Francis Taylor Diary

Pages That Need Review

Diary, 1786-1799

198
Needs Review

4 [192] DIARY OF FRANCIS TAYLOR, 1792, 1792, February, 15, Still continues misty, snowy weather & snowed very fast in the evening, cloudy all day- Abselom Smith's Waggon (Driver Hundley) Loaded with Wheat, 40 Bushels by our measure, which he says gained 1 1/2 in the last Load. 16, Ceased snowing in last night, Cloudy with intervals of Sunshine and thawed some C.Taylor, J.Taylor, J.Pendleton & J.Taylor jun'r came here. Maj'r Moore and Reu Taylor went to C.Taylor's & sent here for him, we went [there?] word to come here which they did, to dinner. 17, Froze smartly this morning, a few clouds but soon cleared and thawed, grew windy afternoon- calm evening- Wm Bowling came to ask as much hemp as will make bed-cord. 18, Cloudy morning, began to snow about 9 o'clock and snowed all day, but being soft and moist did not amount to above 1 inch. J.Taylor sent us word that he & C.Taylor were going to Uncle Taylor's. My father & I rode there *John Taylor returned from Georgia two days ago, Felix Gilbert jr came with him. Jane Taylor continues in a low state of health and very weak. Maj'r Moore, J.Taylor, J.Taylor jr, J.Pendleton & C.Taylor dined there, also Jonathan Davis, who came to enquire after his sons who live in Georgia. Harry Mallory was there in the evening, he came to see Maj'r Moore. [*John Taylor son of Erasmus, m.Ann Gilbert] 19, [SUNDAY] Snowed a little in the fore part of last night, cleared & cold before day- fair morning, but changed before noon to cloudy, windy, very cold with showers of snow, tho' very little- 20, Continues very cold- and clear. C.Taylor called here but did not stay long, he had been at J.Taylor's. 21, Some Clouds, cold morning, something warmer evening- Uncle Taylor, John Taylor, Felix Gilbert jr., J.Taylor, J.Taylor jr., John Pendleton and Capt Burnley dined here. 22, Fair and moderate, thawed a little. Rob't Alcock jr and Geo Shepherd came about noon and dined here. R.Alcock came about collecting for Spirits Distilled. My father gave his return: 133 Gallons Brandy. w'ch Alcock said he would receive the Tax on it at Court. 23, John Pendleton & J.Taylor jr., called here on their way to Capt Burnley's I walked with them, my father rode there, J.Taylor and Cha's Taylor also were there to dinner. 24, Sent 3 Bus.Wheat to Mill. Flour about 95 lbs, Seconds 20 lbs. J.Pendleton & family went from J.Taylor's to Culpeper. My father and self went to J.Taylor's to dinner- Betty Chew there, also Peggy Bickers- Thawed a good deal in afternoon. 25, Cloudy and smoky- Some frost last night, but soft weather and thawed considerably in the evening- J.Taylor was here before noon, I gave him some small screws to put on locks- he staid but a short time. 26, Hail and rain before day tho' but very little. Rain and mist all day the Wind North but not very cold. -[SUNDAY]- 27, Rained till a little before day, then cleared with wind at N.West but not very cold. Went with my father to Court. More people at Court than I expected being bad travelling, tho' but few from far- Col.Barbour gave me a letter desiring my attendance next Monday to Settle his & Wm Webb's accounts. Col.W.White & Capt Conway came home with me from Court. 28, Froze hard last night- clear still day and not very cold. We went with ColWhite & Capt Conway to Court, which sat to finish Laying the County Levy. Rob't Taylor invited me to dine with him. We went with him. Uncle Taylor, John Taylor, Col.Jas Barbour, Wm.Madison and family dined there. Fra's Madison called there in evening. I believe Jno Taylor paid him some money. 29, Not quite so cold as yesterday morning- a few clouds in the morning but soon clear & moderate- I saw Capt Burnley at the road- His people were driving some of his cattle to his father's, for the benefit of food- Had candles, 20 dozen, & 5 made to-day, took above 40 lb. Tallow. From the TAYLOR DIARY, #1907-z in the Southern Historical Collection, University of North Carolina Library, Chapel Hill. FOR REFERENCE ONLY: PERMISSION TO PUBLISH MUST BE REQUESTED. WARNING: MOST MANUCRIPTS ARE PROTECTED BY COPYRIGHT.

Last edit about 4 years ago by michellezitney
203
Needs Review

9[197] DIARY OF FRANCIS TAYLOR, 1792, 1792, April, 18, Cloudy, smoky and warm, a moderate rain afternoon. Uncle Taylor, Rob't Taylor, J. Taylor & C. Taylor dined here. Rob't Taylor assisted my father in altering matters of form in his answer to Minor &c Bill in Chancery19, Cloudy morning- My father being unwell I sent to C. Taylor to call on his way to Court house, he did and I went there with him, there was a alled Court on Ezekiel Clements charged with counterfeiting the current coin- He had a part of the stamp for dollars & some other things, but the proof being insufficient he was acquitted- It rained very brisk about the middle of the day and was a wet evening. C. Taylor came with me back & Abner Porter soon after & they dined here. Alex Shepherd paid me 12/- I won of him some time ago at Loo. 20, My father took some Aloe Pills last night and seems much better than he was yesterday. Rained last night and most of this day- dark & cloudy. J. Taylor walked here after dinner to enquire how my father was- Julius King was here & bought a midling Bacon 11 lb. at 8d. & paid 6/8. Macon Biggers (the Overseer) sent to ask for a Shoat, my father assented. 21, Rained a good deal last night and the air cold. Very rainy day with some spits of Snow with it, before noon, the weather very cold for the season. 22, [SUNDAY] A little rain in the morning, cloudy and cool day- The Great Mountains [the Blue Ridge] quite covered with snow. C. Taylor walked here and dined with us. 23, The first of the night cloudy and not so cold as in the day- A slight frost, which I believe hurt nothing about here. A fine day- Roads & vallies very wet. Went with my father to Court, and election. Col'o Barbour, a little before the Election was to begin informed the people that he declined standing a poll, so that Davis & Johnson being the only Candidates, they were returned by the Sheriff duly elected- many think Col. Barbour's aim was to ensure Johnson's election. My father having been sick and being still weak, to'he says he drank but little, became so helpless that it was late before he was able to ride home, G.C. Taylor was at Court and returned without coming here. Tops of Mountains still White. 24, My father remained at home- I went to the Court house. the Court settled rates for Taverns- A vestry was also held & recommended a Subscription for a Minister &c. Had Climblings, Cucumber & pompion seeds planted in the Hog-pen. Warm day & hazy. 25, Cloudy and very rainy day- I think more rain fell than in the same space of time had Done before this year. John Taylor, Rob't Taylor, Felix Gilbert Jr, James Taylor & son, dined here- C. Taylor walked over in the evening, said rain pervented his coming before dinner26, Fine morning- My father sent a quarter of Shoat to C. Taylor's and word that he intended to dine there. I went there also and dined- a few clouds & drops of rain. 27, Fine day. I was trimming Bee-hives & thought stirring made me feel better than for several days past. J. Taylor was here in evening. 28, Warm day- I was taken very unwell before breakfast with a chilly, shivering ague, which lasted about two hours and was followed by a burning fever which continued all day- I took sundry medicines & sweated copiously, and was very weak & think never was more sick in my life. My father rode to Court house after dinner. C. Taylor called here with him; I asked him if bleeding would be proper for me, but he advised me to defer it. 29, [SUNDAY] My fever continues, but something abated- There was Lightning, thunder & brisk rain, with wind. before day. Reuben Taylor dined here- J. Taylor walked over in evening. Planted some good Watermelon & Cucumber seeds in the pen beyond the Garden last night. 30, My health much better to day than cold have been expected from the severity of my disorder. C. Taylor & family went yesterday to Capt Conways, he came home to day and came here to dinner, went home after dinner and came back at night. Began to plant Corn the 23d, & finished the 28th, instant.

From the TAYLOR DIARY, #1907-z in the Southern Historical Collection, University of North Carolina Library, Chapel Hill. FOR REFERENCE ONLY: PERMISSION MUST BE REQUESTED. WARNING: MOST MANUSCRIPTS ARE PROTECTED BY COPYRIGHT.

Last edit about 4 years ago by maxineh
204
Needs Review

10 [198] DIARY OF FRANCIS TAYLOR, 1792, 1792, May, 1, Foggy morning- Bro'r James called here after breakfast on his way to Fredericksburg- we gave him some mem'ds &c.C.Taylor went home- My father went to Hodges, Shoemaker, to get a pair Shoes made. Syl went with him. I sent a calf skin, thread & a shoe to measure for making me shoes. Cleared about noon-smoky and warm. Planted what sweet Potatoes we had (about 1/4 or 1/2 Bushel) in the Pen by the Spring, with an Irish Potatoe in each hill. Sowed Flax seed above the cross ditch- Also below the ditch with Timothy seed with it the same day and next morning. C.Taylor dined with us and staid at night. 2, C.Taylor went home after breakfast. Capt Conway sent a jug & got a Gallon brandy. *Mr.H.Fitzhugh got a licence to marry Betsy Conway. Weather warm and smoky- I walked down the Run, saw a Squirrel & killed it. [*Elizabeth, dau. of Capt. Catlett and Susannah (Fitzhugh) Conway, married Henry Fitzhugh, of Bedford, King George Co. May 3. -Hayden] 3, Very great dew- and fog in the morning, but soon cleared, warm and windy- The fur from the leaves very troublesome to the eyes &c. Killed 2 squirrels. Young Mr. Langham dined here- Says he has made a Cock match to be fought Saturday 12th of this month at Court house. Some distant thunder &c to South at night. 4, Cooler and windy- clear. Cloudy & some rain in evening- Had good watermelon seeds plated in the Pen by the Spring and in the Plant Patch. Also Cucumber and other seeds- Jnc. Taylor called here on his return from Capt. Burnley's. My father & I rode to Uncle Taylor's & dined- Mrs Burnley & family there. 5, Planted 12 rows forward Peas, the rest of ground next the woods with the Large kind- Sowed Cabbage & planted Indian pepper in a small place burnt in the plant pen. J. Taylor got home from Fredericksburg and came over ab't 10 o'clock expecting Beck's waggon with a Bar'l of fish for my father & some articles for himself. Which got here after dinner &c. John Taylor called here before noon but went to Capt Burnley's. 6, [SUNDAY] My father sent 4 White fish to J. Taylor's & Do to C. Taylor's- C. Taylor sent for some articles brought up for hin, we sent all except a parcel of Nails which were sent next day. 7, I rode to Hodge, the Shoemakers, he took measure to make me 3 pair Shoes- I went from thence to Court house, Saw Maj'r Lee- C. Taylor, R'n Raylor, Jas Bell &c- C. Taylor called by with me and dined. Young Mr. Wait came for C. Taylor while we were at Dinner & dined here. C. Taylor went home with him. I bought a pair Shoes for G. TAylor. Had Snaps in garden stuck- Set off the Oxen with two Hogs-heads Tobacco to roll, two more carried out with horses who are to set out early tomorrow morning, if weather permits. Henry Pendleton and Jas Taylor jr walked here in evening. Rob't Moore rode here & brought me a Packet of Letters &c. Maj'r Madison brought from Jon'a & G.C. Taylor, Kentucky. 8, By appointment I met Jas Taylor at the Court house, we went to Maj'r Madison's who with his family, was going to his father's. We went with them- Wm. Madison & family, Fra. Madison and Mrs Macon, were there. We came home in evening. The weather cool for the season, some flying clouds but no rain. P:lanted forward and large Indian Peas the 5th. 9, The day remarkable clear-cool in the morning but the evening warmer. I killed two Squirrels to day. Planted Irish Potatoes in Pen by Gate. We staid at home- My father appeared unwell in the evening. 10, My father rode to Dan'l Davis's, returned to dinner. Overseer returned from rolling Tobacco. After we had dined, Mr Gabriel Jones, who was returning from Fredericksburg, called here and dined- Warm clear day, a little hazy in evening 11, After Breakfast Mr. Jones proceeded towards home. Cloudy and a few drops of rain Planted small & large Indian peas in caslow's pen. 12, Young Mr. Langham came here and breakfasted- bought 1 gallon Brandy & paid G.T.7/- for it. only car'd half of it. I went by the Shoemaker's who had not made my shoes, and from there to Court house, where there was a Cock fight. A few drops of rain fell, warm weather. I gave a Letter to Maj'r Lee for bro'r Richard, the Maj'r intends to Fred'g in a day or two. Bees swarmed & hived in plank hive

From the TAYLOR DIARY, #1907-z in the South Historial Collection, University of North Carolina Library, Chapel Hill. FOR REFERENCE ONLY: PERMISSION TO PUBLISH MUST BE REQUESTED. WARNING: MOST MANUSCRIPTS ARE PROTECTED BY COPYRIGHT.

Last edit about 4 years ago by maxineh
205
Needs Review

11[199] DIARY OF FRANCIS TAYLOR, 1792, 1792, May, [SUNDAY] 13, Warm dry weather. Hodge, the Shoemaker, brought me a pair of Shoes & I paid him a Dollar. My father & I went to J. Taylor's to dinner, He, James Taylor jr, H. Pendleton & Nancy Taylor were at meeting at Jas Clark's but got home to dinner- Some thunder and very slight rain. I gave sundry papers to J. Taylor-vizt, my certificates, to get Interest of them at Richmond, where he intends to go this week- also my account for 1 year's pay when supernumerary Maj'r and a Certificate &c of *Wm. Taylor's to get adjusted, if any mistake. Great numbers of Locusts have appeared within the last week- Saw Light Bugs at night. [* Major W. Taylor, brother of the Diarist, moved to Ky. 1786 or earlier-WKA] 14, Not so warm to day as yesterday- the Earth hard & very dry- Circle around the Sun. Israel & Jack, with horses, set off about noon to roll 2 Hnds Tobacco to Fredericksburg. Capt Burnley dined here. Moses was helping to fix Bee hives. Mrs James was here & paid G. Taylor some money. 15, J. Taylor set off to Richmond- Rained a little in the evening- Wm Leathers was here & got some Hemp for Capt Burnley & said my father's pigs roots their corn lately planted. 16, Cloudy last night, tho'very little rain, same weather this morning. The Overseer went to where the hogs are fed & out the noses of some pigs found in Capt. Burnley's field. Cut & marked 3 of them- A little rain forenoon, had cabbages planted in the square next the gate. A light shower afternoon, but soon dried- Abner Porter & Cha's Taylor were here in the evening- I was out walking in Capt Burnley's fields where I saw ripe Strawberries- Very windy day. 17, The Tobacco rollers, who went down the 14th, returned last night- Warm weather & ear very dry- changed very cool at night18, Clear and cold- I went early to Hyde's store & bought some paper, a hat &c- returned at noon. 19, Weather continues cool and clear- James Taylor came here a brought me my certificates with Int. warrants he drew on them at Auditor's in Richmond. Informed me he had left my account against the U.States for the Depreciation of the year's pay of sup'y Major in Cont'l line- And informed me he could not get anything done with Wm. Taylor's Final Settlement- so returned it. A. Porter's wagon took a load of forty odd Bush Wheat to carry to Blair's- A Porter was here when the Waggon loaded and went away before noon- he found provision &c himself. James Taylor and C. Taylor dined here- The former said it was believed in Richmond that the slaves in the Eastern parts of this State had planned a Revolt but a discovery of their plot had been made. Maj'r Moore & others saw smart white frost this morning. Cold dry weather. 20, [SUNDAY] My father and I went to Court house where Mr. Fry preached a sermon to a tolerable number of people. We came by Uncle Taylor's and dined- Mrs. Madison Mrs Macon, Mrs Burnley & children & Mr. Howard were there. 21, Weather cool, clear, and very dry. My mare foaled last night- has a black, male colt- I rode by Mr. T. Bell's and carried him cucumber seed. Went to Shoemaker, Hodges, got 2 pair shoes he made, paid him 4/- My father sent for making pair shoes- and paid him 6/- the balance I owed for 3 pr made for me- Saw Maj'r Moore & J. Taylor jr at Shoemaker's- In evening had pompion seeks planted in old plant patch. I walked to J. Taylor's after dinner. 22, Cloudy last night but cleared in the morning. Uncle Taylor, J. Taylor & son, H. Pendleton, J. Howie Pendleton and Ch. Taylor dined here- Reu. Taylor, Rich'd Cawthorn & J. Langham called here returning from Court house- but only staid to get 2 quarts brandy my father owed Langham- Very dry continues. Replanted the whole Hog pen. 23, The weather continues cool, clear and very dry. My father went Syl to Abner Porter's, who brought a Small jug and 3 Bus' Salt, his Waggon brought from Blair's, but left a Bar of Iron- The Bees swarmed yesterday and to day, but fear shall not secure the swarms, the first went away24, The weather continues cool and dry- I think it was cool enough this morning for frost.

From the TAYLOR DIARY, #1907-z in the Southern Historical Collection, University of North Carolina Library, Chapel Hill. FOR REFERENCE ONLY: PERMISSION TO PUBLISH MUST BE REQUESTED. WARNING: MANUSCRIPTS ARE PROTECTED BY COPYRIGHT.

Last edit about 4 years ago by maxineh
206
Needs Review

12[200] DIARY OF FRANCIS TAYLOR, 1792, 1792, May, 25, I rode to the Court house and carried Mr. Howard's Gallon pot which my father borrowed last fall- I was unwell all day & had high fever at night. Bees swarmed and went off towards Uncle Taylor's Mountain. Weather continues clear & dry- a little warmer. 26, A little hazy in morning- My father sent Syl early to Doct'r Walker's for G.C. Taylor. I think my health a little better than yesterday- Clouded and toward night a very little rain. 27, G.C. Taylor came from Maj'r Madison's where he staid last night, Jas Bell came with him & dined here. -[SUNDAY]28, Weather continues very dry- J. Bell & G.C. Taylor went away before breakfast- My father & I went to Court. Wm Pollock pd me 12/- in part of an order for my attendance at Culpeper Court. I paid 6/8 to J. Taylor for 5 lb Soal leather, he bought at Fredericksburg- I received & paid Mr. James Blair 27 Dollars from the following persons for 1 years subscription to the National Gazette:- Isaac Davis 3. Wm. White 3. Fra's Cowherd 3. Amb. Madison 3. Rob Taylor 3. James Bell 3. Geo. Proctor 3. Catlett Conway 3. Fra Taylor 3.= 27. I paid 3/9 to Mr Blair to be applied towards the postage of my papers after June 1- Zach Burnley had paid Mr. Whitt post master- Mr. J. Blair is to pay for Maj Burton & Wm Madison & said he would take a Receipt from Mr. Waitt for money paid for the papers- Absalom Smith came here at night with his stallion and went away next morning before breakfast. 29, Went again to Court with my father & G.C. Taylor. I paid 11/2 which appeared against me on Capt Joseph Wood dec'd Books for County & parish dues while he was Collector, tho' I thought I owed only 5/6- I paid it to Pierce Sanford and took his receipt- I dined at Nooe's- Weather continues very dry. 30, Went with the same as yesterday to Court- Heard that Col. Madision jun'r went home last night. The Court did not much business to-day and adjourned- Warm and dry weather31, Uncle Taylor, John Taylor, Felix Gilbert jr, Ja's Taylor, James Taylor jr, and Charles Taylor dined here. G.C. Taylor went after dinner to Capt Conway's intending to set out tomorrow early from thence to Caroline. Benj'a Taylor's mare foaled this morning, a bay mare colt. John Moore returned home from College at Carlisle, his sister Polly (who had been on a visit to Maj'r Hite's & Mr. Balmain's) and Fanny Madison came down with him-

June, 1, I went with my father to J. Taylor's- Uncle Taylor, John Taylor & family & Jenny Taylor were there. Cloudy morning with a few drops of rain & some clouds in evening- Mrs Moore sent for a Gallon brandy, while I was at J. Taylor's- I came over with the Boy & sent it by him. Sowed 3 rows Marrow-fat or Nonpareil peas- planted the North part of Caslow's pen in I Potatoes. 2, My father & I went to Maj'r Moore's- Reu Taylor and family, John Taylor & do, Felix Gilbert jr, Uncle Taylor & Jenny Taylor dined there- A good shower of rain fell while we were at Maj'r Moore's, would wet the earth 2 inches, but not near as much fell here- Cabbages planted in garden, but not a good season3, [SUNDAY] We dined at home- from appearance of the Clouds there was good rains to day at a distance, but very little fell here. 4, Cloudy weather with a very little rain. My father rode to Uncle Taylor's and Court house & returned to dinner. 5, A sorry shoat which had been put up to fatten was killed & half sent here-the rest left for Overseer & negroes. Weather smoky but less likely to Rain than for some days past. 6, I went to J. Taylor's to carry subscriptions for the vestrymen- Ca's Taylor's family were there & J. Taylor sent for my father who went over- C. Taylor also dined there. Belfield Cave was there & I got him to take Subscription papers for all the Vestrymen in his district. There was a good rain fell with considerable hail as large as nutmegs &c- thunder & some wind. The Hail and Wind was very violent at the Court house and to the South of us- the wind blew down one of the chimneys, the Corn house & dairy at Nooe's also several large trees.

From the TAYLOR DIARY, #1907-z in the South Historical Collection University of North Carolina Library, Chapel Hill. FOR REFERENCE ONLY: PERMISSION TO PUBLISH MUST BE REQUESTED. WARNING: MOST MANUSCRIPTS ARE PROTECTED BY COPYRIGHT.

Last edit about 4 years ago by maxineh
207
Needs Review

13[201] DIARY OF FRANCIS TAYLOR, 1792 1792, June, 6, [Continued] The hail, injured John Leather's crop of Wheat almost to ruin- Maj'r Langham's also was much hurt, Other fields were damaged but not so greatly that have yet heard of. 7, I rode to Court house, gave Mr. Howard a Mem'dm to get me some articles at Philadelphia, for w'ch place he set out to day- Maj'r Moore, Maj'r Langham & Mr. Howard went to Capt Burnley's, he asked me, I rode by home & went there to dinner. Mr. Howard proceeded on his journey, intending to Stevensburg- A very little rain in evening, cool day. 8, Cool night and morning- Began before sunrises to rain fine or small rain, continued cloudy all day tho'very little rain- I went with my father to Chas Taylor' J. Taylor, J. Taylor jr, Nancy Taylor, Thos Barbour's wife and Betty Chew dined there. 9, Still cloudy, in the evening a few drops of rain. Jas Taylor came over after breakfast and Ch's Taylor, they dined here and after dinner we went to the Court house, brought home 10 yards brown Linen G.C.T bought in Fred'g for me. 10, Having been for two days rather more unwell than usual I took a Dose of Salts &c- & Rhubarb in the evening- Reu Taylor came here before noon- soon after he came it set in raining with smart North Wind, the rain was small and continued constant till night, I think it the best rain since 22d April. R.T. walked here My father lent him his horse &c at night to return-Very cool weather. [SUNDAY] 11, Cloudy, misty morning and continues cool. G.C. Taylor returned here from Caroline He received The money for me of Mr. Lovell for which a Hhd Tob'o sold, Nt 1255 lb at 18/- $11. 5.10-and bought for me 10 yds Brown Linen 9/2 & a Box Andersons pills 2/- After dinner G.C.T went to Jas Taylor's, very rainy and cold-Had Watermelon & Cucumbers replanted12, Very rainy day and cool- Much rain fell though it was fine- G.C. Taylor came from J. Taylor's after breakfast and after dinner went to C. Taylor's & returned at night. 13, Continues cloudy and cold, some rain in the morning, cleared by noon- G.C. Taylor rode to Court house after dinner, James Bell came home with him. 14, James Bell went away after breakfast- G.C. Taylor set off at same time to Doct'r Walker's with Syl, who returned with the horses in the evening- My father went to Maj'r Lee's as soon as breakfast over, but he had set out for Fredericksburg. After dinner he walked C. Taylor's with a boy to carry G.C. Taylor's Linen &c, for Miss M. Conway to make shirts. Weather clear, and rather cool. 15, Weather warmer this morning than lately. My father rode to the Store at C. house, bo't needles, thread &c. Betty Chew and Nancy Taylor walked here, the former asked me to do somethng about her claim to 30 acres of Land &c whereon Henry Lee now lives- they returned befoe noon. My father dined and then went over to C. Taylor's to carry thread &c for C.G. Taylor's shirts. I cut most of the Peach trees that were planted last year from down near the root. The Locusts had injured them very much, the limbs and bodies of many appeared dying- The Locust lasted in great numbers from about the 2d of May four weeks. Some Locusts (tho' but few) continued about ten days after their continuance about four weeks, about that time a spell of wet cold weather happened which it is thought destroyed great numbers, otherwise they probably would have had a longer duration. 16, I rode to Court house- got my mare's shoes removed. Received my newspapers, Most of the Papers brought by Post did not come from the office at Fredericksburg, where tis supposed they will not deliver them until the postage paid. I came home & dined and walked J. Taylor's in evening. He had rode out and came by here but got home before I came away- Weather changed to warm. Two of my father Sows died this week. 17, My father and I rode to Court house. A Mr. Ellis, a Methodist, preached to a large audience, those whose opinions I heard said they thought he delivered a good sermon. We returned to dinner- Warm, some clouds & distant thunder18, My father sent Syl to Th's Mallory's with 34 lb thread to be wove- I also sent some fine thread to be made into Jeans with 2 lb Cotton I had there before.

From the TAYLOR DIARY, #1907-z in the Southern Historical Collection, University of North Carolina Library, Chapel Hill. FOR REFERENCE ONLY: PERMISSION TO PUBLISH MUST BE REQUESTED. WARNING: MOST MANUSCRIPTS ARE PROTECTED BY COPYRIGHT.

Last edit about 4 years ago by maxineh
237
Needs Review

9[231] DIARY OF FRANCIS TAYLOR, 1794, 1794, April, 16, Very warm and fair. I walked down the Run- the boys turned out Mr.Coleman [School master-WKA]- but after I came away. Planting corn in the Barn field. Sowed Scarcity, 4 rows in West-4 next parsnip 3 next red Beets__next Carrot 2 last Scarcity-- in the New pen-- planted some Cucumber & Gourd seeds- & sowed Indian Pepper. Some Cucumber seeds in Bed by Asparagus- W.Bowling pd bal'ce his bond. 17, Very thick cloudy-but no rain. Finished planting corn in the old ground. I was very unwell-violent headach-swelled jaw and fever18, Cloudy morning, misty & cleared warm. I took a dose Aloe pills last night & castor oil this morning- had a bad night-but better after physic operated- Walked with gun to lower part of Mrs Burnleys Plantation on the Run- Killed 4 Squirrels. Packed up my Bacon in ashes. M.Biggers brought a parcel Norfolk papers from Mr Shepherd, inclosed from F.S.Taylor, who did not write any letter. 19, Clear and warm. Very unwell, violent pain abated. M.Biggers sent me half a shoat. 20, Easter Sunday. Warm clear morning, cloudy evening. Reuben Taylor came here and dined- I gave him some Indian peas to plant. I feel better to day than for several past. Thompson Taylor arrived here at dusk from Kentucky;he brought letters to me from Richard Woolfolk, Jon'a Taylor & G.C.Taylor21, Very close rainy day- in the evening Thompson Taylor walked to J.taylor's- it rained most part of last night- [Thompson, son of Commodore Richard Taylor] 22, Very cloudy morning, with some mist, cleared before noon & very fine evening. Thompson Taylor came from J.Taylor's early and after breakfast set off to Caroline. Cutting a ditch in lower end f Meadow23, Foggy morning- fine afternoon. Finished first part of Ditch. Uncle Taylor dined here. 24, Some clouds, but no rain. Enoch Hill's son came here, nobody being at the Office I went with him & copied the courses of a Deed from L.Grymes &c to his father, he said would pay for at Court. Planted about a Bushel of Irish Potatoes in the new pen- Also Indian peas, but did not finish- 16 Rows toward road of the Horse peas- 8 next Small White pea. N.Biggers says one of the spayed Sows in the Woods he found down the run with four pigs, very young. I was very unwell in forenoon, better in evening. 25, Began to rain about sunrise & rained a great deal with thunder to Southward, cleared about noon- Some clouds. Got the Sow & hogs in pasture. Ditching the pen- and Meadow. 26, Fine day- very wet in valleys- Plowing in field by meadow, Ditching the upper and C.Taylors came here after dinner, I paid him Fifteen pounds on acount of father's estate, he said he intends to Fred'g next week- The Brindle Cow had a calf, male. 27, [SUNDAY] I staid at home alone28, Cloudy morning-some drops of rain. Finished planting peas in New pen- Maury's sort planted next Sweet Potatoes- no French peas planted. Had a small shoat killed- 1/4 to M.Biggers. I went to Electrion. H. Taliarferro had a poll taken, but Davis & Johnson were Elected- I paid Charles Dickason his proved account for work edone for my father $7.0.8. Rec'd a letter from Mess'rs Blairs that they sold my wheat about 5/- pr Bushel. 29, Some clouds with very little rain. I went again to Court- Levy laid for County. Sold C.P.Howard the shoes Henshaw made too small, for same I paid, 13/- Gave my List, Tith's &c to a Pporter yesterday. 30, Fine clear day- Macon Biggers cut & marked some shoats, with those cut a few days makes 14. Two of the old white Sows shoats marked and turned out for breeders. Had Pumpkins planted on Drake's branch. Planted Water-melon patch in new pen, also in potatoe patch: Cucumber seed around it. In first row joining Potatoe patch 10 Squash seed and Guinea Water melon. J. Taylor walked here in evening.

From the TAYLOR DIARY, #1907-z in the Southern Historical Collection, University of North Carolina Library, Chapel Hill. FOR REFERENCE ONLY: PERMISSION TO PUBLISH MUST BE REQUESTED. WARNING: MOST MANUSCRIPTS ARE PROTECTED BY COPYRIGHT.

Last edit about 4 years ago by maxineh
238
Needs Review

10[232] DIARY OF FRANCIS TAYLOR, 1794, 1794 May, 1, Thursday, Fine clear weather, J. Taylor sent & got forward Indian peas & sugar beans. Roger Bell and Macon Biggers breakfasted here- After Breakfast Roger Bell Spayed 7 shoats-14 had been cut & marked & 2 marked & turned out for breeders- Could not get the 2 wild sows in pen, or should have had them spayed Sowed 9 Rows peas, by the side of the rows growing- of the midling sort. Planted Pompions in 3 rows joining sweet potatoes. Walked to J. Taylor's in the evening- Rob't Taylor was there2, Very warm fiar weather. J.Bowie Pendleton came here from Court house about sunrise- I gave him Sugar Beans & forward Indian peas to carry to Culpeper. Hr took a Julep but would not stay Breakfast. I walked down the run to Maj'r Moore's Fence. Heard that H.Day died this morning. 3, Warm & smoky. I feel unwell, believe from fatigue yesterday and drinking too much water &c- Planted Irish Potatoes in Clover Pen. Do. Horn, French, & small Indian peas. Peas by the Wheat house. Sowed about a gallon Hemp seed by Sheep pen. Gave W.Leathers Pumpkin seed & forw'd Ind'n peas. 4, Very warm & sultry. I went to J. Taylor's-Roger Bell & wife & Mrs Bickers dined there. J.Taylor jun'r had not returned from meeting. Hived a swarm Bees in the Hewed Cum. ----[SUNDAY]---5, Warm morning-Thunder & rain in evening- The people Ditching in the Meadow. 6, Close cloudy misty day, fine season. I walked to the road- J.Taylor,Mr. Shepherd & Mr Rob't Wilson went to Fredericksburg. I gave J.Taylor Letters to Mess'rs Blairs, Col.J.Taylor & Doct C.Taylor. Planted all the garden that was prepared in Hogsheads in the Corn house- suppose 14 or 15 Barrels there & 24 or 25 in Wheat house. Thunder & a little rain at night. 7, Clear and pleasant, cooler than of late. Borrowed C.Taylor's Pot and made 11 doz candles-29 lb Tallow & 5 lbs Bees wax was dipped- had 4 doz old Candles on hand Replanting corn. 8, Very cool last night- Frost this morning, clear cool day. I set off to go to Court house,met J.Taylor jun'r & Nancy going to H.Taliarferro's & went with them Col.W.Taliaferro & wife, Reu Taylor & wife & Mr.D.Henning dined there. Finished replanting Corn. 9, Clear morning,cool but believe no frost. Heard there was frost. I walked to C. Taylor's,who got home last evening, he brought a letter from Mess'rs Blairs &_ I went by J.Taylor's & with his family to e.Taylor's- Mr. Howard's father was there, an agreeable Gent'n. Maj'r Moore & family- Mrs Burnley, Mrs Balmain, Nancy Bell, Peggy Bell &c were there. I returned by J.Taylor's who had just got home from Fredericksburg. 10, Some clouds & some drops rain last night-very windy & some clouds to-day & warmer. I rode to Courthouse. Coleman's & Light Infantry companies mustered there to-day. I paid 18/1 Zeph'a Nooes acco't ag't G.C.Taylor & settled my own account. A stone Plow horse or Geo Shepherd's was tied near my mare & covered her- Gave a bait of Flax seed to make her cast. Rec'd by Wm Beck from Mess're Blairs 1 p/s Rolls- 40 yards German & 15 British oznab's, 1 lb thread and a Box wafers-paid 1/3 for Waggoning above. 11, Sunday, I went to J.Taylor's-Dined there-E.Chew there. After dinner J. Taylor jr R'd Barbour (Culp'r) & Robert Moore went there from Maj'r Moore's 12, Warm fair weather. Uncle Taylor sent word he would dine with me. He, Mr Balmain MrJ.Howard, C.P.Howard, J.Taylor, J.Taylor jr. C. Taylor, & Rob't T Moore were here- Wm Brockman (Pamunky) was to the office-came here & dined- C. Taylor ret'd 1/4 lb C.Tartar he borrowed and let me have 1/2 lb he bought for me. 13, Warm weather continues & dry. Had Watermelon seed planted in Clover pen. Walked out- Strawberries almost ripe. Reu Taylor dined here- After dinner went with him to J.Taylor's, he wanted to see the Answer H.Taliaferro filed in a law suit. I had violent headache.

From the TAYLOR DIARY, #1907-z in the South Historical Collection, University of North Carolina Library. Chapel Hill. FOR REFERENCE ONLY: PERMISSION TO PUBLISH MUST BE REQUESTED. WARNING: MOST MANUSCRIPTS ARE PROTECTED BY COPYRIGHT.

Last edit about 4 years ago by maxineh
239
Needs Review

11[233] DIARY OF FRANCIS TALOR, 1794, 1794, May, 14, Warm morning-a little rain with thunder in the evening-I rode to see John Waugh who promised to pay off his debt at Culpeper or Or'ge Court. Fished at J.K Waugh's Mill and caught thirty odd.Bees hived in plank hive, planed top(2d swarm) Turned young hogs into the woods. 15, Warm, a few drops rain in evening. Had Bedsteads below stairs scalded and all the Beds &c aired. 16, Fair and dry. Had Watermelon & other seeds replanted in the new pen.Overseer & negroes worked on the road.Hived Bees in knotty Gum. 17, Cool and clear. C.Taylor to see Sary & breakfasted here. I went to J.Taylors- Uncle Taylor & wife, Mr.C.P.Howard & do- Mr. Balmain & do- Mr.John Howard-Mrs Gaines & E.Chew there. 18, Sunday, Cloudy without rain-very cool. I went to Court house, Mr. Balmain preached a Sermon-not many people. I came to Uncle Taylor's, Col.Madison & wife, Mrs Burnley- Mr Balmain & wife, Messrs Howards, Rob't Taylor &c dined there. 19, Cool and some clouds. C.Taylor came to see Sary. He & I walked to Maj'r Moore's Mr.Balmain & wife, Uncle Taylor, Mess'rs Howards, Mrs Burnley,Mrs Howard and Lewis Throckmorton dined there- B.Taylor got here at night from Caroline. He brought a Letter, Buchan's Physician & Newspapers, from F.S.Taylor20, Turned warmer, clouds went off. B.Taylor and I went to J.Taylor's and dined-no company but the family. 21, Warm, a few clouds, no rain. B.Taylor & I went to Dade's Mill to fish by appointment- No fish of account caught. Returned with Mr.Dade to his house with the fishing party- Mess'rs Howard, Mrs Howard, C.Taylor, Sally & Betsy Taylor, Kittch Nooe- Mr.Wm Banks, J. Taylor jr. Mr Williams(P.William) John Fry- Dined there- Col.L.Taliaferro & son*Hay came there in evening from Wm.Madison's- (Hay Taliaferro m. Mildred Taylor, dau. of Robert, who was son of Erasmus-WKA-] 22, Very warm-clouds,distant thunder and a few drops of rain fell here. C.Taylor came over to see Sary & ret'd before noon. B.Taylor & I dined together, had Peas. The Bell Cow & two heifers calved this week- replanted Indian peas0 23, Warm morning- Thunder & some rain-good rain toward South as high as Court house. Sheared Sheep,18, this morning. Roger Bell cut 4 lambs- the other 9 ewes=13. C.Taylor came over to see Sary & breakfasted here, B.Taylor & I went to his house- J. Taylor,J.Taylor Jr. Nancy Taylor, Kitty Nooe, Cal A. Maury, W.Dade and Mr.John Williams dined there. Maj'r Moore sent and had Cabbage plants, A very good season at his house- scarce wet enough here to draw the plants. 24, Warm morning, hazy with sone clouds. A slight shower with thunder & clouds in evening. B.Taylor & I went to Col.L.Taliaferro's- C.Taylor was here in morning & went to Col Taliaferro's. Mess'rs Howards,Mrs Balmain,Mrs Howard, Wm Dade & wife, Mr.Williams,J.Taylor jun'r, dined there- There was cucumbers at dinner. 25, [SUNDAY] A light shower with thunder. J.Taylor,J.Taulor jr, C. Taylor,Capt Conway & Lewis Throckmorton dined here. Killed a Shoat this morning. 26, Cloudy day withoutrain. Reuben Taylor called here & went with B.Taylor & myself to Court. Sold my wheat on hand to Mr.D.Triplett at 4/3 p/r Bushel to be delivered next week & paid for at June Court- Wm Edwards paid $23.3.0. in part of bond. Mr.A Shepherd weighed the money. 27, A nasty shower(not much) or rain fell in the first part of last night-cool afterwards-some clouds & cool morning. B.Taylor & I went to Court which adjourned in course. 28, Cool and dry- B.Taylor set out this morning for Caroline. Negro George went with him & rode B.T's young horse,which had strayed from Caroline & was taken up by one Scott- Macon Biggers brought him here the day after B.Taylor got here. In the evening I walked to J.Taylor's, J.Pendleton's wife & children, Joanna Pendleton & J.B.Pendleton(who came over the 25th) Mrs Gaines & Lucy Barbour were there. 29, Weather cool- clouds in morning, a very little fine rain. a little rain from the East with thunder at night.

From the TAYLOR DIARY, #1907-z in the Southern Historical Collection, University of North Carolina Library, Chapel Hill. FOR REFERENCE ONLY: PERMISSION TO PUBLISH MUST BE REQUESTED. WARNING: MOST MANUSCRIPTS ARE PROTECTED BY COPYRIGHT...

Last edit about 4 years ago by maxineh
240
Needs Review

12[234] DIARY OF FRANCIS TAYLOR, 1794, 1794 May, 30, Rained a good deal last night, Very cloudy and settled rain allday. I went to J.Taylor's. Mrs Gaines, Col.T.Barbours, A Barbours & T.Barbours Jrs wives &c. J. Pendleton & family, J.B. Pendleton & Joanna Pendleton were there. 31, Close, cloudy, rainy weather. J.Taylor,J.Pendleton,J.Bowie Pendleton & J.Gaylor jun'r dined here.

June, 1, Sunday, Rainy weather continues, cleared in the afternoon. I went to J.Taylor's. J.Pendleton & family, Thos Barbour's wife & children, Mrs Gaines, Joanna Pendleton, J.B.Pendleton, Lucy Barbour, dined there. 2, Fine fair morning-turned cloudy & Showery, heavy rain in Evening- I rode to Court house & from there with J.Bell & J.Pendleton to Mr.T.Bell's- J.Taylor went there- After dinner J.P., J.T., & J.Bell & I rode to Maj'r Moore's- J.Pendleton & I came away in evening- he called & took grog.M.Biggers Brought two parcels Tob'o for chewing- weighing 44 lbs Each. 3, Very warm. I went to Schoolhouse, left two Newspapers for J.Shepherd to carry to his father who lent them to me yesterday. T.Barbour jr was here. I let him have a Guinea to buy me a hat. 4, Cloudy with moderate rain. 5, Rainy morning.good evening. I was sent for and went to J.Taylor's to dinner,C. Taylors,J.Pendleton's &T.Barbour's familys, Doct'r Shepherd, Messrs Jenkins, G.Barbour & L.Throckmorton, Miss Joanna Pendleton, were there. 6, Warm morning,rain in evening. I went to C.Taylor's, J.Taylor's family, John Pendletons & T.Barbour jrs familys, Joanna Pendleton,Wm.Dade,John Williams(P.Wm.) & J.Taylor jr dined there. 7, Cloudy morning & rainy day. Moved 2 Hhds Corn house. Planted Irish potatoes in Sweet Potatoe patch. I went to J.Taylor's, Col.Maury,W.Dade,J.Williams, T.Barbour & family, J.Pendleton's family & Joanna Pendleton- Peggy Bickers, there. 8, Sunday, Cloudy all day with some rain. I went to Court house- Mr B.Grigsby preached a sermon- the audience small. I came to J.Taylor's to dinner, J.Pendleton & family, T.Barbour & do.-Henry Pendleton, Joanna Pendleton & Peggy Bickers there 9, Cloudy morning, no rain to day. I planted 3 Goose craw beans by Cherry trees Peter came here with Maj'r Moore's horse-had my mare covered against her will. Peter said his master had given him permission- I gave him 1/3. I went to a Cock-fight below Banks' store, there was a good many there & sundry fights made on the place- I dined at Mr.Hawkins's, got home at dush. A negro belonging to Wm Robinson was drowned near Alex Downey's10, Clear morning, heavy rain & showers in evening. I staid at home-have the Cholic. Sary began to work after 4 weeks sickness. 11, Wednesday, This day some clouds,only a few drops rain. I went to Reuben Taylor's J.Pendleton & family,J.Taylor & do, T.Barbour's wife & children & Miss Joanna Pendleton dined there. 12, Fine morning, a little rain in evening. I walked to Court house,returned before noon and went to J.Taylor's. Uncle Taylor,John Pendleton & family, T.Barbour's family. Joanna Pendleton & R.Bell's wife dined there- I observed the rust a good deal in my wheat. 13, Warm, distant thunder without rain. Uncle Taylor,J.Taylor,J.Taylor jr, J.Pendleton & J.Williams(P.W.) dined here-the latter went to J.Taylor's. 14, Warm, a Slight shower with thunder. I staid at home. Had Irish potatoes planted in pen Clover patch where missing hills where Water melons were planted. 15, Sunday, Cool and cloudy without rain. I rec'd a parcel Newspapers from F.S. Taylor from Norfolk, they were broke open, no letter. I went to J.Taylor's-Reu Taylor & family, C.Taylor, J.Pendleton's family, T.Barbour & family & Miss J.Pendleton dined there. Received a hat from Thos Barbour which had paid him 27/for 16, Cloudy morning,rainy day,but not violent. Maj'r Moore's Peter brought his master horse here in evening- Had Sylvania covered, told Peter would pay if she brings a foal.

From the TAYLOR DIARY, #1907-z in the Southern Historical Collection, University of North Carolina Library, Chapel Hill. FOR REFERENCE ONLY: PERMISSION TO PUBLISH MUST BE REQUESTED. WARNING: MOST MANUSCRIPTS ARE PROTECTED BY COPYRIGHT.

Last edit about 4 years ago by maxineh
Displaying pages 31 - 40 of 127 in total