17, Warm and fair. Wednesday, J.Taylor jr, John Pendleton & C.Taylor dined here- Henry Wood came here to let J.Taylor know he should Kill his hogs tomorrow, J.Taylor having agreed to buy of him- I enquired his price, which is 30/ per {cent sign cent?]. 18, A little white frost warm & fair day. Heard that Uncle Taylor was thought dying. I staid at home. M.Biggers work on stable. E Chew's Hannah got 3 1/2 yds Kersey for Petticoat,being some I had from Blairs. 19, Rain began before day & cont'd moderate all day. warm. I inspected my Port & had it rubbed with salt. Uncle Taylor died sometime last night in 80th year-[Erasmus Taylor, son James 2nd born Sept 5,1715-WKA] 20, Cleared in last night, clouded about sunrise and warm rainy day. 21, [SUNDAY] Rain Snow last night, the eath covered this morning, some spits snow to day & cooler. I went to J.Taylor's- J.Pendleton's family & E Chew were there. J.Pendleton's wife unwell. I came by C.Taylor's, he was from hone, left a letter i rec'd from G.C.Taylor. 22, A little shower of snow early in last night & cleared. Smart frost but fine day and mild.I paid M.Biggers 1/6 for Mrs Stewart for alter'g breeche- M.Biggers had 3 Bus'Wheat which he car'd to Mill. I sent Ben with one Bus' do for Negroes I went to Court- Rec'd of Wm Edwards $55.12.6. to Credit his bond to G.Taylor's Estate, he paid me at same time 7/8- I had paid Sheriff for Land Tax. I paid Wm Gibson for C.Conway, by his verbal order,($44.4.5 & 6/10)$44.11.3 which was owing from W. Taylor for a negro he bought of C.Conway & W.Taylor was charged with the money. (the 6/10 was interest since 27th Oct'r.)James Barbour jr paid me 16/- to Credit Mildred James with the Estate of G.Taylor dec'd. F.Taylor pd 12/- to Cr M.James for T.Doolin. Abner Porter paid 15/- & F.Taylor 15/6 to Cr. do. I settled my account with A.Porter. 23, Smart frost, Very fine day. I rode to Court house, ret'd to dinner. Sent money 6/3 &got 3 quarts rum at Banks' 24, Very fine weather. I was very unwell last night & to day- took some Ipecac.

From the TAYLOR DIARY, #1907-z in the Southern Historical Collection, University of North Carolina Library, Chapel Hill. FOR REFERENCE ONLY: PERMISSION TO PUBLISH MUST BE REQUESTED. WARNING: MOST MANUSCRIPTS ARE PROTECTED BY COPYRIGHT.

Last edit about 4 years ago by maxineh
255
Needs Review

27[249] DIARY OF FRANCIS TAYLOR, 1794, 1794 December, 25, THURSDAY,Fine morning- a little rain at night. I went on invitation before breakfast to drink Egg punch at Wm Dade's- of which there was plenty- John Pendleton, C. Taylor, Jas Bell, J Taylor jr, Langhorne Dade, Rob't Leckie,Col Taliaferro's three sons. Mr Morris & Miss H.Watkins were there- The men went to Col Taliaferro's to dinner. Wm Willis's wife & a Miss Brooke dined there- J.Pendleton & I came away about sundown in the rain, we left the other Company there. 26, Clear mild day. I went to J.Taylor's. J.Pendleton's wife was this moring delivered of a daughter(born before its time,tho' alive) she has been some time unwell. Col Jas Barbour's*wife died last night. Mrs James, Reu Taylor's wife, Miss P Moore, N.Gaines, J.Pendleton &family, T.Barbour's wife & family there. *[Col.James Barbour married Frances Throckmorton, daughter of Maj Robert Throckmorton, Justice 1737, m. Mary,daughter of John Lewis] 27, Fine day, I went to Mr.Nooe's to dinner & staid till supper. There was a merry company, mostly young people. 28, Weather continues mild. I went to C.Taylor's and dined- His girls & Miss S.Conway had not returned from the dance, were to dine today at Mr.Shepherd's. I met them returning.--[SUNDAY]-29, Sharp morning, fine day, a little hazy. A son of Tho's Biggers came to enquire if Reu Taylor wanted an Overseer. Henry Mallory came to enquire about hiring Negroes. 30, A little fine rain early- Cloudy & smoky day. J.Taylor, John Pendleton, Tho's Barbour, C. Taylor and J.taylor jr. dined here, fine night. 31, Very foggy all day. I had all my pork hung to Smoke in Meat house, 36 shoulder Gammons & Midlings eac, 18 Jowls, 18 Crowns & some Chines.

From the TAYLOR DIARY, #1907-z in the Southern Historical Collection, University of North Carolina Library, Chapel Hill. FOR REFERENCE ONLY: PERMISSION TO PUBLISH MUST BE REQUESTED. WARNING: MOST MANUSCRIPTS ARE PROTECTED BY COPYRIGHT.

Last edit about 4 years ago by maxineh
259
Needs Review

The old James Barbour home- known as "Smith Cottage". where he and his two wives Elizabeth and Sarah Todd (Sisters) are buried, is about ten miles South of [?] C.H., about a mile N. E. of Liberty [?], and of "Bloomingdale", One of the homes of Thomas Barbour, father of James and Philip P. W.W.S.

From the TAYLOR DIARY, #1907-z in the Southern Historical Collection, University of North Carolina Library, Chapel Hill. FOR REFERENCE ONLY: PERMISSION TO PUBLISH MUST BE REQUESTED. WARNING: MOST MANUSCRIPTS ARE PROTECTED BY COPYRIGHT.

Last edit about 4 years ago by maxineh
260
Needs Review

31[253] NOTES ON THE DAIRY OF FRANCIS TAYLOR,l794, BY DR.A.C.GRINNAN., 1794 Jan Robert Moore appears to have been the son of Maj'r Wm Moore. 17, William Taylor, Of Fredericksburg, formerly Merchant, had previous to this time sold the farm East of Quarles Mt. to Maj. John Langham. Feb.14, A son of G[eorge] G[ibson] Taylor, named Jonathan. Mar.13, Henry Mitchell got License to marry Holly Lucas. Apl Francis Stubbs Taylor was father of Mrs Dr.Ed.Carmichael[of Fredericksburg] 18, F.S. Taylor lived in Norfolk. G.C.Taylor in Ky. F.S.Taylor was pro. the son of Edmund T. who m.____Lindsay[Note by PFT- This is a palpable error- Francis Stubbs Taylor was the son of Edmund and Sarah(Stubbs) Taylor, and was brother of George Gibson Taylor-PFT] Thompson Taylor, son of [Commodore]Richard, lived in Kentucky. 20, Thompson Taylor arrived from Kentucky. 28, Davis & Johnson elected to House of Delegates. May 2, H.Day died, 13, Lawsuit between Rauben Taylor & L.Taliaferro. 21, May Taliaferro was son of Col Lawrence Taliaferro. Lewis Throgmorton[Throckmorton-PFT] appears to have had store at D.H. Oct. List of George Taylor's heirs to whom money was paid. 22, William, Benjamin & Reuben Taylor return to Kentucky. Col. James Barbour's (of Madison) wife died last night, she was a Miss [Frances- PFT] Thro gmorton [Throckmorton-PFT],Sister of Robert, who was father of Mrs Gen Wm. Madison. Col James Barbour lived at one time in a house north of Madison C.H. he sold this when he moved to Ky., where he died in 1804- His estate was settled in Garrard County Ky.

From the TAYLOR DIARY, #1907z in the Southern Historical Collection, University of North Carolina Library, Chapel Hill. FOR REFERENCE ONLY: PERMISSION TO PUBLISH MUST BE REQUESTED. WARNING: MOST MANUSCRIPTS ARE PROTECTED BY COPYRIGHT.

Last edit about 4 years ago by maxineh
261
Needs Review

32[253] DIARY OF FRANCIS TAYLOR, 1794. WILL OF COL.GEORGE TAYLOR, COPIED FROM RECORDS OF ORANGE COURT. By Dr. Andrew C. Grinnan.

IN THE NAME OF GOD, AMEN. I, George Taylor of the County of Orange, being in good health & of sound and disposing memory, thanks be to God for the same, do make &ordain this my last will and testament, in manner and form following.

Imprimis. I desire all my just debts be first paid.

Item- I give to my son James all the household furniture that were mine,where he now lives, and a young negro woman named Rachel now in his possession, also two young negroes between the age of five and fifteen, such as my Ex'ors shall chuse, to his and his heirs forever.

Item.- I give to my son Jonathan five pounds current money.

Item.- I give to the Ex'ors of my son Edmund for the use of his estate five pounds current money.

Item.- I give to my son Richard five pounds current money.

Item.- I give to my son William five pounds current money, also three negroes, Phill., Adam & Doll, now in his possession. The aforesaid three negroes being of equal value to four such as I gave to my other children, also thirty-three pounds current money, being the balance of one hundred and fifty pounds current money.

Item.- I give to my son Charles five pounds current money.

Item.- I give to my son Francis four hundred acres of land including the farm, the plantation,I now live on,also a negro named Frank now in his possession, also one other grown negro and two young negroes, such as my ex'ors shall chuse to make them equal in value to such four I gave to my other children, which land and negroes I give him & his heirs forever.

Item.- I give to my son Benjamin four negroes, two of them to be grown & the other two of them to be young men, also I give him four other negroes such as my ex'ors shall chuse in lieu of my not giving his land or money which said negroes I give him to him and his heirs forever.

Item.- I give to my son George five hundred and twenty five acres of land in Fayette county on Kentucky River to him and his heirs forever, he paying to the ex'ors of his brother Edmund the expense attending taxing up and surveying the same. Item.- I leave the remaining part of the land I live on with one hundred and fourteen acres I purchased adjoining the lower part of my tract to be sold by my executors or the survivor of them for raising money for the payment of my debts & legacies. Item.- I give all the rest of my estate to be equally divided among all my beforementioned sons and their represenatives to them and their heirs forever- and, my last will & testament revoking all other wills by me heretofore made. IN WITNESS whereof I have hereunto set my hand & seal this fifth day of September 1789. (Signed) GEORGE TAYLOR (S.) N.B. As the will contained in this paper is wrote by my own hand it requires no witness. George Taylor.

From the TAYLOR DIARY, #1907-z in the Southern Historical Collection, University of North Carolina Library, Chapel Hill. FOR REFERENCE ONLY: PERMISSION TO PUBLISH MUST BE REQUESTED. WARNING: MOST MANUSCRIPTS ARE PROTECTED BY COPYRIGHT.

Last edit about 4 years ago by maxineh
262
Needs Review

1[255] DIARY OF FRANCIS TAYLOR, 1795, 1795 January, 1, Cloudy soft day. (Thursday). I went to the Funeral of Mr.Erasmus Taylor, Mr Maury read the service. John Taylor got there this day.- There was a respectable company, mostly connections & neighbors- I dined there- I had planted a pear of Uncle Taylor's best sort this side the middle Walk in the Garden, and a pear of Maj'r Moore's sort the other side of the Walk,both small. [Erasmus Taylor died 19, Dec.1794- WKA] 2, About 3 inches of snow fell last night, not very cold and good day. I staid at home. 3, Cloudy & cold- snowed about sunset. 4, [SUNDAY] Clear & mild, windy. I went to J.Taylor's and dined, James Bell, Nancy Bell, Sukey Conway, Sally & Betsy Taylor, J.Pendleton's wife & family there, did not see J.Pendleton's family wife, She being confined by her situation tho mending. One of the young Sows and pigs last night. 5, Fine moderate weather. (Monday)I rode to Col Maury's & bought some Flannel & 2 hanks silk for E.Chew & myself. I met G.C.Taylor who returned with me to the store. Capt Conway was at Maury's store. G.C.Taylor & I came to C.Taylor's house to dinner- Mrs E.Fitzhugh, Suky Conway were there- Col Maury paid me 4/- for Davy's making 2 pair & mending 3 pr Shoes last winter. 6, Cloudy with some spits of snow, not cold. J.Taylor,J.Pendleton, J.Taylor jr, C.P.Howard, C.Taylor & G.C.Taylor dined with me. Wm Gibson came to see G.C.Taylor about Tom. Benj'a Hancock came in the night with a Waggon. M.Biggers delivered him 11 Bus Wheat(by my measure) being the last but 3 Bus' in the bag. I desired him to sell the Wheat in Fredericksburg. 7, Thick & cloudy, moist snow in night, not much. I went to a dance at C.Taylor's & staid till past midnight. There was a merry Companny. 8, Thursday, Cloudy & snow,but melted,does not hide the ground. I went to J.Taylors Capt Conway, Col Maury,C.Taylor,G.C.Taylor,J.Pendleton,Wm Daingerfield of Belvidere, dined there- Mr Daingerfield says he left Lexington about the middle of last month & did not hear that my brothers had arrived in Kentucky- Wm Dade & J.Bell came to J.Taylor's in evening. I left them there. 9, Cloudy,with mist or small rain all day. mild. 10, Cleared before noon, cool evening. 11, Cloudy & cold, sharp frost in morning. Benjamin Hancock returned & gave account of the Wheat he took the 6th instant 9 23/60 Bushels which he sold for 58/8- he deducted 94 for the carriage & paid me 49/4. I went to J.Taylor's to dinner, J.Pendleton was gone to Culpeper,his whife &c & Nancy Gaines beside their own family were there. --[SUNDAY]-12, Monday, Very cold- a little hazy. Mr Coleman came here about noon: I told him it will not be convenient to board him here. 13, Hard frost, Cloudy morning, some spits snow, fair evening and more moderate. 14, Sharp frost, a little shower of snow in the evening & a little rain in night. Froze 15, Some spits snow & a good deal of rain in the afternoon. Snow in night cov'd the earth. J.Taylor jr & Cha's Bell went by to hunt. I rec'd a parcel of Newspapers but no letter from Norfolk. 16, Flying clouds and fair, cool.I went to Mr T.Bells. Wm Dade & wife, Misses Waatkins & Alexander, Wm Madison, L.Throckmorton, Hay Taliaferro jr, John Pendleton Henry Pendleton, J.Taylor,C.Taylor,G.C.Taylor, J. Taylorjr, Sally & Betsy Taylor were there. I came away about sunset with Sally and Betsy Taylor- have not been so well as usual. 17, Saturday, Some flying clouds-fair evening. I went to C.Taylor's- The company who were at Mr Bell's yesterday (except H.Taliaferro jr) were at C.Taylor's also James Bell & J.B.Pendleton- I did not get home till past 11 o'clock. 18, [SUNDAY] Very cold morning- clear day.I went to J.Taylor's-John Pendleton,Henry Pendleton & Nancy Gaines there. J.B.Pendleton went to Culpeper & J.Taylor jr rode from home. Robert Coleman(S.master) dined there. 19, Hard frost and very clear. I remaimed at home. The pied Cow had a female calf.

From the TAYLOR DIARY, #1907-z in the Southern Historical Collection, University of North Carolina Library, Chapel Hill. FOR REFERENCE ONLY: PERMISSION TO PUBLISH MUST BE REQUESTED. WARNING: MOST MANUSCRIPTS ARE PROTECTED BY COPYRIGHT.

Last edit about 4 years ago by maxineh
263
Needs Review

2[256] DIARY OF FRANCIS TAYLOR, 1795, 1795, January, 20, Hard frost and clear, James Taylor,J.Taylor jr,J.Pendleton, Henry Pendleton,C. Taylor & G.C.Taylor, were here. 21, Sharp frost & clear-somewhat mild evening. I went to C.Taylor's, G.C. Taylor was there & we agreed how his account with G.Taylor dec'd should be settled. He hired Sarah & children to me this year for $5. and Ben(who being lame) his value to be set at end of year. 22, Thursday, Clear morning, soon cloudy, some spits of snow. G.C.Taylor called on me,we settled out account for the hire of his negroes and I paid him the balance $14.0.11. He went to C.Taylor's who went him to J.Taylor's where I met them. Mrs Burnley &c, Nancy Gaines, J.Pendleton & family , dined there. J.Taylor jr & Nancy gone to T.Barbour's. 23 Began to snow in the last night, 2 or 3 inches fell, Snowed all day, at night about a foot deep, rain & sleet in night, not very cold. 24, Small rain till in the night, snow very wet and sunk above half its depth. I paid Macon Biggers 13/8 the balance due him for his crops & account with me to this time. Also paid him 1/4 the balance due him from the Estate of G.Taylor dec'd. Frank began to ride my colt. 25, Sunday, Cloudy and thaw, a little mist or fine rain in night. G.C.Taylor called here on his way to Montgomery, we agreed to settle his acco'ts w'th G.Taylor's Est'e hereafter. I rode to J.Taylor's. John Pendleton & c, H.Pendleton and Nancy Gaines, dined there. 26, Monday, Thaw & earth very wet- fine dry day above. I went to Court- paid Jos Clark 3/- for sundry waggonages- paid C.P.Howard for 2 Gallons Whisky,which I am to have on sending for at Barbour's store. 27, Fine moderate day, thawed some. I sent Frank to Barbour's store for 2 gallons of Whisky, it wanted about a quart of quantity. I rode to Court house about noon, returned to dinner. 28, Fine weather continues- hazy evening. I walked to J.Taylor's-C.Taylor & family (except Sally & Betsy who went to Reu Taylor's), John Pendleton's wife & Nancy Gaines were there. J.Taylor jr & H.Pendleton went to Col.T.Barbour's. I saw Elijah Brockman as I came here, who told me he saw Reuben Taylor going home, just returned from Kentucky. 29, Some spits snows about day, small rain till noon & afterwards very rainy till in night. I rode to Reu Taylor's, he is as well as when he left home and says their party got safe out, left Friends well except R'd Taylor's wife & Matilda, the former's indisposition from fatigue. H.Taliaferro's wife, C.Taylor & daughters Sally & Betsy, Sukey Conway & brother were there.I got letters from R'd Taylor jr & Roger only, 30, Cleared in last night-cold & windy. J.Taylor came here after breakfast to enquire what accounts Reu Taylor brought from Kentucky, he did not stay long. 31, Cloudy morning & evening- mid-day clear & mild. The second young Sow had 5 pigs. I remained home.

February, 1, Sunday, Fair windy, moderate. J. Taylor called here, going to Reuben Taylor's & asked me to go, I was not well and staid at home. Robert Taylor & C.P.Howard dined here. 2, Thaw most of the ice melted. I sent Frank with 11 lb Spun Cotton to Joseph Clark's, he said Mrs Clark will weave it. he rode the colt. I was very unwell all day. Sary came from Mr.T.Barbour's yesterday to C. house in his waggon, I sent my cart & brot her at night. 3, A little rain in morning, warm,cool at night. I am something better, staid at home. Moon eclipsed at night. 4, Very cold,some clouds. J.Taylor sent for me, I went over, Reu Taylor & wife, J Pendleton &c, Harry Pendleton, Milley Glassell, Sally Taylor & Nancy Gaines there. 5, Some clouds,mild,some spits snow at night.I took a purge which relieved me a good deal. C.Taylor sent 4 lb Candles, for Lent at dance

From the TAYLOR DIARY, #1907-z in the Southern Historical Collection, University of North Carolina LIbrary, Chape Hill. FOR REFERENCE ONLY: PERMISSION TO PUBLISH MUST BE REQUESTED. WARNING: MOST MANUSCRPTS ARE PROTECTED BY COPYRIGHT.

Last edit about 4 years ago by maxineh
264
Needs Review

3[257] DIARY OF FRANCIS TAYLOR, 1795, 1795, February, 6, A little snow fell last night,cloudy with some snow to day,but not enough to hide the earth.Tho's Barbour jr came here and wanted to buy about $600. Certificates. I let him have the whole of mine $900. & odd pounds to draw the Int. for me at Richmond-and told him if he choses he may have Interest warrants & Certificates except $600. 18/- in the pound & if he wanted & took more 20/-,which was agreed upon. I sent 12 lb Butter to Z.Nooe by Negro George. C.Taylor sent 7/6 for which I sent 9 1/4 lb butter. I sent Frank to Hay Taliaferro's for Cyder & 7/6 he says he got 7 gallons cyder & paid the money to Mrs Taliaferro. I went to Ch Taylor's, carried Flannel to make me two vests-I dined there. 7, Small snow in morning, faster in evening & fell about 3 inches, not cold. I staid at home. 8, [SUNDAY] Continued to snow at times,briskly afternoon moist about 4 or 5 inches I dined at J.Taylor's. J.Pendleton & family and Nancy Gaines was there. 9, Ceased snowing last night,about 6 inches and not cold-Cloudy & thawed to day. J.Taylor, J.Taylor jr, J.Pendleton & C.Taylor dined here.Geo Bledsoe came to see C.Taylor,who went home after dinner with him. 10, Fair fine day, thaw. I am very unwell,taken in the night, I believe with Bilious Colic. Gabriel Barbour came here in evening to inform me that his brother Tho's Barbour returned from Richmond yesterday & had made use of my certificates as agreed upon. 11, Cloudy & mild, thaw. I feel better than I did yesterday, am invited to a Ball to night,but decline going. 12, Some clouds,some spits of snow,but not cold. I staid at home. 13, Snowed very fast in the morning, 1 or 2 inches fell but melted-cool in evening and clear. J.Pendleton,J.Taylor jr & C.Bell came by here to hunt. I went to J.Taylor's to dinner. C.Taylor & sundry others there. 14, Saturday, Cool-some clouds, cold evening. I went to C.Taylor's- J.Taylor & family, John Pendleton & do, Nancy Gaines,Lucy Barbour & Robert Taylor, C.Bell, dined there. Brindle Cow had a calf. 15, [SUNDAY] Very cold, fair. I went to J.Taylor's his daughter Nancy unwell.C.Taylor J.Pendleton &c, Nancy Gaines, Lucy Barbour & Col Campbell dined there. J.Taylor jr went in evening with Col.Campbell down the country. they intend to Mr.Porter's to night. 16, Clear & hardest frost this winter. L.Taliaferro jr called here in evening to inform me the Com'rs to settle Dade's Estate are to meet at his father's next friday & desired me to attend. 17, Continues cold but not so severe, hazy. John brought a pot from C.Taylor's in which I put about 5 quarts honey, for making vests &c. 18, Continues dry and cold. 19, Continues cold and fair. I rode to Court house-Bought a shawl for E.Chew at Banks'- I returned to dinner- J.Taylor was here in evening- got a letter from T.Barbour jr about my certificates, he used part and sole the remainder. This day was appointed for Thanksgiving & prayer. [????????????????-PFT] 20, South wind,thaw,fair. Frank carried a shawl & knife to Eliz' Chew at Aunt Taylor's,& says she liked them. I went to Col.L.Taliaferro's,where a meeting of persons to settle sundry matters relative to Dade's Estate was held,but not concluded. Mr.T.Bell,James Bell, Rob't Taylor,J.Taylor,Ch's Taylor,Ben Porter, Catlett Conway, Harry Fitzhugh, A Maury, Wm Dade & wife and Miss Brooke, were there. I was one in the order for dividing Dade's Estate( which as to the Slaves, was made two winters ago) the Land being undivided) but only three being necessary to sign, B.Porter,T.Bell & C.Taylor sent me a note that he, J.Pendleton &c would dine- I sent the bearer by C.Taylor's to ask him over,soon after,C.Taylor's boy came to ask me to go there & said he had been to J.Taylor's to ask them. I went to C.Taylor's- C.Conway,A Maury, W.Dade,H.Taliaferro jr, Jas Bell,J.Taylor,J Pendleton, J.Taylor jr, Misses Hannah Watkins,Franky Aleander,&Milley Glassell, were there. I staid till after supper. 22, Mild, South wind, hazy-very little snow can be seen. Misses H.Watkins,F.Alexander M.Glassel, Sally, Betsy and Polly Taylor walked here before noon and after

From the TAYLOR DIARY, #1907-z in the Southern Historical Collection, University of North Carolina Library, Chapel Hill. FOR REFERENCE ONLY: PERMISSION TO PUBLISH MUST BE REQUESTED. WARNING: MOST MANUSCRIPTS ARE PROTECTED BY COPYRIGHT.

Last edit about 4 years ago by maxineh
Displaying pages 51 - 60 of 127 in total