Francis Taylor Diary

Pages That Need Review

Diary, 1786-1799

147
Needs Review

[143] 4 DIARY OF FRANCIS TAYLOR, 1790, 1790, February, 16, [Cont'd] C.Taylor gave a receipt in my name for the above inclosure and left with Capt Rob't Yancey yesterday at Culpeper Court. 17, Warm weather, somewhat cloudy. G.Taylor rode to Court house, ret'd by Rob't Taylor's and dined there. I went to J.Taylor's, Reu Taylor came here and then went with G.C.T. to J.Taylor's and dined- Reuben borrowed my horse & with J.Taylor jr & G.C.Taylor went in the evening to Capt Scott's to have a Fox hunt to-morrow 18, Cloudy morning, began about 10 o'clock to rain. I went with my father to C.Taylor's and returned in evening- very wet- Received a Skillet by Absalom which H.Taylor bought for me. 19, Cleared in the night, very fine day- Went with my father to C.Taylor's, J.Taylor & family-T.Barbour's do. Mrs.James, dined there. G.C.T. came home & went there also. 20, Cloudy morning- Robert Taylor called here in rain about 9 o'clock, he was going to a sale at John Carter's- we sent for J.Taylor & C.Taylor who came about noon. Very rainy till 2 o'clock, cleared fine & warm. J.Taylor jr & T.Barbour jr came here in evening & G.C.T.aylor went away with them. 21,[SUNDAY] Cloudy soft weather, the earth's tolerably settled- We dined at home except G.C.T. who dined at J.Taylor's and came home in evening 22, Continues Cloudy and mild weather Went with my father & G.C.T. to Court, gave a letter to ColJameson to get Mr.Fields to carry to Kentucky to W.Taylor. 23, I was very unwell last night with cholick. Rainy morning- My father & G.C.Taylor went to Uncle Taylor's- the latter staid. 24, Continued to rain a little last night and till after breakfast, cleared warm & windy- Maj'r Moore, John Taylor, James Taylor, Reuben Taylor and Uncle Taylor dined here- Capt Burnley here after dinner. 25, Clear and a little cool but no frost. John Taylor came by on the way to Fred'g I sent 20/- with memo' to C. or Reuben Taylor to get me some things. I went with G.Taylor to Capt Burnley, Mr.Shepherd, F.Madison, Maj'r Moore, J.Taylor & family, Col'o T.Barbour's family & T.Barbour jr's do were there. G.C.T. went to Breeches maker's. Capt Burnley & bro'r James in partnership making plant patch on the main run. M.Perry burnt one by the Spring in new ground. Weather fine. 26, Weather continues fine 27, Burnt Plant Patch below the Spring and in evening it was sown. Best Cabbage South side the branch, the other side common seed. Sowed Peas in square next the gate- Whit Asparagus seed 6 rows in square next meat house- G.C.Taylor ret'd from Stodgels came by Capt Burnley's. G.Taylor, Ararat, dined here. 28, [SUNDAY] Charles, Reuben & John Taylor came from Reuben Taylor's to breakfast, they got up last night from Fredericksburg, say negroes sold high. C.Taylor brought me some things, they went away after breakfast. J.Taylor came here after breakfast & went away soon after. G.C.Taylor went with R.Taylor to Maj'r Moore'sMarch 1, 1, Reuben Taylor came here early to enquire for some things Tay'r Jones was to bring up in his waggon, heard they were left at C.Taylor's and he went there C.Taylor sent me some medecines he bought for me at Fredericks'g also a Rock and two Perch. About noon began to rain with a little [snow?] and was a rainy evening. J.Taylor had Bell's waggon carrying rails from here. 2, Went with my father & G.C.T. to J.Taylor's- C.Taylor's family, Capt Burnley & his family there. 3, Uncle Taylor, J.Taylor & son, & Ch.Taylor dined here. Capt C.Lindsay & ColAlcock called here to see bro'r James- Very cold weather. Killed the fatted Ox. Weighed F.Quarter 168. H.Quarter 158.lb. From the TAYLOR DIARY, #1907-z in the Southern Historical Collection, University of North Carolina Library, Chapel Hill. FOR REFERENCE ONLY: PERMISSION TO PUBLISH MUST BE REQUESTED. WARNING: MOST MANUSCRIPTS ARE PROTECTED BY COPYRIGHT.

Last edit over 3 years ago by michellezitney
138
Needs Review

[134] 20 DIARY OF FRANCIS TAYLOR, 1789, 1789 November, 5, I went to Maj'r Lee's Store & bought & paid him for sundry articles. Mrs.Lee was deliv'd of a daughter this morning. I ret'd and went with Dicky & Colby & dined at C.Taylor's- Geo Terril there- the Joiners covering house. 6, I went after dinner to Maj'r Lee's, who exchanged Keg of Rum for Brandy, 7 gallons- Col.Madison Sr on his way to Fred'g came here & John Moore with him. 7, After breakfast Col Madison proceeded on his journey & J.Moore went away- weather smoky & warm. 8, [SUNDAY] I went with Dicky & Colby and dined at C.Taylor's. There was a moderate rain last night. 9, Geo Marshall Head got a Licence to marry Milly Rucker (Joel Rucker security) pd 3/- I went to J.Taylor's Davy got a Side Soal Leather. I walked to Uncle Taylor's in evening, borrowed a book of Col.Madison's "Acc't of Pele Islands" Mr.Goodlet at school to-day, the first time since October 2d. 10, A very little rain & warm. J.Taylor here to dinner, he went from Culp'r to Fredricksb'g and now on his way home-Capt Burnley also dined here. 11, I returned the book I bor'd at Uncle Taylor's, he & family abroad- I went to J.Taylor's & with him to G.Taylor's where we dined- J.Taylor went to meet his family who returned from Culpeper. 12, C.Taylor set off for Fred'g. I gave him a letter for R'd Taylor. I went after dinner to J.Taylor's. 13, H'd Taylor breakfasted here on his way to Ingram's. I walked to the [Store?] & ret'd by School house to dinner. 14, I went with Dicky & Colby to H.Taylor's & dined there, his sister *Nancy there. Reu Taylor there after dinner. Capt Burnley brought me a letter in morning from my father & breakfasted here. 15, [SUNDAY] Remarkable Northern light-between 9 & 10 o'clock, the sky was red in the zenith & South as well as in the North &c, it was smoky & a little cloudy The weather cloudy & smoky this morning. I went with the boys to J.Taylor's & dined. G.C.Taylor got home from Jon'a Taylor's &c. F.S.Taylor ret'd from Redstone, the water being too low to go down the river, where he intended to have gone with Mr.Blair & others- who all came back. 16, Examined Beef-some spoiled- G.C.Taylor & F.S.Taylor dined at C.Taylor's 17, I went to Capt Burnley's- Mr.T.Bell was there & Capt Burnley being from home, he came with me, C.Taylor & Capt Burnley also dined here- Weather turned cool or last night & clear. 18, I went with G.C.Taylor, F.S.Taylor, C.Taylor & Capt Burnley to where T.Barbour was blowing limestone. J.Taylor & son & Mr.T.Bell were there- My father got home from Caroline. Complained of not being well. 19, Went with my father, G.C. & F.S.Taylor & dined at C.Taylor's, weather cold. 20, The same, went to Hub'd Taylor's, Maj'r Moore & family, Mrs Throckmorton, Reu Taylor & family, Mr.T.Bell & daughter, Jenny, Taylor & Jas.Taylor jr., were there. 21, G.C.Taylor came home last night & ret'd to-day. Capt Burnley brought me a flannel Jacket made by Mrs Burnley & dined here. Smoky, cloudy & a little rain. Killed a cow yesterday & had it cut out to-day. G.C.T. & F.S.T. dined at H.Taylor's 22, [SUNDAY] G.C.T. & P.S.T., Dicky & Colby dined at Uncle Taylor's G.Taylor & I dined at J.Taylor's 23, We all went to Court. Capt Burnley p'd me £8.17.0 for £8.28.7 1/2 War'ts which he p'd Sherif for Taxes. 24, Jos Clark came here to breakfast & settled his acco't with G.Taylor & p'd him 23/10. Thos Mallory & son came here coopering. F.S.Taylor went to C.Taylor's G.T., G.C.T. & I went to Court. 25, Rained a little before day & since- T.Mallory &c went away in the morning. Very wet evening & windy. 26, Rainy all day and windy. From the TAYLOR DIARY, #1907-z in the Southern Historical Collection, University of North Carolina Library, Chapel Hill. FOR REFERENCE ONLY: PERMISSION TO PUBLISH MUST BE REQUESTED. WARNING: MOST MANUSCRIPTS ARE PROTECTED BY COPYRIGHT.

Last edit over 3 years ago by michellezitney
135
Needs Review

[131] 17 DIARY OF FRANCIS TAYLOR, 1789, 1789, August, 27, Clear morning after a fine rain. We went to J.Taylor's. Reu Taylor came by, borrowed my horse, dined at J.Taylor's & set off to Mr.Glassell's- J.Pendleton' & T,Barbour's families at J.Taylor's, R'd Barbour Sh'[f?]. & Miss E. Buckner. 28, Rained moderately in morning and showery all day. Reu Taylor ret'd in evening had bo't Nails &c- Capt Burnley here after dinner. 29, Clear & cool morning, I walked with the boys to Reuben Taylor's, he was gone to a shooting match and we returned- G.Taylor rode there and dined. G.C.T. came home in evening. 30 [Sunday] J.Pendleton borrowed my horse & he, H.Pendleton, J.Taylor jr & G.C.Taylor went to meeting. after dinner J.Taylor walked here w'th his son Harry- Several light showers to-day. 31, Very cool- J.Taylor, J.Pendleton, H.Pendleton and C.Taylor dined here- J.Taylor's wife, E.Pendleton, with Mrs Burnley came here from Capt Burnley's after dinner, also T.Barbour & wife from Maj'r Moore's. T.Mallory mending some Hnds at M.Perry's breakfasted here. G.T. sent 1/4 shoat to M.P. September, 1, Hay Battaile, J.Pendleton(of Caroline), Alf.Hoomes, Uncle E.Taylor, J.Taylor, Capt. Burnley & Jno. Burnley dined here. 2, G.C.T. went to F.Taliaferro's and dined there w'th Hay Battaile & Law Battaile, a heavy rain w'th thunder afternoon. 3, Went with G.Taylor to E.Taylor's and dined there. R't Taylor's wife & children there. G.C.T dined at J.Taylor's. 4, G.C.T. went to Maj'r Madison's. I killed 2 squirrels- plowing part of yard & sowed it with grass seed. 5, Lent G.C.T. my horse, who went with J.Pendleton, Bowie & H.Pendleton &c to A.Gaines' to play at fives. I walked to School-house, Alex Shepherd there- Mr.Goodlet kept school to-day. 6, [Sunday] G.C.T. went to Pinestake Church- The rest of the family went with C.Taylor, who came by, to J.Taylor's, J.Pendleton & T.Barbour & families were there. 7, Had the yard covered with bushes- The Trees &c cut down below the Spring to cover a place for plant patch. 8, G.T. went to Col.L.Taliaferro's & saw Mr.Jos.Jones, he came home by noon & I went with him to C.Taylor's and dined. G.C.T. went to Capt Dade's-*F.Stubbs Taylor & Thompson Taylor came up [from Caroline-WKA] this even'g & went to C.Taylor's & ret'd with me at night.--[*F.Stubbs Taylor, son of Capt. Edmund & Sarah (Stubbs) Taylor-- Thompson, son of Commodore Richard & Catherine (Davis) Taylor--PFT] 9, Went to School with the boys-F.S.T. came back to dinner. J.Taylor jr dined with us. 10, G.Taylor, F.S.Taylor & myself went to J.Taylor's. C.Taylor also dined there. 11, Went with G.Taylor, F.S.Taylor & Thompson Taylor & dined at Uncle Taylor's. 12, My father, my nephews Frank, Thompson, Richard and Colby & Hub Taylor's brother's Reuben & Edmund dined at Reuben Taylor's- Rained last night 13, [Sunday] All our family, Reuben Taylor, Hub'd Taylor & family, J.Taylor & son, & F.S.Taylor & Thompson Taylor dined at C.Taylor's. Miss M.Conway got up from Capt.Conway's. 14, Bro'r James came here & borrowed 20/- of me which he gave to F.S.Taylor, I also gave Fra.Stubbs Taylor four Guineas & 10/6 silver £6.2.6. Frank & Thompson Taylor set out for Caroline. 15, G.C.Taylor went to Maj.Burton's, where he expects to meet Jno. Taylor & intends to Rockingham w'th him-Gathered Apples. 16, G.Taylor went to Col.Madison's. J.Taylor came here in evening & paid me four dollars- Cloudy. 17, Rained a little & cloudy all day-smart rain last night- H.Taylor here in evening, Boys did not go to school. From the TAYLOR DIARY, #1907-z in the Southern Historical Collection, University of North Carolina Library, Chapel Hill. FOR REFERENCE ONLY: PERMISSION TO PUBLISH MUST BE REQUESTED. WARNING: MOST MANUSCRIPTS ARE PROTECTED BY COPYRIGHT.

Last edit over 3 years ago by michellezitney
128
Needs Review

[124] 10 DIARY OF FRANCIS TAYLOR, 1789, 1789, May, 6, -Continued- J.Taylor came there from Col'o Pendleton's. I gave him the Precepts he left with me and what I had issued. he came home and says he intends back for his family Saturday next the 9th. The persons app'd to set value on Slave Gabriel Recovered by B.Hansford of N.Porter, settled his value at £80. & £11. pr year for his hire or profit. 7, I was unwell last night and to-day- It rained a little in morning, very cool. J.Taylor dined here & went to Ct-house after. Planted forward Cucumber & Muskmelon seeds [?] hills on North side the garen. 8, Had hills made between Plant patch, and planted H.Battaile's best Water-melon seed in 25 hills next the house, the other hills W.Madison's sort. Muskmelon seed from Caroline & Com'n Cucumber seed round the whole9, I went with my father to Court house, he got his horse shod- & bought 250, 8d nails & some Coffee at Lee's- G.T. paid for the Coffee- we returned to dinner-A son of W.Pollock's came to get didimus to take Joseph Chandler's Dep'n in suit Pollock vs Thomas's Exor's. I promised to give R't Taylor Att'o for Deft notice to meet at Chandler's the 21st instant10, Rained before day and in the morning, cloudy all day but not much rain.[Sunday] 11, I went to Office and made out business in R.Taylor's Memo. walked to Rob't Taylor's & gave him notice that Depo' in suit Pollock vs Thomas's Exors. I returned to Dinner. Issued Write Anth'o Garton vs John Groom- planted Cabbages in Garden. 12, Moses Perry sent some Bacon, 5 ps of B.Barrow to exchange & got 4 ps weighing as much- Had Irish Potatoes & Indian peas planted- Rich'd Barbour (of Cul'pr) came after dinner & I gave him the Business for Sherrif- J.Taylor returned from Culpeper. I went over & gave him acco't of the business done in his absence &c. 13, A sheep died last night- we had a small shoat killed- Maj'r Moore, Capt Burnley & J.Taylor dined here- C.Taylor was here but a man came and went away with him before dinner- A very good rain at night with a little thunder14, Foggy cloudy morning, but cleared fine day- After dinner I went to J.Taylor's- Reu Taylor came there, wanted to borrow a lock to put to his meat house. Richard Taylor lent him his padlock15, Reuben Taylor came & returned the lock he borrowed yesterday & got one of G.Taylor's, he returned before dinner. Cloudy and small rain in evening. I killed a Large Night Hawk- Ben Porter came w'th boys from School ab't noon & Dicky went home with him. 16, Great rain last night w'th some thunder & lightning- Clear day- Colby & I went down the run, but it was very muddy, the fish would not bite. Replanted Cucumbers round the peas & Watermelons about the Cherry stump. 17, [Sunday] Bees swarmed No.1. Went with my father & Colby Taylor to J.Taylor's to dinner C.Taylor & A.Madison there- Maj'r Madison says Tob'o is 14/- pr hundred at Fredericksburg. G.Taylor let me have Two Notes on Royston's No 728 Nt. 1217 & No. [?]29 Nt 1249 1518, G.Taylor rode before breakfast to H.Taylor's. M.Perry was here & said as plants were like to be scarce he thought it would be a good way to plant Corn in Ground next the house- G.T. brought 3 Lemons from H.Taylor's. Uncle Taylor, Bro'r James & his son dined here, we had a bowl of Punch, there was a little rain in the evening- J.Taylor pd me 5 guineas £7- we had a small shoat killed- Youngest Turkeys hatched19, Planted Corn in the ground towards road- I was very unwell- took some Rhubarb- very cool, some drops of rain- Reuben Taylor came in evening. I gave him a Wheel to make Barrow- M.Perry had peas to plant- I paid him 3/- for 1 lb. stocking yarn his wife had spun. 20, Very good rain last night & this morning & cloudy about 12 o'clock. B.Porter jr came from school with the boys last night & went home this evening- the boys did not go to school- After dinner H.Taylor & his bro'r James came here. Hubbard said his waggon will set off tomorrow to Fredericksburg. Bro'r James & his son James came here & Mr. Fisher came to see bro'r James ab't business, he had just gone & Mr.Fisher returnedFrom the TAYLOR DIARY, #1907-z in the Southern Historical Collection, University of North Carolina Library, Chapel Hill. FOR REFERENCE ONLY: PERMISSION TO PUBLISH MUST BE REQUESTED. WARNING: MOST MANUSCRIPTS ARE PROTECTED BY COPYRIGHT.

Last edit over 3 years ago by michellezitney
127
Needs Review

[123] 9 DIARY OF FRANCIS TAYLOR, 1789. 1789, April, 23, I went out before breakfast & killed a squirrel. Capt. Dade's Miller sent 30 arp to-day and one yesterday. My. father sent him bottle brandy. My father rode to Mr. Shepherd's and borrowed a tap borer. Capt Burnley had been to C.Taylor's to spay some hogs, called and dined here. G.C.T. went home with him. Some rain in evening Sent wheat to Mill. 24, Good deal of rain, thunder & lightning last night. Clear to-day and cool. Hub'd Taylor came here going to C.Taylor's. My father & I went there to dinner. John Taylor also dined there. Took up white Irish potatoes. 25, Went with my father, Richard & Colby Taylor went to Uncle Taylor's. James Taylor, Ch's Taylor, Hub Taylor & John Taylor dined there- Rob't Taylor was not there, his children both unwell. G.C.T. returned from Capt Burnley's & J.Taylor jr. with him26, J.Taylor jr went home after breakfast. I went with my father, G.C.T. and nephews to Hub Taylors; Uncle Taylor, Aunt Taylor, John, Robert & Jenny Taylor dined there- weather cold and a few drops of rain. Some places frost.-[Sunday]27, Our family all went to the Election, which stood at the close: for Burnley 329; Davis 176; Johnson, 161; Merry, 100. Ab'm Davis's wife brought a keg with 3 gallons vinegar for which I paid her 3/9 & 3 [?] for bringing up. To empty keg & carry to May Court. 28, Went with my father to Court. Maj'r Moore & Reu Taylor came by & went with us. G.C.T. went to C.Taylor's-Saw P.Merry at Court who promised to discharge his hand, but did not. weather continues very cold. 29, G.C.Taylor set off to Caroline &c. lent him my bags. Sowed a few peas, beans, & 12 grains forward corn. 30, Moses Perry burnt with cornstalks a patch to sow seeds by old plant patch. G.Taylor went with Rob't Taylor and dined there- I was very unwell and staid at homeMay, 1, Sowed good Cabbage seed, Onion & Lettuce seeds in the new plant patch. Planted in the pen below the Cherry Stump next the pasture, W.Madison's sort Watermelon seed, in the hills above the stump Col.A.Thornton's sort. One row of Cucumbers from Caroline between and round. planted the hills above peach tree with my sort red pulp and white seed, common cucumbers round. Sowed Colwarts, parsley & lettuce & white mustard where Caslows house stood, planted five hills there with Dodds Cucumber & Muskmelon seeds, the latter from Caroline some planted in the bed. Capt Burnley breakfasted here to-day. 2. J.Taylor brought some precepts & papers & key of the office and left with me: said he & family were setting off to Culpeper. Uncle Taylor & Hubbard Taylor dined here the latter brought a fine dish of Asparagus. Capt Burnley here about sun-set- said Col.E.Pendleton jr passed by as be came here, with one of his young sons. Mr. Goodlett kept school till afternoon. 3, [Sunday] Warm, dry weather. G.Taylor went to Rob't Taylor's and dined- Col.E.Pendleton jr was there. My nephews and self dined at home. 4, C.Taylor, his wife & Miss M.Conway went to Col'o Madison's to see Mrs Madison, who is sick, lent G.Taylor my horse-Reu Taylor came here early, got 10 Gallons Molasses & 11 lbs Rice of my father & paid him for it- 5 Gall's Molasses measured for G.Taylor in 2 jugs- Merry Walker got a write & left mem'dm. Issued an Ex'n Zach Lucas vs Benj'a Harney for 21£ + 80 lb Tob'o 15/- & 1/6- & del'd John Fergusen. A little rain at night. 5, Two Turkeys hatched 26 young- Weather warm & dry for four last days. C.Taylor walked over & borrowed an Int Warrant No.909 £4.15.11. 6, Hubbard & Reuben Taylor called here, *G.Taylor and I went with them to Mr.Thurston's Funeral at Col.Taliaferro's. Mr. Waddill preached in the hose and Mr, Tatum at the grave. There were between 30 & 40 persons present, who all dined there. [This man died 16th March. It seems to have been the custom to hold funeral services and go to the grave weeks after the body had been buried or placed in the grave-WKA]-From the TAYLOR DIARY, #1907-z in the Southern Historical Collection, University of North Carolina Library, Chapel Hill. FOR REFERENCE ONLY: PERMISSION TO PUBLISH MUST BE REQUESTED. WARNING: MOST MANUSCRIPTS ARE PROTECTED BY COPYRIGHT.

Last edit over 3 years ago by michellezitney
114
Needs Review

[110] 23 DIARY OF FRANCIS TAYLOR, 1788, 1788, November, 17, Had Greens set in Potatoe patch. Cloudy & misty weather- After dinner Jos Hawkins & Geo Porter came here to get the debates of Convention- they had been at J.Taylor's & his wife sent them here, as it was lent to me I let them have it-Finished paling all but the Gates. 18, J.Taylor came over soon in the morning ot see Jos Clark who went rolling and had passed before J.T. got here- He said he heard Mr.Gordon had lost his reason-he re'd before breakfast-Weather foggy but no rain-Frank got Mrs Burnley to cut him out a coat. 19, Had toothach bad last night-my face swelled to-day- weather warm. C.Taylor got home from Caroline this morning-I went there to dinner-J.Taylor, his wife & children there- Davy finished shoemaking. 20, Foggy until noon- I borrowed C.Taylor's bay mare & went to a Sale of R.Martin's Estate- Mr Shepherd, Maj'r Lee & J.Taylor in company from Court house-the last with Col.Madison, W Madison, Rob't Wilson & C.Taylor dined at Maj'r Madisons- Maj'r Lee, C.Taylor & myself staid next morning to Breakfast21, Got to Court house & waited a while for C.Taylor who had gone to visit Mr W.Beale-Got home to dinner-This day foggy like yesterday, and warm clear evening-G.T. borrowed Sledge to bring his goods from Maj'r Lees- they were bro't from Fredericksburg &c. 22, Fine warm weather, morning foggy or smoky- I went to J.Taylor's- Ben Gaines was there and said his father was very ill- he went to C.Taylor's- J.Taylor's wife went to see Mr.Gaines-I helped about the Docket & dined with J.Taylor. 23, [Sunday] Rained small before day-continued rainy all day, some heavy showers with distant thunder & warm. J.Taylor borrowed a little bason of Coffee & sent his newspaper- I dined alone- ret'd the Coffee in Dec'r- H.Taylor's waggon, from Redstone, went home last night24, Cloudy wet morning, cleared about 10 o'clock, warm- I went to Court, saw Mr.James Blair who informed me he left my father at M Robinson's (this side of Fredericksburg) yesterday morning, very unwell. I could hear no more of him & fear he is still ill- or he would have come home to-day- Tay'r Jones brought up & left here some Linen, Cotton &c for G.Taylor- Geo Shepherd got home yesterday from Georgia- He looks badly- had been at H.Bell's in South Carolina, where he was sick- 25, Clouded in the night, rained and turned cold-Rain & Snowed in the morning & a little all day- About 12 o'clock I went to Court house-could hear nothing from my father. Geo.C.Taylor got there and borrowed a mare from J.Taylors and set off to Capt Conways, in th evening, on his way to see my father- I lent him 7/6- ret'd 6/- the 28th. Heard that James Gaines died this morning 26, Rained all night, cold and freezing- Great Sleet this morning, much ice on the trees, grass &c- continued to rain and dark all day- turned warmer ab't noon and the ice fell from trees &c- Capt Burnley, after dinner, brought home some Shirts Mrs Burnley made for me27, Cloudy foggy morning, cleared by middle of the day and fine evening. I went about 10 o'clock to Court, could hear nothing further about my father. I paid 1/3 to Mr. Head, who lives with Capt Burton, for a pair of Glass Salts he sent me by Joel Stodghill to-day. 28, Cloudy morning, misty evening, but not very cold- My father and G.C.Taylor got home at noon. My father (Col.George Taylor, then 77 yrs. 9 mos old-WKA) says he is better of his complaint, but has still a difficulty of making water. He continued at Michael Robinson's from Sunday morning till yesterday, when he came to Capt. Conway's- G.C.Taylor met him about the *Wilderness, with Capt Conway's Carriage and he got to his house last night- C.Taylor called here as he came from Court & gave some [Gum?] Arabic & Nitre for G.Taylor to take[* "The Wilderness," so-called at that day is where the bloody battle of that [home?] was fought May 5-7, 1864. It is still a wilderness of Scrub-Oak.PFT] From the TAYLOR DIARY, 1907-z in the Southern Historical Collection, University of North Carolina Library, Chapel Hill. FOR REFERENCE ONLY: PERMISSION TO PUBLISH MUST BE REQUESTED. WARNING: MOST MANUSCRIPTS ARE PROTECTED BY COPYRIGHT.

Last edit over 3 years ago by michellezitney
111
Needs Review

[101] 20 DIARY OF FRANCIS TAYLOR, 1788, 1788, October, 7, Rained all night, J.Taylor jr went home after breakfast, his father and he came and dined here. W.Taylor & F.Conway jr came here in evening from Capt Conway's 8, My father, G.C.Taylor, W.Taylor, F.Conway jr & myself went to J.Taylor's to dinner. G.C.Taylor, W.T. & F.C. jr, went after dinner to C.Taylor's - Hubbard Taylor went to Caroline- same day his wife delivered of a *son before he set out. [*The son of Hubbard and Clarissa (Minor) Taylor born this day was the eldest son, Hubbard Taylor, who married, 1814, Mary Ann Taylor Arnold, daughter of Thomas and Susannah (Taylor) Arnold. -PFT] 9, Walked with my father to School house where several persons attended, about making a School up for next year- Uncle E.Taylor, J.Taylor, John Taylor and Capt Burnley came and Dined here, we had a Bowl of Punch. 10, G.C.Taylor & W.Taylor & F.Conway came after breakfast from C.Taylor's- We went to singing at Church. G.C. Taylor & W.T. went to Reu Taylor's, dined & returned F.Conway went to Col Madison's11, I went to Court house, saw *Phil Taylor moving to Kentucky, his wife with him & unwell- did not see her. C.Taylor was there & we went to Church & home to dinner- Geo Porter & Jas Bell dined here- G.Taylor sent for to see a sick child of H.Taylor's & went there- the young man went to Court house after dinner. G.Porter came home with G.C.Taylor & W.Taylor- [*probably a descendant of John Taylor, son of James the emigrant-WKA] *[This was Rev.Philip Taylor, born Jan.15, 1765, d.1856, m.March 18, 1788, Elizabeth Poor b.1761, d.Mar 17, 1845. He was son of Maj.Francis and Ann ([Graddock?]) Taylor, and grandson of James Taylor III., and Alice (Thornton) Catlett the latter(James III.) being brother of Col.George Taylor. Rev.Philip Taylor was one of the Pioneer preachers of the Methodist Church in Kentucky.-PFT] 12, [Sunday] We all went to Church, The Congregation more numerous than I have seen there for several years. Mr.Reader stood Clerk and we had better singing than usual. G.Taylor & myself only came home to dinner. At Church Capt Wood returned my Interest warrants which he carried to Richmond & had Registered for me some time ago13, G.C.Taylor, W, Taylor, Jas Bell & F.Conway jr came here after breakfast-went to J.Taylor's and came back at night. 14, After breakfast J.Bell went away- Tho's Barbour, Ja's Bowie Pendleton & J.Taylor jr came here to dinner & went immediately after to Court house to play at Fives- G.C. & W.Taylor & F.Conway jr came back at night. 15, Wm Taylor set off for Betetourt- intends to his uncles & went away at same time- G.Taylor & myself went to Court house- Dooling took my measure & got Cloth & trimmings to make me a Coat. I bought [Shallon?] Buckram &c at Lees, am't 5/6- G.T. & I came to Uncle Taylor's & dined. Capt & Mrs Burnley there. 16, G.Taylor sent & borrowed a Cask of Uncle Taylor to put Cyder in- had a head hoop put on it- I got a basket of Walnuts in hulls from Uncle Taylors- Capt Burnley came here about 12 o'clock & said he had sent a Hnd Tob'o by Lewis which had got out of order at the Wilderness, where it was left- and requested that I would lend money to get it to Fredericksburg. I lent him four dollars which he promised to repay at our next Court- He said he intends to set off this day & went away before dinner. 16, I rode to Court house, carried a bag & dollar & left with Mr.Shepherd for Griffy to buy Sugar for G.Taylor. G.C.Taylor came from Col.Burnleys & home to dinner, after dinner I walked to J.Taylor's- his son Harry very sick since the 12th instant- Col.Barbour got there from Fred'g & set out home in evening*Hubbard Taylor's Waggon set off for Redstone. G.Taylor sent a Negro girl, Doll, for WmTaylor [His son in Ky.-WKA] a Midling Bacon & bread for her provision &c. Jno' Leathers went with Waggon. Got Cask Cyder Beat of White Apple. *[Hubbard Taylor, son of Col.James and Ann (Hubbard) Taylor, b.Aug.4, 1761, d.1845; m. July 27, 1782, Clarissa Minor, daughter of Col.Thomas Minor. They left a large family. He moved to Clark Co. Ky at his place "Spring Hill." He was elder brother of Gen'l James Taylor, of Newport, Ky. -PFT] From the TAYLOR DIARY, #1907-z in the Southern Historical Collection, University of North Carolina Library, Chapel Hill. FOR REFERENCE ONLY: PERMISSION TO PUBLISH MUST BE REQUESTED. WARNING: MOST MANUSCRIPTS ARE PROTECTED BY COPYRIGHT.

Last edit over 3 years ago by michellezitney
108
Needs Review

[104] 17 DIARY OF FRANCIS TAYLOR, 1788, 1788, August, 26, Rained a little in morning- went again to Court-fine evening. Got Jo Griffy to carry a hat to Fred'g to get dressed &c. 27, Weather Clear- went to Court, w'ch adjourned to Court in course. returned in evening with G.Taylor by Uncle Taylor's & dined a little before Sunset- We walked to-day. 28, Moses went to getting more pales for yard- he has been Getting rails for several days- Prettyman Merry sent by his overseer Thomason £21.2.0 (vizt. 8 half-Joes & 1 Dble pistole weighing 79 Penny w't 3 Grains) in part pay for his bond to G.Taylor, for which I sent a Rec't & give him Cr. on bond- I give G.Taylor Credit for £20.0.7 1/2 as I returned Mr.Merry a bad 1/2 Dollar, which I say is 1/4 1/2 29, Went with G.T. to Col.Madison's-Maj'r Hite & family & Mr.F.Madison dined there- the last went home. 30, Staid at Col.Madison till evening & returned home- Maj'r Hite, A.Madison & familys at Col.Madison's. 31, [Sunday] Cloudy morning, began to rain about 9 o'clock, which prevented our going to Church. I walked after din'r to Uncle Taylor's and left my watch & 4 Qrs of Dollar for Aunt Taylor to carry to Winchester to get put in order. J.Taylor was there- John & Rob Taylor & their familys. September, 1, Cloudy morning & a little rain. Hub'd Taylor was here to breakfast & asked my father to let him have peaches between fences on Mountain, which he is to have. Sent George by J.Taylors for 3 Bus' Wheat to go to mill, he brought Flour home John & Robert Taylor set out in the Waggon to Spots'a Court, their wives dined at J.Taylor's-John Thomas Sr, J.Pendleton, Thos Barbour & families, G.Taylor & F.T. dined there. Cloudy all day, a little rain in evening. 2, Fine clear day. Had some Tarts & peach pies baked, the first since being here. J.Clark Cutting Tob'o, here & breakfasted. G.Taylor rode down with him about noon. [Nad?] Turney seed sown in Tob'o ground by Potatoe patch- killed 2 Squirrels in evening. 3, Killed 2 Squirrles this morning. Saw Aurora borealis last night- there were four successive nights last week the Aurorra appeared. Very fine weather. Bull put with cows- Went to Unlcle Taylor's, Aunt Taylor & Cousin Jenny setting out to Winchester. Miss N'y Bell to go with them- James Taylor & family, J.Pendleton & do. T.Barbour's wife & G.Taylor dined there. 4, I took a dose Salts. Went with G.Taylor to Hub'd Taylor's, Who with Maj'r Moore & C.Conway had been taking Depositions about the insanity of Daniel James- J.Taylor & family, Reu Taylor & do. J.Pendleton do. Tho' Barbour do. Maj'r Moore do. Miss Throckmorton, dined there. 5, Dug Sweet Potatoes. I was taken with a very Cold Chill last night & have high fever all day with Soreness & headach- took 11 grains Ipecac in morning, did not vomit- Afternoon 25 Grains. Heard Whip poor Will cry at night. 6 Rode to Court house with G.T., from thence to Mr.T.Bell's & dined. J.Taylor & family, Eliz Pendleton, Maj'r Lee, Mrs Burnley & Miss Polly Burnley dined there- Cloudy evening7, [Sunday] Rainy morning & rained most of last night, moderately. 8, Rainy night. J.Taylor was here in morning, had rec'd a letter from W.[Taylor?] [in Ky.WKA.] my father another. bro'r William wrote that he had a daughter born last March- that he was much in want of a Negro girl & some money my father had promised him- Thunder and heavy rain in evening- Capt Burnley & T.Barbour were in the woods and came here very wet. Sent letter to +B.Taylor about Land- also 6/- pr J.Griffy, to pay for dressing a hat. [*Elizabeth, daughter of Maj'r William Taylor, marriedSept.20, 1894: Dr.Francis Taylor, b.1782; son of Jonathan & Ann(Berry) Taylor- niece & nephew of diarist. +Benjamin Taylor, brother of the diarist.-PFT] From the TAYLOR DIARY, #1907-z in the Southern Historical Colleciton, University of North Carolina Library, Chapel Hill. FOR REFERENCE ONLY: PERMISSION TO PUBLISH MUST BE REQUESTED. WARNING: MOST MANUSCRIPTS ARE PROTECTED BY COPYRIGHT.

Last edit over 3 years ago by michellezitney
107
Needs Review

[103] 16 DIARY OF FRANCIS TAYLOR, 1788, 1788, August, 12, Moses finished railing in the Garden & began paling- I killed a pidgeon by Mountain Spring. J.Taylor & children here in evening & got Ind'n Plums. 13, Fair weather. Capt Burnley called where I was getting parsley seed, but did not come to the house- Moses (Sam Daniel) brought here sick, I think of the pleurisy- Got J.Clark to bleed him. 14, Moses (S.Daniel) continues very ill, I gave him 25 Grain Ipecac, but understand it operated downwards. Also gave Milley the same quantity for vomit, I gave her last Monday a dose of salts-she has complained of a pain in the head for about a week- J.Taylor & JosClark were here to look at Moses, the former thinks he ought not to be vomited- Several Showers early in the day & ab't 10 o'clock in the evening15, Moses continues sick- Milly has got well- Rainy in Showers All day- there has been no thunder, rather cool16, Rained in the night & showery till evening- I walked to J.Taylors- dined there- Rob't Taylor & family there- afraid of their children getting the Quinsey, which they suppose John Glassel has, who is at Uncle Taylor's- I walked with R.T. to Uncle Taylor's- Mr. & Mrs Glassel there with their son-who is not very ill- Capt & Mrs Burnley were also there- they went home17, [Sunday] I dined at J.Taylor's-Rob't Taylor &c there- I bought some Grass seed of Col Taliaferro's Jack for pr breeches. Cloudy day, a little rain in the evening. 18, Rainy night and very rainy day. S.Daniel continues very ill- 19, Wet night- showery fine rain- S.Daniel better- T.Mallory & son came to set up Hogsheads, I weighed 1 gammon, 1 Shoulder & 2 Midlings 40 1/2 lb bacon and sent to J.Clarks for their provision, pr Jack. Cleared about noon, which is agreeable after much wet &c. I gave a vomit to Davy this morning- he has complained of a Lax for several days- I killed 2 Fox Squirrels- J Clark Cut a good deal of Tobacco, very littl ebefore, he dined here. 20, Reuben Taylor walked here after breakfast did not stay long- I killed 2 grey Squirrels- I rode after dinner to Court house. A man in goal for murder. Bought for G.Taylor at Lee's, four Butcher knives at 9d. to cut Tob'o with. bo't for self 2 Lemons of Hansford 7 1/2 & pd 3 [?] for mending shoe. Cutting Tobacco in New ground- in old yesterday. Saw J.Pendleton at Court house, he came with his family to J.Taylor's to day from Culpeper. Weather Clear & warm. Night Hawk killed 1 old & 1 young Turkey last night. 21, I killed 1 Squirrel- Set Moses to getting rails for Yard & c. I hear C.Taylor got 22, home from Caroline last night, sent for him but he was gone from home- C.Dickinson came here to take account of work done and measured plastering &c- J.Taylor came by from Hub Taylor's who told him G.Taylor would be up next Sunday- he asked me to dine ith him- J.Pendleton & family & J.B. Pendleton were there. Young Quissenbery came to get overseers place, and mentioned one Cooper, who is a married man- Weather continues clear and warm. 23, Capt Conway, F.Conway jr- came with C.Taylor, and Reuben Taylor came by and brought some [Timothy?] seed. We went to Called Court on Trial of James Scott for the murder of one of James Johnson-said Scott was ordered for further trial to be sent to Richmond- Tho's Brightwell was tried as an accessory & acquitted. H.Taylor ret'd 30/- he borrowed last month. 24, [Sunday] I went to J.Taylor's to dinner, T.Barbour & wife got there from his father's. J.Pendleton & family & J.B.Pendleton there- Thunder & some heavy rain. My father got home from Caroline in evening. 25, Went with G.Taylor to Court- saw P.Merry who promised to pay off his bond next week. Maj'r Hite, Mrs Hite & child got to Court house in evening and proceeded to Col'o Madison's- Came home to dinner late- fine weather. [Maj'r Isaac Hite, of "Belle Grove, Frederick Co.Va., son of Jost Hite, married Dec.31, 1782, Nelly Madison, b.Feb.14, 1760, daughter of Col.James and Eleanor Rose (Conway) Madison, and sister of President James Madison. PFT] From the TAYLOR DIARY, #1907-z in the Southern Historical Collection, University of North Carolina Library, Chapel Hill. FOR REFERENCE ONLY: PERMISSION TO PUBLISH MUST BE REQUESTED. WARNING: MOST MANUSCRIPTS ARE PROTECTED BY COPYRIGHT.

Last edit over 3 years ago by michellezitney
85
Needs Review

[81] 19 DIARY OF FRANCIS TAYLOR, 1787, 1787, November, 4, [Sunday] Went to Church, Mr. Waddill preached and gave notice that he should alter the day & preach there again next Sunday. After service went to J.Taylors to dinner. Del'd Sheos to some of the negroes. 5, Spence Mozingo putting up logs of Stable. Fine weather. 6, Spence Mozingo about Stable, put'g Logs & Hewing. Mr.Ingram came to see my father, he & J.Clark breakfasted here. C.Taylor bor'd ab't 2 lb Soap 7, S.M. Howing Stable, E.Spencer & Jos Woolfolk were here, the former got licen to marry. Bro'r James & Capt Burnley were here early this morning but did not stay to breakfast. G.Taylor got home in evening. 8, Rained a little this morning, Jos Clark was here to breakfast- G.Tay.or & self went to Col.Spencer's to his son's wedding, married to a Miss Wollfolk. There was a numerous company & an agreeable entertainment. Cloudy day but very little rain, S.Mozingo got laths & about Stable. 9, Heard the wolves howl below Capt Burnleys last night- Peter drew in slabs &c for the Stable, G.Taylor dined at C.Taylors. Davy finished Shoemaking, 20 pair. 10, Raised roof of Stable, G.Taylor went to Ja's Taylors & his family being gone to Mr.E Taylor's he went there to dinner, I went also, Thunder & a little rain in evening. I had a chill and afterwards a very high fever which cont'd with headach all night11, [Sunday] Still high fever & so unwell did not go to Church. G.T. went to Church 12, In better health, but still feverish, S Mozingo at Capt Burnleys & Moses with him. Took up & put in ia hole, about 5 bus Turneps. 13, Cov'd Turneps with bushes, fine weather. I rode to Hansfords in evening. S.Mozingo Covering Stable. 14, G.T. went to Lees Store & bo't 500, 10d Nails. Finished Cov'g Stable. Sawed the doors. Dark, cloudy & misty weather, good Even'g15, Cloudy & a good deal of rain, warm. S.Mozingo about Stable doors, &c, J.Taylor, C.Taylor, J.Pendleton & Jno Bell Spent the day here. 16, Rainy & warm, I went with G.Taylor & dined at J.Taylor's with only his own family &c. 17, Cleared last night & fine weather. Went with G.Taylor to Court house, bought some articles & paid for at Lees, G.T. dined at Alcocks, Met Rob't Taylor & wife going home. 18, [Sunday] G.Taylor & self went to Uncle Taylor, Aunt Taylor at Capt Burnley's J.Taylor, C.Taylor & H'd Taylor dined there. Capt Burnley & Mr.T.Bell came after dinner. Rob Taylor & wife at home19, Fine morning, Cloudy & a little rain after. S.Mozingo hot here. Moses ab't Rocks &c. Sent to Hd Taylors for a Cask he promised to lend to send for Cyder at ColBarbour's but nobody being at home was disappointed. Jos Clark's wife got 7 lbs Wool, the last. 20, Killed a black cow. G.T. gave a hind quarter to Jos Clark. cloudy dark day. 21, Fine day after a very windy night with Thunder, lightning & rain. Bro'r James came here as we were going to Court house, he gave me a writ against Col Burnley w'ch I delivered to Mr. Shepherd. There were some cotton & other things at Shepherds for G.Taylor, brought up by his waggon. 22, Spence Mozingo was here settled his acco't with G.Taylor, bal'ce due Mozingo 16/10 to this date. got the things from Shepherds. 23, Cool cloudy morning, good afternoon. 24, Went with G.Taylor to the store after dinner. 25, Dined with G.T. at C.Taylors, came home by J.Taylors. 26, Negroes went off with 2 Hnds Tobacco. Went with G.Taylor to Court. Reu Taylor paid me £5.15.0 the balance for money lent. Desired Capt Walker not to saw any more paling than now is sawed for G.Taylor, & spoke to Capt Herndon for Pine to Rive paling. Col.Spencer informed me that Mrs George would take 2/6 per lb for 40 lb feathers w'ch I agreed to buy if new [an?] good. From the TAYLOR DIARY, #1907-z in the Southern Historical Collection, University of North Carolina Library, Chapel Hill. FOR REFERENCE ONLY: PERMISSION TO PUBLISH MUST BE REQUESTED. WARNING: MOST MANUSCRIPTS ARE PROTECTED BY COPYRIGHT.

Last edit over 3 years ago by michellezitney
Displaying pages 101 - 110 of 120 in total