Francis Taylor Diary

Pages That Need Review

Diary, 1786-1799

286
Needs Review

24[278]DIARY OF FRANCIS TAYLOR,1795, 1795, December, 16, Sharp frost, moderate. I rode to Court house- Dined at Mr Shepherd's,C.Taylor dined there also- Had Oysters. Valentine Winslow got up with his Waggon whilst I was there- He brought me from Blair's a Sack of Salt, 2 Iron pots, abo't 50 lb. & 2 bats Iron for shoeing wheels- I paid him for Waggonage 4/6- I called a Doolins as I came home- got my Coat, and paid him 2 dollars for making. 17, Sharp frost, some clouds & moderate for Season. Sent my Cart & brought sack salt & 2 Iron pots from Mr.Shepherd's- left Iron. Reuben Taylor, John Pendleton & J.Taylor jr, dined here. Boiling Hogs lard yesterday & this day. 18, Fair, moderate for season- Smart Frosts. I sent my Cart to Wm Bell's & got a pair Cart wheels he made. Finished refining hogs lard. I joined J.Taylor jr & John Pendleton hunting hares in Mrs Burnley's pasture- they went home & I came home about dinner. After dinner rode to Doolins & got the cuffs of my coat altered- went to Mr Shepherd's Store & returned about sunset. 19, Saturday, Fair frosty morning- Cold hazy evening. I rode to Court house- Mr. O'Neil preached to a midling number(say about 50 or 60) of persons. Charles Taylor deliv'd me 6 pieces french gold(5 single & 1 Double Guinea) wt 1 oz. 14 pw. 9 gr. $9.0.6. which he said Abner Porter desired him to pay me for wheat I sold him, 20 Bushels, the 10th Oct'r. I gave A Porter Credit for $9. and paid him 6d the 28th at Court. Had hogs feet boiled for Souse. 20, [SUNDAY] Snowed last night & this morning-2 or 3 inches deep, fine afternoon, most of the snow dissolved before night. I went to J.Taylor's- J.Pendleton's wife & family were there- Capt H.Bell sent his bitch and desired me to put her up with Brutus. I wrotehim word it was not convenient,but that he might send & have the dog- Brutus covered the Bitch whilst she was here. 21, Frost, Clear and moderate. Tho's Barbour's Joe got 100 lb Hay, his master wrote for. I wrote by Joe to Mr.R.Patten for Brown Sugar. William Bell(Wheelwright) came here- I paid him 40/- for making a pair Cart wheels & 9/8 for Boxes he purchased. I rode to Court house. There was a Vestry met & agreed to employ the Rev'd Mr Charles O'Neil 1 year from 1st of Feb'y next at $100. for a year. Lent Brutus to Capt H.Bell. I bo't 5 yds Green Cotton at Barbour's for E.Chew's Hannah. I got home to dinner. 22, Tuesday, Clear and moderate for the season. J.Taylor's negro woman Jenny died yesterday. I went to Maj'r Moore's, Saw J.Taylor jr married to Fanny Catlett Moore-A good many of their relatives were there, and the Company very merry. Brother James's wife was not well and did not go. J.Taylor,C.Taylor,John Pendleton, T.Barbour jun'r, Mr O'Neil & myself came away about 10 or 11 o'clock. Sent Frank & got some smoking Tobacco. 23, Cloudy morn, a little rain in evening. John Pendleton came by & said he was going to Maj'r Moore's, asked me if I was going,but I did not. I dined at home 24, A little rain last night, warm & cloudy day. After dinner I walked to C.Taylor's he was abroad. I paid Sister Taylor 6/- for making 4 under Shirts- Paid Sally Taylor 6/- for making a vest. J.Taylor sent 2 gallons Brandy for Whisky bor'd 12 Oct'r. I received 32 1/2 lb Brown Sugar(that being marked on on a small cask I sent) from Mr Rob't Patton, brought by Mr T.Barbour's Joe. 25, Friday, Warm- Cloudy with some drops rain. I did not go from home-dined alone- After dinner, J.Taylor walked here and staid about 2 hours. Received a packet Newspapers from F.S.Taylor this morning but no letter. 26, Warm, some clouds. E.Chews Hannah was here-let her have 5 yards green Cotton for Jacket & Petticoat. Sent my Breeches to Polly Edwards p/r Frank to let out I went to J.Leathers's Tob'o Pen- got some Tobacco. 27, Mild- a few clouds. J.Taylor sent & borrowed a Brass cock- I went to his house to dinner- J.Pendleton & T Barbour and their families were there. J.Taylor jr not come from Maj'r Moore's. -----[SUNDAY]----28, Clear, smart frost-tho'moderate & fine for the season. I went to Court. Returned to Court the Inventory & appraisement of*Mrs Sarah Thomas's Estate. Paid A Porter 6d for money overpaid the 19th inst. Bo't 4 doz small buttons of pedlar & paid him 3/4- also Apples 3d, Cake 3d & ferrit 4 1/2d. I was very unwell last night, headach which continued to day-better at night.

From the TAYLOR DIARY, #1907-z in the Southern Historical Collection, University of North Carolina Library, Chapel Hill. FOR REFERENCE ONLY: PERMISSIN TO PUBLISH MUST BE REQUESTED. WARNING: MOST MANUSCRIPTS ARE PROTECTED BY COPYRIGHT.

Last edit almost 4 years ago by maxineh
287
Needs Review

25[280] DIARY OF FRANCIS TAYLOR,1795, 1795, December, 28, [Continued- Note- *Mrs Sarah Thomas- *She was not 'Aunt Thomas,' i.e. Mildred Taylor, dau. of James Taylor 2nd., who m. Richard Thomas, of Granger Co., and whodied in 1790. This Mrs Thomas was probably the mother of Mary Thomas who m'd Col.John Barbour, as James Barbour was her Executor-A.G.G.] 29, Frost, Fair morning- Cloudy mild evening- J.Taylor sent for a Wether. I sent him one of my best. I went to Court house- Maj'r Moore,J.Taylor & self made a division of the Slaves remaining of Wm Bell's dec'd Estate amongst, Wm Bell,Tho's Bell & James Bell, p/r order of High Court of Chancery,but acted for him- Dined at Nooe's [Tho's Bell above mentioned, m'd Elizabeth Taylor, dau of Zachary Taylor and his wife, Eliabeth Lee.-WKA] 30, Wednesday, Warm, a little rain-last night- some clouds with very little rain at night. I went to James Taylor's- J.Taylor jr & bride got home Yesterday. A large & genteel Company Collected and were very merry- I staid till after supper- Phil Barbour(of James), P.Barbour(of Thomas), William Barbour(of Ambrose), & George Pendleton came over with me. 31, Mild weather- some rain at night- After breakfast my Company & I went to J.Taylor's, a good many remained all night & others came again to day. I staid till near night & came home- Col.Jas Barbour came with me.

The weather to this time has been uncommonly mild, very moderate frosts- & little ice. I have not seen frozen milk- nor 1/2 inch thick on water in vessels exposed to open air.

From the TAYLOR DIARY, #1907-z in the Southern Historical Collection, University of North Carolina Library, Chapel Hill. FOR REFERENCE ONLY: PERMISSION TO PUBLISH MUST BE REQUESTED. WARNING: MOST MANUSCRIPTS ARE PROTECTED BY COPYRIGHT.

Last edit almost 4 years ago by maxineh
291
Needs Review

29[284] DIARY OF FRANCIS TAYLOR, 1795,

BIRTHS, DEATHS, & MARRIAGES. 1795, Apl 27, G.C.Taylor's Shary had a son born, May 18, Mrs Sarah Thomas died in 84th year of age. Aug't Mrs Fanny Taylor, wife of Wm Taylor, Fred'g died. Oct. 20, James Barbour jr married to Miss Lucy Johnson. 22, Mrs Burnley(Col.Z.Burnley's wife) died. Nov. 26, William Taylor (Botetourt) & Susanna Gibson married. 28, T.Barbour jr had a Daughter born. 7 months child. Died 9 Jan'y following. Dec. 10, James Bell married Miss Hannah G.Gwatkyn [Swatkin-PFT], (P.William). [Note-PFT- James Bell was son of Thomas, and Elizabeth(Taylor)Bell. 22, James Taylor jr married F[rances]. Catlett Moore. John Walker (of James) to Lucy Wood- (Madison [County]) 31, Th's Bell (C.house) to Sally Burnley. Wm. Taylor(Fred'g) married Ms Dickinson. John G.Catlett, married Nancy Robb.

NOTE BY DR.A.G.GRINNAN. Jany 1, Funeral of Erasmuc Taylor, Rev.Mr.Maury officiated.

Apl 28, Gabriel & Tho's Barbour of Culpeper were brothers. Gabriel appears to have had a Store in Orange for some time. Col.Ja's Barbour their father May 8, Robert Moore was son-in-law to Col._____Spencer. June 23, Mrs [Sarah Thomas' Estate appraised. Susannah Gibson[who married William Taylor] was daughter of John Gibson. Ben Taylor arrived from Kentucky, he said Hubbard Taylor,who came with him went to Col Madison's. Dec. 11, Reuben Taylor lived over Quarles Mt.

From the TAYLOR DIARY, #1907-z in the Southern Historical Collection, University of North Carolina Library, Chapel Hill. FOR REFERENCE ONLY: PERMISSION TO PUBLISH MUST BE REQUESTED. WARNING: MOST MANUSCRIPTS ARE PROTECTED BY COPYRIGHT.

Last edit almost 4 years ago by maxineh
292
Needs Review

30[285] DIARY OF FRANCIS TAYLOR, 1795, 1795, Jan. 4, One of the young Sows had 6 pigs last night. 31, The other young sow had 5 pigs. 1 dead & do. 1, Feb'y 18, The pied Cow had a female calf. Feb. 14, The Brindle cow had a 26, 2 Ewes had 4 lambs 1 dead, 1 do 8, March. 28, 1 do 2, Mar 2, 1 do 2, 3, 1 - 1, 7, 1- 2, 20 do 9th, 1 do 12th. 18 alive about 15, April, 2 dead. 19 Alive at Shearing & 25 old sheep 27, May Parted Rams from Ewes 10, Sept'r & put together 23 October. Guinea Sow had 4 pigs the 7, March, 1 dead the 14th. Apl. 27, The young heifer calved- male calf. May 29, Cherry, the Bell cow calved- a male. June White Sow had 7 pigs- lost one. July August the 1st, the old Brindle Cow calved. Sept. 1, Guinea Sow had (8) 7 pigs about the beginning of the month.

Feb. 23. Had my riding mare's shoes removed- Shod 23rd May. May 11, Riding mare had a Mare colt fell Last night. Nov. 28, One of White Sows had 8 pigs, the other had 9 pigs about a week after.

June 11, Hived a swarm Bees- on Bench next Meat house. 19, Do in small Gum, came from Hewed Hive.

May 1, Killed a small shoat- sent M.B. a fore quarter. June 15, Killed a Shoat- sent M.B. hind Quarter.

Fron the TAYLOR DIARY, #1907-z in the Southern Historical Collection, University of North Carolina Library, Chapel Hill. FOR REFERENCE ONLY: PERMISSION TO PUBLISH MUST BE REQUESTED. WARNING: MOST MANUSCRIPTS ARE PROTECTED BY COPYRIGHT.

Last edit almost 4 years ago by maxineh
293
Needs Review

1[286] DIARY OF FRANCIS TAYLOR,1796 1796, January, 1, Friday, Fair, mild and very pleasant- a very little frost.Col'o James Barbour & self went to J.Taylor's to Breakfast. some of the company that came Wednesday still there but chiefly went away to day. Mr William Dade sent a boy with 2 bottles,which I filled with honey as promised yesterday- Went from J.Taylor's to Hiring Dade's Slaves at Col L.Taliaferro's Shop- They hired very high- J.Taylor, John Pendleton, T.Barbour jr & J.Taylor jun'r went- We returned before night- I came home- Rec'd a Note from James Bell (by G.C.Taylor's Jim, that I might hire him,which I concluded to do, the hire,on same terms I had him in year 1794, $12. 2, Great white frost- moderate, a little hazy in evening. Macon Biggers went to Mr.Shepherd's Shop, brought away part of a bar of Iron & went to M.Taliaferro's to get some Smith's work done. I think to have my work done there. I rode to Court house- Got a pair of boots made at Hyde's by Eubank- rather too short in show & sharp toes. I took dinner with G.Barbour. Reu Taylor there. 3, Sunday, Flying clouds, Windy from South but not cold. I went to James Taylor's J.Pendleton & T.Barbour jr went home yesterday-both their families, J.Taylor jr & wife & E Chew & Roger Bell's wife & children dined there. 4, Monday, Slight frost, fiar mild day. I walked to Aunt Taylor's- Mr.C.P.Howard & wife got home last night- He paid for sundries for me in Philad'a 34/- and returned 26/- the balance of 10 dollars sent- I paid him 5/3 for Nails (bo't in his absence). J.Taylor & wife, J.Taylor jr & do.,*Nancy Taylor, +Chas Bell, #Jno. Pendleton's wife, #T.Barbour's Wife- Miss Polly Moore, John Moore, Fanny Barbour & Sally Burnley, dined there. G.C.Taylor's Jim came to live with me and work this year, I having hired him of James Bell p/t note. *Probably Ann, daughter of James Taylor- m. Thos.Crutchfield-WKA-, + Probably son of Thos Bell who m. Eliz Taylor dau. of Zachary- WKA.-, # Elizabeth & Mary, daus. of James Taylor & nieces of the diarist.-W.K.A.5, Cloudy,soft misty day. Mrs James came here to breakfast- Paid 5 dollars,being the balance due from her to the Estate of G.Taylor deceased after deducting her proved account,which she did not produce but promised to do it-when I am to give her a Receipt. 6, Rained a good deal last night & this morning, about 10 o'clock snow & sleet with the rain. Snowed till night with North wind but only about 2 inches at night- the earth being wet, most of it dissolved- This is the first weather like winter of the season. I did not go from home & saw no white person. 7, Ceased Snowing in night, froze hard- Snow only ab't 2 Inches deep. Fair moderate morning, cloudy afternoon, clear at night. One Ewe had 2 lambs last night,only 1 alive- 119 days since 10 Sept'r the Rams were parted from Ewes- Sent a Dollar by M.Biggers to pay his wife for Davy & Moses,3/- each for part making their Cloaths8, Friday, Fair, cold but not severe. J.Taylor, John Pendleton, T.Barbour & J.Taylor jr dined here. J.Taylor paid the balance of his acc't $5.15.6. a Doublcon $..11.6 & 4 dollars $1.4.0- At night _____Roberts came & got M.Licence. Sam'l Ham & Jas Hay were with him9, Clear & cool. I walked to J.Taylor's- J.Pendleton & T.Barbour & family's, J.Taylor jrs wife- E.Chew & C.Bell there. J.T.jr at Ct house. T.Barbours young child died ab't 2 o'clock this morning. I carried E.Chew a pair shoes. 10, Sunday, Clouded in last night, began to snow before sunrise & cont'd all day,not cold or windy,Snow fell 6 inches on the old. I received a letter from Mess'rs Blairs,desiring me to send them money & that they had sent me Iron for Cart. I walked to C.Taylor's,dined with him & family. 11, Cloudy mist all night, fine rain mixed with snow all day,and thawing-snow no deeper. J.Taylor, John Pendleton,Tho Barbour,C.Taylor & J.Taylor ju'r dined here. 12, Cleared last night,thawed much to day. J.Taylor sent and got 13 lb butter,he spoke for yesterday- Had my Pork hung up to day to smoke for Bacon,Killed and Salted 15, December. 13, Cloudy and thaws. Sent & got 3 Bus'Wheat ground at Dade's Mill.Mr.D.Triplett sent 3 Waggons- John Hill, Abner Watson & Lee, for Wheat. they got here about sunset and got partly loaded and wait till morning.

From the TAYLOR DIARY, #1907-Z in the Southern Historical Collection, University of North Carolina Library, Chapel Hill. FOR REFERENCE ONLY: PERMISSION TO PUBLISH MUST BE REQUESTED. WARNING: MOST MANUSCRIPTS ARE PROTECTED BY COPYRIGHT.

Last edit almost 4 years ago by maxineh
294
Needs Review

2[287] DIARY OF FRANCIS TAYLOR,1796, 1796, January, 14, Small rain last night,very rainy morning, rainy day. The Waggons came for Wheat last night only took 71 1/2 Bushels, not having bags to hold the balance, about 15 or 20 bushes- John Hill & A.Watson gave their Receipts, Lee drives for Watson. 15, Rained a little last night, cloudy soft day-rainy evening. I rode to Court house. Left a letter at Mr.Shepherd's for Mess'rs Blairs. Saw Mr.C.P.Howard, came with him to Aung Taylor's. Maj'r Moore, John Moore & Capt R.Barbour dined there- They went out with Partridge Net-but did not catch any birds- they caught some as they came from Maj'r Moore's16, Thick soft and cloudy,most of snow thawed. Heard Frogs in the evening. 17, Sunday, A great deal of rain all day with some hail and cold. There is much water in Valleys and on the earth- I staid at home. 18, Cleared last night, great white frost,fog,clouds & sunshine. I remained at home. Had Turnep tops at dinner. 19, Cold and raw-some clouds. John Pendleton called here before noon, going to Mrs Burnley's, and as he returned in the evening- He said Brother James has a bad cold. 20, Rainy and freezing- much ice on trees & c. C.Taylor sent a note informing that Company was expected by Mr.W.Dade who desired I would dine with him to day. The weather was such that I did not go. 21, Cleared a great frost- Cold, flying clouds and windy. J.Taylor sent for me to dinner, I went, he is unwell and has been several days, with bad cold. C.P. Howard & wife- J.Pendleton's & T.Barbour's familys and their own family- C.Bell & E.Chew were there. J.Pendleton & T.Barbour gone home. 22, Clear & hardest frost this winter. Evening mild. Major Moore, Col.Ja's Barbour & Mr C P Howard dined with me. Col'o Barbour staid with me. Macon Biggers had 1/2 Bus' Salt. 1/2 Bus' more is due him. 23, Fair and mild- heard frogs at night. Col.Barbour went away after breakfast. Finished Memorial to Congress & inclosed in a letter to Col Madison.Wrote to F[rancis] S[tubbs] T[aylor]. 24, Sunday, Fine mild weather, a little hazy at night. I went to J.Taylor's,he has got better of his cold. J.Pendleton's & T.Barbour's wives and children, Rob't Moore, J Taylor jr and wife & E.Chew dined there. 25, Warm S.wind. Began to rain before noon & small rain till night. I went to Court. Rec'd a letter from D.Triplett- no money- Mr.A.Darby took my letters to Col Madison & F.S.Taylor and promised to Lodge them with Mr J.Blair. 26, Rained heavy last night. Warm cloudy day. I took a dose Jallap & Ipecac & staid at home. Had some Irish potatoes dug- most of them quite sound. 27, Began to snow before day & snowed all day, 6 inches deep- Not very cold. Sent S[lave?PFT? Peter to Mill yesterday & cou'd not get meal- Sent him & Frank to day & only got a bushel ground. I staid at home. 28, Frosty fog in night & morning- Fine day. John Langham came here after dinner. I gave him some Garden seeds- Returned him a Book he lent. 29, Cold Cloudy morning- Fair evening, cool. C.Taylor sent a boy with Rum for lent the 28th last month, and ask me to dinner. I went over, Maj'r Moore, Polly Moore, J.Taylor & wife, John Pendleton & wife, T.Barbour's wife, James Taylor jr & wife, Nancy Taylor & C.Bell, were there. 30, Clear and cold. J.Taylor jr and John Pendleton chased a Fox through my plantation but did not catch it- suppose a Red Fox. I staid at home. 31, Sunday, Froze very hard- Clear cold day. I walked to James Taylor's- Col James Barbour, J.Pendleton & family. T.Barbour & do, Ch's Taylor & daughters, James Taylor jr & wife, Miss Fitzhugh & E.Chew were there. I carried a New pair Shoes for E.Chew- the other pair being so small she could not wear them. I told her to send the first pair back.

From the TAYLOR DIARY, #1907-z in the Southern Historical Collection, University of North Carolina Library, Chapel Hill. FOR REFERENCE ONLY: PERMISSION TO PUBLISH MUST BE REQUESTED. WARNING: MOST MANUSCRIPTS ARE PROTECTED BY COPYRIGHT.

Last edit almost 4 years ago by maxineh
295
Needs Review

3[288] DIARY OF FRANCIS TAYLOR, 1796 1796, February 1, Monday, Froze hard. Fair day & moderate even'g. Cloudy at night. Polly Edwards sent a negro woman by whom I sent 12/6 for her account of work she did for me. John Pendleton walked here after dinner. I gave him some Garden seeds, he said he intends home tomorrow but his family will stay till he Returns. 2, Cloudy. South wind, thaw. I walked to Mrs Burnley's- She gave me leave to get some Pine boughs for my sheep- I returned about noon. E.Chew sent by Hannah the pair Shoes she had sometime ago- being too small, she kept the last pair. 3, A little rain last night- Sunshine & Clouds, mild till evening- spits of snow and cool. James Bell came here from C.Taylor's before noon, and afterwards C.Taylor came and went with him to Mr.T.Bell's who thinks himself worse. I sent & got Pine tops(a cart load) from Mrs Burnley's- Sister(j.) Taylor sent me a piece fresh beef. I sent Three Churnings butter back by Grandison. 4, Thursday, Clouds in morning. Fair moderate day. J.Taylor, C.Taylor, C.P.Howard, James Bell, Wm Dade, Wm Edwards, Joseph Clark went away after dinner, the others about 10 o'clock at night. John Hill & _____Pratt came with waggons & received 14 Bushels very good wheat for Daniel Triplett- Macon Biggers had half a bushel which was the whole in the Wheat house. 5, Fair, moderate- a little hazy at night. 6, Fair and moderate, frosty mornings. I walked to Court house- Paid Andrew Shepherd jr. 15/6 for 2 Bushels salt at 6/9 & 2 doz buttons at 1/- had some time ago. I got 1/2 lb Tea of Gabriel Barbour & am to let him have money in exchange when he send for it. sent it the 10th, 2,1/3 Quarts. I returned to dinner. boiled Wormseed & took at dose at night. 7, Sunday, Fair and moderate. Frost of nights. J. Taylor sent Randolph's Vindication and word that he was going to Mr.Bell's to see*Maj'r Lee- I met him at the road and went with him. Maj'r Lee staid till noon and went to Mrs Madison's- he said our Kentucky friends he left well- I rec'd a letter by him from Jon'a Taylor jr but no other- J.Taylor & I ret'd after dinner. I let G.C.Taylor's Sary have a blanket. [Maj'r John Lee, m. Elizabeth, dau. of Thomas Bell, and had among other children: Sarah Lee, m. Hon. John Jordan Critteden.-PFT] 8, Monday, Frost- Thin clouds, moderate. Mr.T.Bell sent a new Gammon Bacon to exchange for old. I sent one of the year before last for it. After reading Randolph's Vindication I sent it to J.Taylor. 9, Cloudy, not very cold. I have been taking Jerusalem oak, or worm seed, three days but have discharged no worms. C.Taylor sent Pat and got 7 lb butter. She informed me that sister Taylor had a*daughter born to-day. [* Dr Charles Taylor & wife had six daughters-no sons(?)-WKA] [*Dr Charles Taylor and wife did have two sons: Charles,b.1790, and George Francis b. Apl.27,1798, but both died in childhood. Harriet Thornton Taylor, the daughter born this day, d. Apl.Apl.8,1825; m. Catlett Conway.-PFT] 10, Rain last night and all day, ice on trees. I sent 2, 1/3 Quarts honey (p/r note of G.Barbour) for the 1/2 lb Tea I had the 6th instant. 11, Cleared before day- spme clouds,very windy afternoon. Reuben Taylor brought a Game Cock,his sons Billy and Frank were with him, they dined here- ave R.Taylor Tobacco and Mustard seeds to sow12, Moderate, scattered clouds & a little windy. Sent Frank & Jim to Mr.Shepherd's and got 4 bars iron, lodged there from Mess'rs Blair's:about 170 or 180 lbs. Sent my Cart to *H.Taliagerro's shop with the above iron and New Cart Wheels to be Shoed &c. Sent a Turkey cock by Frank to Reu Taylor's & exchanged for one of his. After dinner walked to J.Taylor's, got 5 1/2 lb Shot which was settled in our last account. J.Pendleton was there. 13, Saturday, White Frost moderate. I took a dose Ipepcac & Rhubarb.

From the TAYLOR DIARY, #1907-z in the Southern Historical Collection, University of North Carolina Library, Chapel Hill. FOR REFERENCE ONLY: PERMISSION TO PUBLISH MUST BE REQUESTED. WARNING: MOST MANUSCRIPTS ARE PROTECTED BY COPYRIGHT.

Last edit almost 4 years ago by maxineh
296
Needs Review

4[289] DIARY OF FRANCIS TAYLOR,1796, 1796, February,[SUNDAY] 14, Fair, Windy, cool but not sharp. I went to Court house to a Sermon preached by Mr.O'Neill, he began to officiate at Upper Church last Sunday- There was a decent Congregation. I saw John Taylor of Rockingham, he gave me a letter from Mr.Davies with one from F.S.Taylor- I wrote at night to F.S.Taylor and inclosed Mr.Davies' letter. I came home to dinner. 15, Fair,moderate, hazy evening. John Taylor called here on his way to Fredericksburg and Caroline- I sent my watch by him for Walker to clean &c. He took a letter to F.S.Taylor- Col. James Taylor about land and to Clk of Spotsylvania, about O'Neill &c. J.Taylor jr came in evening with dogs. I went with him to hunt hares, but found only a few. 16, Frosty, Cloudy and cool- some(a little) rain at night. I was at home all day. 17, Hazy, moderate. Begn to plow. 18, Dark, misty and rainy. Abour sunset heavy shower with thunder to be the Southward. Pidgeons settled in Cornfield. Shot one. 19, Friday, Some frost. Fair, moderate. Reu Taylor called here going to Court house and returned to dinner; he said Mr. O'Neil wished to live in this neighborhood and asked me if I would like to board him. I think it would not suit my situation. I walked in the evening to the road, where my people were making a fence- Saw J.Taylor came. 20, Sharp frost, Hazy & appeard to snow at G't Mountains[ Blue Ridge-WKA-] I staid at home. George brought home a pair of shoes sealed for me by Garde. 21, Sunday, Cold- Snowed a little morn & evening, but not enough to cover the Earth. I was at home all day. Two pair Stockings & a Cake of Soap which C.P.Howard bought at Philad'a was sent from J.Taylor's. H.Daingerfield came here in the evening. {The Daingerfields were connections through the Battailes-WKA-] 22, Snow fell in the night 2 inches- fine morning,cool & clouds in evening. H.Daingerfield and I went to Court- John Taylor brought ans'rs to letter I wrote John Chew & Col.Jas.Taylor. I paid B.Hyde 21/- for making a pr Boots & soal leather for do. Reuben Taylor paid me 64/9. I told him he might sned for butter. James Early and Capt C[atlett].Conway came home with me. 23, Hard frost- most of Snow melted yesterday. Capt Conway & Mr Early went away after breakfast. Reu Taylor sent Harry for butter. I sent my pot,wt 15 pounds,as I promised yesterday. 24, Very cold- Cloudy, brisk south wind. Sowed Red Clover seed in Wheat South of Clover patch. Frank put eggs under a Hen at night in hen house. 25, Sharp frost, some clouds, hazy & smoky- turned moderate. Frank brought me 7 lb drop shot from C.Taylor, which were bought by C.Conway some time ago. 26, Cloudy,misty,warm morning, some sun & smoky evening. I walked by Macon Biggers's Mrs Day & Polly Edwards were there. I returned to dinner. Sent Frank a little Peter to Mill- both got meal. After dinner Planted 4 Apple trees in the orchard in the place of dead ones. 27, Moist evening. Fair,warm & Smoky after. Planted Peach trees where dead ones in orchard. Sowed 3 pints of Early Wheat in Clover pen. 28, Sunday, Hazy, moderate, cloudy morning. I walked to C.Taylor's, he was gone to see Mr. Tho's Beell's-Reuben Taylor was at C.Taylor's, had the toothach and waited till late to get it drawn- we came away together. R.Taylor paid me a French crown being a balance of our account. He met C.Taylor & returned with him- C.Taylor said Mr Bell is very weak. J.Taylor was at C.Taylor's after dinner. 29, Rained moderately last night, rainy day.

March, 1, Tuesday,Snowed brisk in morning, ceased about noon, covered the ground about an inch but being ,oist mostly dissolved. Cloudy all day. Mr.Ben Porter called and desired me to attend next Thursday at his house about settling the Executorship of his father's Estate. Charles Taylor & *Wm.Taylor(Botetourt) dined with me- C.T. brought me some bitter ingredients. [* Wm Taylor, son of Jonathan & nephew of Diarist-WKA-]

From the TAYLOR DIARY, #1907-z in the Southern Historical Collection, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill. FOR REFERENCE ONLY: PERMISSION TO PUBLISH MUST BE REQUESTED. WARNING: MOST MANUSCRIPTS ARE PROTECTED BY COPYRIGHT.

Last edit almost 4 years ago by maxineh
300
Needs Review

8[293] DIARY OF FRANCIS TAYLOR,1796 1796, April, 4, [Continued], back by Mr.Dade's. W, Taylor came on with us from last place to C.Taylor's. Rec'd a letter by post from F.S.Taylor, my answer to his last had not been received when he wrote. 5, Cool, dry and smoky. Andrew Shepherd brought a note from his father requesting my attendance next friday about settling Bell's affairs. William Taylor, his wife, Sally Taylor & Betsy Taylor came here to dinner, also Mr John Gibson- Wm Taylor gave me his bond for $20. for my horse, pay'ble 1, January next. I delivered Wm Taylor a Certificate signed by P.Henry, dated March 1779, That Jonathan Taylor had paid $81. into the Treasury to pay a debt from him to James Ritchie and Company. The women did some sewing for me. Wm Taylor intends to set out on his journey tomorrow. Mr. Gibson went with them in evening to Ch Taylor's. Paid 1/- to A.Shepherd jr for postage F.S.T's letter. 6, A slight frost. Dry and fair, a little smoky. My mouth sore & swelled & lips broke out from the fever I had. William Taylor & wife set out from C. Taylor's to day on their journey to Botetourt &c. I went to Mr Tho's Bell's funeral at his late residence. I lent Gabriel Barbour 25 Dollars in Bank notes, if they will not answer his purpose, am to let him have specie for them. (G.Barbour paid for the above notes 29th Aug't- no acco't was raised about them,not even in my Cash account.) 7, Dry,Warm and smoky. My lips continue very sore- I took salts. J.Taylor sent a note that Mr.Richard Woolfolk was at his house- I went over and dined there. R.Woolfolk brought me a letter from brother William. R.W. told me that Bro'r Richard was in bad state of health, that he had not sold any of my lands. That Thompson Taylor was married to a Miss [Nancy] Oldham- That Zach Taylor's wife[ Alice Chew-WKA] died last month{March 6th,-PFT-]. R.W. went in evening to Mrs Bell's, intends going on tomorrow to Caroline. Wm Gibson & apprentices putting a new cover of shingles on J.Taylor's house. Had Cimblings & Cucumber seeds planted in Garden- two Poplars in yard. 8, Friday, Very dry,warm,smoky weather. I walked to the Court house- William Moore James Taylor and myself, three of the Commissioners appointed by the High Court of Chancery to divide the Slaves & settle the Executor's account of the Estate of William Bell dec'd met at the house of Thomas Bell and having finished the report inclosed the same Directed to the Clerk of the high Court of Chancery- & left it with Mr A Shepherd to forward. Mr A.Downey, Col Rob't Alcock, Rob't Taylor & Tho's Bell were present- Col.R.Alcock & T.Bell proposed to leave or refer to the same a dispute between them about Rent &c of Tavern & ? but no decision was made thereon. 9, Dry, smoky, windy, some drops rain. I rode to muster at Court house, came home to dinner. After dinner walked to J.Taylor's- Maj'r Moore, Reuben Taylor, John Moore, J.Taylor jr & wife, were there. Macon Biggers Spayed 7 young sows- this morning. 10, Smoky, some clouds, and cold,windy evening. I walked to J.Taylor's & dined there John Moore, Betsy Taylor, Polly Taylor, Peggy Biggers, J.Taylor jr & wife, there. In evening Mrs Howard & Sally Burnley there. --[SUNDAY]-11, Slight frost-cool, clear & smoky. Little Peter absented. Began to plant corn in field between house and road. I went to D.Triplett's- he said he could not pay me any money now. I bought 50 yards Ozn'a which I left and he promised to send to Mr.Shepherd's, also bo't a Bandanne handkerchief. I dined at Mr. Triplett's- Miss Richards there. 12, Dry,smoky,some clouds & scattering drops rain- M.Biggers found L Peter last night at J.Taylor's & brought him home. I rode to McKinney's Store, bought & paid for a few trifles. Fell in with C.Taylor,who went over the river, & met J.Taylor coming from the store as we went. Rob't Moore was at the store, we rode back together, he went to Mrs Burnley's. I dined at home.

From the TAYLOR DIARY, #1907-z in the Southern Historical Collection, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill. FOR REFERENCE ONLY: PERMISSION TO PUBLISH MUST BE REQUESTED. WARNING: MOST MANUSCRIPTS ARE PROTECTED BY COPYRIGHT.

Last edit almost 4 years ago by maxineh
302
Needs Review

9[294] DIARY OF FRANCIS TAYLOR,1796, 1796, April, 13, Dry, smoky, thin clouds-thickened at night. I was unwell, proceeded from indigestion. Finished planting corn in the old field & began in the Barn field. 14, Dr,warm,windy,some clouds and smoky. J.Taylor was here early in morning,wanted some Linseed oil to pain with, I could not spare any. After dinner I walked out, saw C.Taylor in the road,asked him to see me tomorrow,went to J.Taylor's who said he wou'd come over. 15, Friday, Very dry-Fair and warm. J.Taylor, J.Taylor jr, Charles Bell, C.Taylor, C.P.Howard,Rob't Taylor, William Dade,Allen Massey & a son of John Stevens dined here. 16, Misty morning, cloudy day but no rain. Finished planting corn in the Barn field. The new ground not planted, not the ground broke up yet. M.Biggers says he planted 6 1/2 Bus. Corn. 17, Sunday, Cloudy cool morning- Fair evening,continues very dry. I went to Court house- Heard Mr.O'Neil preach &c. Came home and left my mare & went to J.Taylor's to dinner. Reu Taylor,W.Moore jr & Robert Moore dined there. C.Taylor came there in evening- J.Taylor jr & wife at home. Received a letter with Norfolk papers from F.S.Taylor. 18, Dry, warm and fair. 19, Dry warm, hazy evening. I got 3 Bushels Oats from J.Taylor's & had them sown in the Apple Orchard. Had a small place sown with Peas in N.E.square. Took up Sweet potatoes, most of them rotten. 20, Continues dry- warm with thin clouds & smoky. I walked out with Gun,killed 1 Squirrel & 2 doves. Bought 3 pecks sweet potatoes of Peter, had them and a peck of my own planted. George Brought a piece of German oznab's 119 Ells from Mr. Shepherd's,sent there for me by D.Triplett,being 148 3/4 yards- he kept 50 yards. I had cut off when I was there the 11th instant & which deducted from this bolt leaves 98 3/4 yds charged last. I went to J.Taylor's in evening & paid him 2 dollars for the 3 Bus' Oats I had yesterday. 21, Dry weather continues. Had part of my Bacon packed in ashes. Took up Irish potatoes & put in Cellar. 22, Dry & warm. I went by C.Taylor's & to Mr.Dade's- Capt Conway, Col Maury,H.Fitzhugh, J.Taylor, C.Taylor, Reu Taylor, J.Taylor jr, Allen Massey, C.P.Howard & wife, Mrs B.Porter, Mrs Stuart and Mrs Perry dined there. 23, Continues dry, cloudy at night. I was unwell & took a purge-which relieved me. Rob't Taylor came here to ask me lend my Bull. I went with him to Aunt Taylor's to dinner, his family there. After dinner J.Bell & wife walked there. Had 21 Geese picked, got 4 1/2 lb feathers. 24, Sunday, Smoky & Cloudy- some scattering drops of rain. I dined at home. After dinner James Taylor & C.Taylor, with their little sons, came here from C.Taylor's & staid some hours. 25, Cloudy with mist through the day. cool. I went to Court & Election. * Davis & Johnson Elected- I bought 7 yds Calico & 4 1/2 yards Wildboars of Pedlars for a Gown & Petticoat for E.Chew- also 1 oz thrd & hand silk. Bought for self a Silk H'f 6/- 7 1/2 yds Rib'd 3/9 & 1 pr Gloves 2/3. I came home at night & dined alone. Had a Shoat killed, gave a hind Q'r to M.B. [* Isaac Davis, Father of Tom D., of Green Co.-A.G.G.-] 26, Cloudy all day- misty, cool. I sent Frank with 27 lb coarse thread to Jos Clark's to get it wove- He brought back 46 yards Cloth in two pieces (30 1/4 & 16 1/4) wove of yard somethings at Fred'g for me and let him have two 5 dollar B.notes. Court adjourned- I came home at night & dined. Gave my List of property & 400 A. land to P.Sanford. 27, A little rain in the night, a very good one to day,being the first of any notice since early March. Fair evening- I staid at home writing to brother William &c. Took 1 Hhd Corn out of new & put in Old Corn house. 28, Cool, Clear, with some flying clouds. Had Hog pen plowed and sowed Flax there. Had Cimbling patch planted by Potatoe patch and planted Cucumber seeds found potatoe patch. James Taylor came here in evening and Borrowed $20. or me,which he wanted his son James,who intends to set out for Kentucky next Saturday.

From the TAYLOR DIARY, #1907-z in the Southern Historical Collection, University of North Carolina Library, Chapel Hill. FOR REFERENCE ONLY: PERMISSION TO PUBLISH MUST BE REQUESTED. WARNING: MOST MANUSCRIPTS ARE PROTECED BY COPYRIGHT.

Last edit almost 4 years ago by maxineh
Displaying pages 81 - 90 of 127 in total