Francis Taylor Diary

Pages That Need Review

Diary, 1786-1799

155
Needs Review

[151] 12 DIARY OF FRANCIS TAYLOR, 1790, 1790, June, 15, Fair weather, J.Pendleton & family, Misses Caty & Joanna Pendleton, went from J.Taylor's to Culpeper. 16, J.Taylor and C.Taylor dined here. I rec'd a letter from *J.Finney mentioning that friends in Kentucky were well- it was by Mr.Hancock Lee, who I hear said Mr. Hub'd Taylor, +Richard & G.C.Taylor had got out safe. I went after dinner w'th C.Taylor to Capt Burnley, he was not at home. Wm.Moore jr came here and got C.Taylor to draw a tooth. [*John Finney, md. Oct. 1787, Rachel, dau of Jonathan Taylor-- + Com.Richard Taylor on a visit to Ky., He did not move there until Autumn of 1794--WKA--] 17, G.Taylor rode to Wm.Taylor's plantation and bought 3 scythes of his brother at 5/- he returned to dinner- a moderate shower of rain about 2 o'clock. We had snaps for dinner. 18, Cloudy & very warm morning, had Irish potatoes planted in Sweet potatoe patch. Capt Burnley was here and dined. Heard that Mr.Shepherd had a son born yesterday- C.Taylor had a son born to-day. 19, Cloudy and a little rain in the morning, the day cool, clear in the evening. There was a meeting at the School house, my father, Uncle Taylor, Maj'r Moore, Mr.T.Bell, Capt Burnley, Rob't Taylor, Maj'r [Ambrose] Madison, C.Taylor, Wm. Moore jr and some of the scholars. We had a Dinner & plenty of Grog & spent the day agreeably- 11 squirrels, 1/4 Shoat & bacon was fried. 1/4 Roast Lamb with plenty of drest Bacon &c made a plenty & good dinner. 20, [SUNDAY] I went to a meeting at Jos Clark's & heard Jacob Watts & Geo Newman preach, they are poor speakers- there were a good number of persons at it- Leeland was expected but did not meet. Called on my return at C.Taylor's dined there with Capt. Burnley, Mrs Burnley, Reuben Taylor & G.Taylor (Ararat) the day was clear cool and pleasant- I left a dollar with C.Taylor to pay Mrs Stewart for making vest and Breeches21, Had Bacon Sunned- It has a good many Skippers &c. Had a swarm of Bees hived in the Long Gum hive. I was taken ill in evening, chilly. 22, Weather has been cool three days past, somewhat warmer to day- J.Taylor & son dined here, the rest of the family went to C.Taylor. Hear that Capt Conway's family are there- I continue unwell- Sunned Bacon again. M.Perry brought me a little hoe. 23, Had the Gammons & Shoulders of Bacon put up in the Cellar- Was not well. Went with G.Taylor to J.Taylor's & dined. Mrs Gaines and Mrs James were there. J.Taylor had 1 1/4 Bus Wheat. 24, Very rainy all day from the Northeast. The boys did not go to school25, Rained in the night, dark morning and cloudy day with some heavy rain. Capt Burnley & John Burnley were here in evening, got Basket Cherries. 26, Warm, damp morning- I went with the boys, Capt & John Burnley to Black Walnut to dig Snakeroot, got very little. My father rode to court house, returned to dinner, a little shower of rain. Clear evening. 27, [SUNDAY] Clear morning. Went with my father, Dicky & Colby to C. Taylor's- M. Fall came there from Capt Conway's- we dined & ret'd in evening. 28, Went with my father to Court-Dicky & Colby went to School, afternoon Mr. Good- let & the boys went to Court- I let Col T. Barbour have an Interest Warrant, No 905 for [?]12., which he gave me credit for and charged me with [?]3.12.0 of the same, which I paid for Mr. Richard Waugh, who paid me Cash [?]3.8.0, for it was for his tax in this county. I delivered Mr. Fontaine Maury 1 Hhd Tobacco at Royston's-G.T. No. 1196- 1342-124=Nt 1218, to be shipped on board the Venus, consigned to Mr. James Maury, for which I took a receipt, also for 7/- Warehouse & drayage charges- Very warm & a little rain to-day. 29, G. Taylor rode to M. Perry's to look at Wheat &c. Returned to dinner. 30, Rained some to day, very wet evening. Had 4 fine Cucumbers at dinner.

From the TAYLOR DIARY, #1907-z in the Southern Historical Collection. University of North Carolina Library, Chapel Hill. FOR REFERENCE ONLY: PERMISSION TO PUBLISH MUST BE REQUESTED. WARNING: MOST MANUSCRIPTS ARE PROTECTED BY COPYRIGHT.

Last edit about 4 years ago by maxineh
159
Needs Review

[155]16, DIARY OF FRANCIS TAYLOR, 1790, 1790, August, 24, I went again to Court-paid Int Warrants for G.Taylor to Sheriff £6.13.0 [?] & received of G.T. War't for £2.13.1. Also paid £9.4.3. for Eras.Taylor- Col Barbour paid me £12.14.0 Cash in part of Account. Jas Taylor jr (Caroline), James Bell, came here at night with G.C.T- C.Taylor came by and dined & dressed my father's leg. Sent B.Taylor's patents, Military &c Land, inclosed to him by Mr.James Blair of Fredericksburg. 25, J.Taylor went to his father's plantation. G.C.Taylor & J.Taylor jr, Orange, went with him-Jas Bell went home- I rode to Court house- Court adjourned at 2 o'clock- Capt Burnley came here in evening & carried a Saddle & bridle left here by J.Bell. J.Taylor &c came by Battaile's Springs & got back in night. 26, Bro'r James wrote my father that Mr.Nath'l Pendleton was at his house & for us to dine with him. My father, the young men & I went over. Miss Betsy Buckner & C.Taylor also were there- Doct'r Duke afte rdinner. A little rain in night not suf't to wet earth. M.Perry had bag Corn to send to mill27, My father, J.Taylor, Caroline, & I went to Rob Taylor's. Col E.Pendleton jr & family, Uncle Taylor, Capt Nat Pendleton & bro'r J.Taylor were there. G.C.Taylor went to Mr.Porter's- A few drops rain J.Taylor, Caroline staid at Rob Taylor's- Sold G.C.Taylor 2 pair silk hose for 30/- & took a pair of Cotton hose for 8/28, We went to Uncle Taylor's and dined there. Col Pendleton & family, Maj'r Moore &do. Miss Throckmorton, Mr.T.Bell, his wife and daughter, Maj'r Lee & wife, J.Taylor & son, J.Taylor jr Caroline, Rowland Thomas, were there. 29, Reu Taylor, J.Taylor Caroline, & J.Taylor jr., J.Bell & G.C.T. came here in [SUNDAY] the morning. I went with them to Maj'r Moore's & dined- Reu Taylor, J.Taylor Caroline, & I called at Capt Burnley's in evening. J.Taylor went to Reu Taylor's intending to set off tomorrow for Caroline. Jonathan struck a calf with a Stone & killed it, which was butchered. 30, Uncle Taylor, Col.E.Pendleton & Rob't Taylor & J.Taylor dined here, Capt J.Walker was here after dinner- There fell a heavy rain in the evening. My father told bro'r James he might have 3 bus' more of Corn. 31, Joshua Fry came here w'th C.Taylor & Geo.Porter from School house- C.Taylor ret'd, the others dined here- G.C.Taylor went with them after dinner & went to Mr.B.Porter's- Cloudy but no rain. September, 1, Bro'r James sent in morning & bor'd two bottles Whisky and to ask us to dine- I went with G.Taylor- Uncle & Aunt Taylor, Col.Pendleton & two Daughters & Rob't Taylor & wife & G.C.Taylor there. M.Perry sent 1 1/2 Bus Onion from Plant patch. 2, Rained a little in the evening- Had Damsons Gathered. 3, Sent Frank with Damsons to Mrs Rob't Taylor- who said she w'd have them Prepared & send me part back when done- Law Battaile & Wm Woodford came after 12 o'clock but w'd not stay dinner, the latter came to enquire after his Runaway, Davy- G.C.Taylor went to Rob't Taylor's to day. 4, Our family went to Court house to a Barbecue made by Capt's Burnley & Wood, Geo.Porter & Alex Shepherd- there was about a hundred persons at it & an agreeable Company- Grog for the men, Sangaree for Ladies to drink. Joshua Fry & Isaac Williams came home with G.C.Taylor. 5, [SUNDAY] J.Fry, I.Williams & G.C.Taylor went to Court house. I went with my father, Dicky & Colby to C.Taylor's & dined there- Weather cool. 6, Reu Taylor came by and said he would buy one of the large Tables at 40/- My father & I went with him to the Court house, it being the day for Elrcting Members to Congress- there was none but Col.Madison voted for he had _____ votes. Cool & Clear. 7, J.Taylor jr & I.H.Williams came w'th G.C.Taylor from J.Taylor's. G.C.T sent his boy to Proctors to look for Mr.Williams's horse but did not get him. Bror's James & Charles dined here & the above, who went away in the evening. Took 4 Bee hives- 6 or 7 Gall's honey. 8, J.Taylor walked here but did not stay long. From the TAYLOR DIARY, #1907-z in the Southern Historical Collection, University of North Carolina Library, Chapel Hill. FOR REFERENCE ONLY: PERMISSION TO PUBLISH MUST BE REQUESTED. WARNING: MOST MANUSCRIPTS ARE PROTECTED BY COPYRIGHT.

Last edit about 4 years ago by michellezitney
160
Needs Review

17[156] DIARY OF FRANCIS TAYLOR, 1790, 1790 SEPTEMBER 9, G.C. Taylor & J. Taylor jr went with Rob Taylor over the Ridge to see John Taylor, G. Taylor dined at Rob't Taylor's- After dinner the young men set off from there. J. Taylor went to Fred'g. 10, C. Taylor & Reuben Taylor dined here. warm dry weather. 11, C. Taylor came by and I went with him to Abner Gaine's where a Shooting Match for Beef was advertised. We called at Reu Taylor's who went with us- there was not a subscribers enough to shoot for beef. Bro'r James got there on his way home. I dined there & ret'd at night- Warm 12, [SUNDAY] Went with G. Taylor, Dicky & Colby, to J. Taylor's to dinner- Col. J. Pendleton was there going to Charlottesville to make return of Poll for Delegate to Congress- Eliz Chew was at J. Taylor's. 13, Cloudy last night & this morning- J. Pendleton & his family came to J. Taylor's last night- he was here in evening, also C. Taylor. 14, Gathered Fodder- Reu Taylor got 3 1/2 lb Coffee & paid for it 4/8- He, J. Taylor, Col. J. Pendleton & John Pendleton dined here- Col. Pendleton had been to Charlottesville to make return on Election of Representative in Congress- Col. Madison was elected, there were only a few votes against him- Heavy rain about sunset. 15, My father walked to C. Taylor's, who can and dined here. 16, I rode to Geo Taylor's, Ararat, to enquire of Turkeys, borrowed Scotch Letters- I return'd, Uncle Taylor dined here, had punch17, Killed a Ewe, No. 2, G. C. Taylor got home from Rockingham. 18, My father, G. C. Taylor & I went to Court House. I got Loops put to my saddle, John Taylor was there- *Col. Madison & Mr. +Jefferson about 12 o'clock got to the Court House on their way home from New York. My father & I came to Uncle Taylor's to dinner. Maj'r Lee, John Taylor, Rob Taylor, & family, Mrs #Madison Sen'r. Miss =A. Bell, Eliz Chw &c were there. *James Madison, 4th, President U.S. +Thomas Jefferson, 3rd President, U.S. #Mrs. Madison Sen'r, was Eleanor Rose [Conway] mother of the President. =Miss Ann Bell, daughter of Thomas Bell 19, [SUNDAY] G. C. Taylor went to Capt Conway's. My father, Dicky & Colby & I went to C. Taylor's. Reu Taylor & G. Taylor, Ararat, called here and went with us- Jas. Taylor, J. Pendleton's wife & children dined there- After dinner Thos Barbour & J. Taylor jr were there20, Staid at home- Rained at night a good shower. 21, I walked to Capt Burnleys- he was gone to Hyde's & returned to dinner- J. Taylor, his wife & family, J. Pendleton's wife, T. Barbour & family, went to Maj'r Moore's22, G. C. Taylor came from Capt *Conway. He, G. Taylor & I went to J. Taylor's- Mr. T. Bell & family, Mrs Moore & family, Reu Taylor & do., Capt Burnley, Miss Sally, Polly Burnleys, C. Taylor & family were there. [*Capt. Catlett Conway was brother of Mrs-Dr-Charles Taylor, also uncle of George Conway Taylor WKA & PFT] 23, I rode to Court house, ret'd by J. Taylor's. My father was there & G.C. Taylor came & we staid dinner. J. Pendleton & T. Barbour came there last night- Aunt Taylor, Mrs James & B. Bell's wife there- In evening J. Pendleton, T. Barbour, G.C. Taylor & J. Taylor jr went to Court house & played at fives- I went with them24, J. Taylor, J. Pendleton, C. Taylor & Jas Taylor jr dined here. 25, J. Pendleton & J. Taylor jr called here. I went with them to Horse race at Wright's Tavern, where we dined- Was also at Hyde's Store. I bought a pair Spectacles &c. Heard Capt Dade had Tobacco & house burnt. 26, [SUNDAY] Cloudy & warm- J. Taylor called here on his way to Reuben Taylor's where his family, John Pendleton & his family were going- Reuben Taylor sent his Sorril Mare of 4 years old by Sam, who car'd my father's young Bay horse back in exchange. 27, Went with my father & G. C. Taylor to Court. Mr. Goodlet was at School till middle of day- I paid for Maj'r Moore $15. Int. Warrants in part of his tax-

From the TAYLOR DAIRY, #1907-z in the Southern Historical Collection, University of North Carolina Library, Chapel Hill. FOR REFERENCE ONLY: PERMISSION TO PUBLISH MUST BE REQUESTED. WARNING: MOST MANUSCRIPTS ARE PROTECTED BY COPYRIGHT.

Last edit about 4 years ago by maxineh
161
Needs Review

18{157] DIARY OF FRANCIS TAYLOR,1790, 1790 September, 27, (Continued) He is to pay me as much cash when he sells his wheat. I also paid for Abs'm Smith 30/-, If he pays me 27/- cash at next Court it is to be discharged- otherwise he is to pay me the full sum. There was some rain in the evening- My father dined at E. Taylor's- 28, Rainy night- ceased in the evening. G.C. Taylor went to Mr. B. Porter's. C. Raylor dined here- We sent to C. Taylor & got about 4 Bushels White Apples- Cloudy day 29, Cloudy & small rain- My father went to Mr. B. Porter's. C. Taylor dubed here. I sold him [?]6. Int. Warrants & rec'd for it [?]5.8- I gave him an order on Col. T. Barbour for 16/10 3/4 for which he is to pay 15/2 1/2 if he receives it. James Bell & I. Hite Williams came here in the evening. 30, J. Taylor jr came here. I went with the young men to Mr. T. Bell's. Two Miss Polly Burnleys were there, Miss Polly Moore, Miss Throckmorton & Mrs Leavitt dined there. J. Taylor jr. & I. H. Williams came her at night.

October 1, A small Beef killed- a steer about 2 years old- I rode to Court house- paid Shoe maker 7 1/2 for mending a Shoe- returned by J. Taylor's and dined there- I. H. Williams also dined there2, G.C. Taylor went to Culpeper with J. Taylor jr, to T. barbour's- I wrote letters to Bro'r Jonathan & Hubbard Taylor to send by Row'd Thomas jr., who I hear will go tomorrow. Jos Thomas, who is insane, was here a little while 3, Warm weather- Dined at home- G. C. Taylor ret'd at night- [SUNDAY] 4, Cloudy warm morning a little mist. F[rancis]. S[tubbs]. Taylor got here in the evening from Bro'r Richards. 5, F.S. Taylor, who has the ague & fever, took a vomit- Rained a little in the morning & very warm- G.C. Taylor went to Uncle Taylor. My father, F.S.T. & I went to Ch's Taylor, J. Taylor & family dined there6, I went to the road in the morning, Bro'rs James and Charles passed on their way down the country- D. Taylor promised to get me some things- I let him have four dollars- Mr. Goodlet went in morning home to sell his land. I rode to Court house. My father, G.C. Taylor & F.S. Taylor went to Uncle Taylor's. Capt Burnley & family, Rob't Taylor's family & Col. Burnley's Daughter, Polly, dined there. A little rain in evening7, We set out to go to Reu Taylor's, he was from home & we called & dined with Capt Burnley. Cool & clear, came by Schoolhouse, J. Taylor jr called & I lent him 4 dollars8, Went with my father, G.C.T & F.S. Taylor to Reu Taylor's- Capt Burnley & Maj'r Moore dined there- Mrs. Thomas's cart came here & John Thomas, to get my fathers Still & had it, are to pay 1/7 toll. A little mist in the evening, no frost today. 9, Cloudy morning & warm. We went to Co't house, rainy evening- Ret'd to dinner- A saddle was advertised to be shot for, but did not make up shoots enough. 10, Cloudy morning with some rain- cleared in evening and cool. J. Taylor got home from Fredericksburg & with James Barbour jr was here about an hour in the evening. [SUNDAY] 11, Smart frost this morning- the earth frozen- have seen no frost before ys fall. J. Taylor jr. breakfasted here- Capt Burnley was here after breakfast- A man from Maryland who wanted the County Seal affixed to some writing, came here & dined- also J. Taylor jr- James Bell was coming here, I met him & went with him & G.C. Taylor to Capt Burnley's & eat honey- G. Taylor, Ararat, wasthere J. Taylor jr borrowed my saddle bags. 12, G.C.T & J. Taylor jr went to *Col. J. Barbour's, his daughter married Mr. John Harrison-- Some frost this morning. F.S. Taylor & I went with Capt Burnley to Herndon's Mill to fish, but caught none. Ret'd to dinner, Uncle Taylor dined here. A Mr. Peck came to the office (he dined here) I went & copied a deed for him- Sister Taylor came from Mrs. Thomas's where she dined and Mrs Gaines with her. Slept on bed. *Sarah, dau. of Col. James & Frances (Throckmorton) Barbour 13, Very rainy all day.

From the TAYLOR DIARY #1907-z in the South Historical Collection, University of North Carolina Library, Chapel Hill. FOR REFERENCE ONLY: PERMISSION TO PUBLISH MUST BE REQUESTED. WARNING: MOST MANUSCRIPTS ARE PROTECED BY COPYRIGHT. //JYJ..OI<. 01/+a.'r' B /907Z in the Southern Historical Collection, University of North Carolina Library, Chapel Hill. FOR REFERENCEONLY: PERMISSION TO PUBLISH MUST BE REQUESTED. WARNING:MOST MANUSCRIPTSARE PROTECTEDBY COPYRIGHT.

Last edit about 4 years ago by maxineh
162
Needs Review

19[158] DIARY OF FRANCIS TAYLOR, 1790 1790 October, 14, Fine moderate weather- I rode to Doulins. He had not made by breeches- Heard Maj'r Hite & family & Mrs. Balmain came down today to Orange. G.C.T. got home from Col. Barbour's. 15, Abner Porter came here & requested me to go w'th him to the Office, where he made his returns of Commissioner's business. I dined at J. Taylor's, B. Pendleton was there & went to Mr. Shepherd's to dinner, Two Miss Bowies, Wm. Miller & wife were at Mr. Shepherd's- Mrs Gaines was at J. Taylor's. 16, I rode to Court house, got my Breeches from Dowlin & paid him 5/- for making. they are badley made. I returned to Dinner17, J. Taylor jr returned 4 Dollars, the sum he borrowed when he went to Fredericksburg, the 7th inst. -[SUNDAY]18, I went to Court house & got Gowling to alter my breeches- I came to Uncle Taylor's and dined. My father & F.S. Taylor, Capt Burnley's family, Rob't Taylor, s do- Jas. Bell, his sisters Nancy & Peggy, Mrs Balmain were there. Mrs Glassell & family & Jenny Taylor came there after dinner from Mr. Glassell's- G.C. Taylor went to Col. Madison's & returned in evening. 19, G.C. Taylor & F.S. Taylor went to C. Taylor's and Dined at J. Taylor's. J. Taylor jr came home with them. I rec'd a letter from Bro'r William and another from Wm. Taylor of Botetourt- Dug Potatoes (both shorts) yesterday & today. 20, Heard that C. Taylor came home last night. My father, F.S. Taylor & I dined there G. C. Taylor went to Capt Conway's- C. Raylor told me he only bo't me some sugar with part of the 4 Dollars he had of me. I went to Capt Burnley's before breakfast, got 2 pr Drawers Mrs Burnley had made & p'd her 2/1 1/2. 21, I let F.S. Taylor have Two half-Joes, [?]4.16.0 part of which is to be returned when G. Taylor &c pays what they promised- He set off for Caroline. Heard Jas. Burnley got much hurt last night at Capt Wood's by a fall from his horse- Mrs Hite & Miss F. Madison dined at C. Taylor's. G.C. Taylor went there & ret'd in evening. Reuben Taylor came her to breakfast & brought a cart which carried large Table I sold him for 40/- which he is to pay for some time hereafter 22, G.C. Taylor went Fox hunting with J. Taylor jr, Doct'r Duke & others, they caught a fox. Killed a Beef. 23, I went with Frank & the boys and got Chestnuts at the Quarter, we got above half a bushel- Bro'r James was here in the evening. 24, [SUNDAY] Chas Taylor & family, *Betsy & Sukey Conway, J. Taylor & son, & Reuben Taylor dined here. The weather has been remarkably fine this fall. [* Susannah Conway, m. Ray Taliaferro- Elizabeth Conway, m. Henry Fitzhugh; they were daughters of Cap Catlett & Susannah (Fitzhugh) Conway and nieces of Mrs.Dr.Charles Taylor.- PFT] 25, G.C.T. staid at home- I went with my father to Court. Received 27/- of A, Smith for 30/- Warrant he had of me at last Court. I lent C. Taylor One half Joe & one Dollar to pay Swetman for saddle- Paid Capt C. Conway 2/10 for Buttons & twist. He came home with us. 26, My father & I went again w'th Capt Conway to Court, which is to arrange the overseers of the County Roads today. Capt Johny Scott paid me {?}6. for John Scott's bond to Hubbard Taylor, ass'd G. Taylor who assigned same to me- the weather turned cold this morning27, Hardest frost seen my me this fall, no ice. G. Taylor carried 43 1/2 lb spun yarn to Nancy Mallory to have wove into cloth- he returned to dinner28, We dined at home, a little cloudy but no rain. J. Taylor jr here in evening. 29, I went to Shoemakers, but not liking his hoses did not buy- Came by Court house, where was to be a general muster but very few met and no muster. Saw Maj'r R. Powell w'th a Maj'r Fars on their way to Col. Madison's. They talk of having a Glass house in Culpeper. Cloudy & a very little rain. 30, I went with G.C. Taylor to Mr. B. Porter's, his son George & Camp Porter intend to set off tomorrow to Georgia- Cloudy & some rain. Mr. Jos Hawkins, Jno Shropshire, Jos Wood, Wm. Porter, Mrs Stewart &c dined at Mr. Porter's. 31, [SUNDAY] Our family all dined at C. Taylor's. J. Taylor & family (except J. Taylor Jr.) M. Fall, were there, very fine day.

From the TAYLOR DIARY, #1907-z in the Southern Historical Collection, University of North Carolina Library, Chapel Hill. FOR REFERENCE ONLY: PERMISSION TO PUBLISH MUST BE REQUESTED. WARNING: MOST MANUSCRIPTS ARE PROTECTED BY COPYRIGHT.

From the /;:/YJ...01<. l.JJJ1../.2.'r' l:t /907Z in the Southern Historical Collection, University of North Carolina tibrary, Chapel Hill. FOR REFERENCEONLY: PERMISSION TO PUBLISH MUSTBE REQUESTED.WARNING:MOSTMANUSCRIPTSARE PROTECTEDBY COPYRIGHT.

--

.........

~

I

Last edit about 4 years ago by maxineh
163
Needs Review

20[159] DIARY OF FRANCIS TAYLOR, 1790, 1790, November, 1, My father & I went to Uncle Taylor's to dinner. Col Madison jr, Mrs Hite, Miss F[rances] Madison [The President & two of his sisters-PFT], Miss Polly Moore, & Mrs Balmain there. Mr. Goodlet not at School. 2, I went with J. Taylors to Col. Madisons. Maj'r Moore & family, Mrs Hite &c, W. Madison dined there & we all staid. Warm. 3, Rained a smart shower- In evening Jas Taylor & I came from Col. Madisons and left the above company there4, J. Taylor was here but ret'd before dinner. My father rode to Court house & had jug of oil brought home. 5, Cooler weather. 6, Sent wheat to Mill. -[SUNDAY]7, G.C. Taylor went to Col. Madison's. I sent Memorial &c by him to the young Colone 8, J. bell came here but soon went away- G.C. Taylor returned from Col. Madison's. 9, Heard that Mess're Jefferson & Madison passed by on their way to Philadelphia. We went to C. Taylor's , whose son was Christened, Charles- Uncle Taylor & family, Mr. Belmain & wife & J. Taylor jr were there. 10, G.C.T. went to Col. Burnley's- I rode to Maj'r Lee's- got a pair Shoes brought by him at Fredericksburg & p'd 11/- for them. I bought 3 pr Stockings & p'd 19/- for them. Chs & Reuben Taylor Taylor at Court house. I came with them to J. Taylor's- Uncle Taylor & family- Mr. Balmain & wife & my father were there & Cap Burnley & family. 11, Went with my father to Uncle Taylor's J. Taylor & family, Capt Burnley & do. Mr. Balmain &c were there. I got Mr. Balmain to take my watch to carry to Wells at Winchester. 12, Dined at home- Rode in Evening to Courthouse & got my Mare shod- A very little rain in the morning. 13, Very white frost & smoky weather. Cloudy but not cold14, [SUNDAY] A moderate rain last night- fine day. Dined at home. 15, M. Perry's wife died last night- I let him have plank for Coffin- Two Gartons made here. I went to Hyde's & bo't Sundries & ret'd to dinner. Rd. Taylor's Dosia brought some things for boys. 16, A good rain last night, warm & cloudy today. J. Taylor jr dined here. 17, Cloudy, cool but very little rain in day- Dosia set off to Caroline. Rained in night and some today. 18, Some rain here last night- The Great Mountains White with Snow- Cool today- I went to Maj'r Lee's & bought Cloth &c. G.C. Taylor went to brother Reuben's- Bro'r James was here in evening19, Heard bro'r Charles's wife very unwell and two of his grown negroes dangerously ill- People are very sickly in general- I was shooting & killed 9 Squirrels. Killed a Cow this morning, ab't 300 lb Nett. 20, G.C. Taylor went to Col. Madisons. Yesterday & today fine warm weather. G.C.T returned & J. Bell came home with him. 21, [SUNDAY] J. Taylor & sons & Jas Bell dined here- Charles Taylor's Slave Will died last night. 22, Went to Court. Got Holmes to take Cloth &c to make Vest & breeches for me. Lent Capt Conway a Guinea [?]1.8.6 to pay Duke23, A Traveller was here last night, bought a Shoulder of bacon & paid a bad dollar, I went with G.C. Taylor & Jn Carrill in pursuit of him, overtook hin above Suttons & he plead ignorance of its being bad, returned a good one & let him go on. Capt Conway came home with us last night- Says he lost two negroes this morning24, Capt Conway went away before breakfast, went by C. Taylor's & intends to his quarter- I went with my father to Court- They did not sit, so few people a jury could not be got. C. Taylor's Fanny died. 25, Staid at home, Cloudy and a little snow with sleet. C. Taylor dined here. 26, Very close sleet, fine rain & snow, much ice on the trees &c- Negro Rachel died.

From the TAYLOR DIARY, #1907-z in the Southern Historical Collection, University of North Carolina Library, Chapel Hill. FOR REFERENCE ONLY: PERMISSION TO PUBLISH MUST BE REQUESTED. WARNING: MOST MANUCRIPTS ARE PROTECTED BY COPYRIGHT.

Last edit about 4 years ago by maxineh
192
Needs Review

"Where [Scotchman?] Taylor lives". [mainfentty?] a mistake. Charles Porter lived at Old Raccoon Ford- about 1 1/2 miles above present Raccoon Ford- where the so-called "[Marquies's?] Road" begins. La Fayette had his headquarters in his house. From the TAYLOR DIARY, #1907-z in the Southern Historical Collection, University of North Carolina Library, Chapel Hill. FOR REFERENCE ONLY: PERMISSION TO PUBLISH MUST BE REQUESTED. WARNING: MOST MANUCRIPTS ARE PROTECTED BY COPYRIGHT.

Last edit about 4 years ago by michellezitney
194
Needs Review

Castle Hill" Subsequently the home of Wm [L?] River, U.S.Senator and Ambasador to France, Visited by Tantelon on his raid to Charlottesville during Revolution to capture a part of distinguished people; whereby Jefferson made his escape from Monticello. From the TAYLOR DIARY, #1907-z in the Southern Historical Collection, University of North Carolina Library, Chapel Hill. FOR REFERENCE ONLY: PERMISSION TO PUBLISH MUST BE REQUESTED. WARNING: MOST MANUCRIPTS ARE PROTECTED BY COPYRIGHT.

Last edit about 4 years ago by michellezitney
196
Needs Review

2 [190] DIARY OF FRANCIS TAYLOR, 1792, 1792, January, 15, [SUNDAY] Clear day and still tho' cool- Went with my father to James Taylor's to the Funeral of his son Henry- about twenty of the neighbors (chiefly relatives) were there. Capt Burnley & wife, John Taylor's wife, Mrs James- J.Pendleton & family, T.Barbour & do. Harry & Bowie Pendleton, my father & I dined there. 16, Weather continues cool and clear- J.Leathers jr was here & told me Mrs Mallory wanted some yarn to finish a pair Stockings she is knitting, I sent a Ball yarn- We staid at home. 17, Cloudy morning- Cleared in the evening & changed mild- Abner Watson with Ab'm Smith's Waggon brot 3 bus Salt, some Iron & Steel from Blair's. The load he car'd last measured only 38 [?] Bushels- Takes now 45 by our measure- Wrote by him to B.Taylor. 18, Began to Snow before day and continued all day- the wind low & from the South- the Snow only 2 or 3 inches deep on the old, which had not much sunk. 19, Clear weather, last night the wind blew high and drifted the snow a good deal- 20, Clear weather and not quite so cold as has been. Mr.T.Bell sent here for some brandy & to ask us to dine with him- We went- Maj'r Moore and family, Mrs Throckmorton & sons- Reu Taylor, J.Pendleton jr, Col J.Barbour's daughter Polly, were there- 21, Last night was not so cold as since the 10th instant, but was freezing- Snow began about 10 o'clock, but only a few spits, the weather Cloudy all day and not very cold. J.Pendleton & C.Taylor dined here. Bro'r James has a very sore jaw or he would have come. 22, [SUNDAY] Snowed last night and very fast to day, Wind North and cold. Snowed till 3 o'clock in evening when it ceased, having fell about 5 inches on the old- I think the whole 14 or 15 inches deep- 23, Last night colder than any day before this winter. My father & I rode to Court there was not many people there- the day clear and still- Saw Ab'm Smith who said his waggon had not got home, which car'd G.T's Wheat. J.Taylor borrowed 3 Bus cleaned Wheat to send to mill. 24, Last night about as cold as the preceding- Clouds this morning, cleared about noon & fine afternoon. 25, Clear day and not so cold as yesterday. I was very unwell last night and all day since, headache and fever. 26, J.Taylor rode here, he gave me a letter of an old date from *George G.Taylor, and one from #Jonathan Taylor jr, they had been left at Co't house. J.Taylor returned before noon. Reuben Taylor came while he was here and dined with us- My father told him he gave him Daphne, a negro girl he has in his possession now and desired me to take notice of it, if he should not alter his will. [*George Gibson Taylor, eldest son of Edmund and Sarah (Stubbs) Taylor. PFT] [#Jonathan Taylor, son of Jonathan and Ann (Berry) Taylor. PFT] 27, J.Taylor and son and John Pendleton dined here- Cloudy or hazy all day but not very cold. Brought from the Barn_Wheat. Left for Overseer 21 Bushels. 28, Snow fell last night about an inch deep- snowed a little this morning, but not enough to make it perceivably deeper. 29, [SUNDAY] Cold and clear- We staid at home. 30, Very cold last night- Cloudy morning. About 10 o'clock began to Snow from North ward and snowed very fast till evening when it changed to hail and to rain at night. The Snow fell 3 or 4 Inches deep- but it grew warmer in the evening and thawed a little. Reuben Taylor had been at C.Taylor's for something for his children, who have the whooping cough, he called here in the Snow and got a bottle brandy & did not stay dinner- 31, Rained moderately last night- Cloudy and foggy morning. About noon cleared and fine evening- Capt Burnley brought 36 yards Cotton Cloth were for me at T.Mallory's, which one of his daughters brought to his house, it weighed 10 1/2 lb. Capt Burnley dined here- My father had the joints of his Bacon re-salted, some which had been dressed too fresh. From the TAYLOR DIARY, #1907-z in the Southern Historical Collection, University of North Carolina Library, Chapel Hill. FOR REFERENCE ONLY: PERMISSION TO PUBLISH MUST BE REQUESTED. WARNING: MOST MANUCRIPTS ARE PROTECTED BY COPYRIGHT.

Last edit about 4 years ago by michellezitney
197
Needs Review

3 [191]DIARY OF FRANCIS TAYLOR, 1792, 1792, February, 1, Cold last night tho'not so severe as some past weather. Had crust on Snow hard enought to bear a light man. C.Taylor, John Pendleton & Jas Taylor j'r dined here- Clear day, S.West wind, thawed some tho' pretty cold- 2, Mrs James came here last night to Eliza's house where my father's Sary had come to lie in- Sary delivered of a Boy this morning- Mrs James came to the house and breakfasted & then was sent home- The Stalled Ox killed this morning, it weighed 110 fore & 125 hind Qu'r, making about 470 lb. Nett. Only 22 lb Nett Tallow. The weather clear and moderate. 3, Fine mild weather, clear and thawed some. My father divided a fore Quarter of Beef in three parts and sent one part to each of my brothers, James, Charles & Reuben. We rode to James Taylor's, dined there. Fra's & William Madison, Betty Chew and J.Pendleton & famiy were there- F. & W.Madison came home with us- 4, F. & Wm Madison, J.Taylor & son, & J.Pendleton dined with us, they all went away in the evening. Clouded in the night, began early to rain, which it continued to do till in night, tho' very little fell- Snow thawed a good deal. 5, [SUNDAY] Cleared in the night, mild weather, thaw continues moderately, some flying clouds. 6, Moderate, thawed a little. My father rode to Court house, came by Uncle Taylor's & dined. Jenny Taylor has been very unwell, is a little mending. I being unwell, took a dose of salts & staid at home- 7, Clouded in last night not very cold. Began about 10 o'clock to snow and continued all day very fast, in evening (for a littetime) Sleet & rain & then fine Snow. 8, Snowed but little last night, some little this morning- the new Snow 6 or 7 inches upon the former which is somewhat more- ceased about 10 o'clock & good evening. I carried a ps. Linen to J.Taylor's, with buttons, thread &c, to make me 4 shirts, which J.Pendleton's wife is to make, also 1/2 doz Handkerchiefs to be hemmed- a Shirt to measure them. She is to make the shirts when she goes home J.Pendleton returned from Culpeper while I was over- I returned home about noon- Abner Porter came to my father's to enquire if he had Wheat to send to Fredericksburg, says the price is 5/- pr Bushel- He dined here. 9, J.Taylor, C.Taylor, J.Pendleton & J.Taylor jr dined here. Clear good weather, thawed a little- 10, South wind, not warm in morning- but changed to warm evening and thawed a good deal- My father sent Syl for Cloth &c at T,Mallory's, he met [r.M!s?] son coming with them & took & brought For my father 14 yards- Also brought a pr Yarn hose knit by Mrs Mallory, who ret'd some knitting pins. Henry Mallory's & Abs'm Smith's Waggons Loaded here with Wheat, by the measure 40 bus each. They were found by G.T. with Provision &c. The Wheat car'd on Smith's account. 11, Cloudy morning, the clouds thin and no falling weather, mild weather but does not thaw much. My father rode to Court house after breakfast, I not being well as usual did not go- Heard there was to be a Ball at Nooe's last night. My father did not return till sunset. Maj'r Moore came here between 1 & 2 o'clock dined and ret'd in evening. Some sunshine but not clear. 12, [SUNDAY] Cloudy and did not thaw much, a little sunshine in the evening, but cloudy- We dined at home. 13, Cloudy last night and changed cold- A mist which froze as it fell before day, and continued such weather till noon when it snowed fine snow till night &c. Overseer was here & said there were 5 lambs alive, 1 dead-2 14, Cloudy snowey mist in morning, Sleet, rain & snow in evening. My father went to Court house, this day being appointed for electing an additional member of Congress in this district, the day was so bad only a few persons mett, but 9 voters were there, who gave their votes for Mr.Brackenridge- I staid at home- My father got home in evening to dinner. From the TAYLOR DIARY, #1907-z in the Southern Historical Collection, University of North Carolina Library, Chapel Hill. FOR REFERENCE ONLY: PERMISSION TO PUBLISH MUST BE REQUESTED. WARNING: MOST MANUCRIPTS ARE PROTECTED BY COPYRIGHT.

Last edit about 4 years ago by michellezitney
Displaying pages 21 - 30 of 127 in total