Francis Taylor Diary

Pages That Need Review

Diary, 1786-1799

241
Needs Review

13[235] DIARY OF FRANCIS TAYLOR, 1794, 1794, June, 17, Very warm hazy morning-Heavy rain w'th wind and little hail in evening- I rode to Court house-had my mare Shod-Gave L.Throckmorton a pair fine stockings & 3/6 for 2 pair coarser. After dinner carried Linen to C.Taylor's to get four Shirts made- Rain fell whilst I was there. Wind blew down a Cherry tree by the kitchen. C.Taylor began to cut his forward wheat. 18, Warm & hazy- a little rain in evening. I walked to the Corn field by Overseer's it was much washed by the rain which fell yesterday. I walked round C.Taylor's plantation & returned to dinner- Hived a swarm of Bees in the Short gum Slab head. 19, Warm with clouds- a few drops rain. Rec'd a letter from J.Finney bro't by Capt H.Lee. In eveningI walked to J.Taylor's, John and J.Bowie Pendleton got there from Culp'r to day. 20, A few drops rain & cloudy morning, a little rain at night. I went to J.Taylor's. J.Pendleton & Family, T.Barbour's family, J.B.Pendleton, Joanna Pendleton, Mrs Burnley,C.Taylor and Mr.D.Hening dined there. 21, Cloudy and cool a little rain. I staid at home Expecting Triplest's waggon for my wheat- it did not come- M.Biggers rode my young mare to Louisa. Sowed turnep seed by Water melon patch 22, Sunday, Rained a little last night, cool morning, clear day. I went to a meeting near Mrs James's- Mr Morris & Mr Garnett preached long discourses to a midling numerous audience. I came to J.Taylor's to dinner. Uncle & Aunt Taylor,C.P. Howard, John Moore & Sisters, Sally Taylor, Rich'd Barbour(Culp'r), Thos Barbour & family, J.Pendleton's family & Joanna Pendleton dined there. Mr Oxley came in evening with his Stage wagon to carry J.Pendleton's family over. J.Pendleton had gone in the morning to stop it(one of his children sick) but missed seeing it-*H.Daingerfield came to J.Taylor's after dinner and home with me from there [Related to Diarist through the Battailles-WKA] 23, Cloudy morning, small rain afterwards. H.Daingerfield & I went to Court. Capt J. Davis paid me Col T. Barbour's bond for 1,200 lb. To J.Shifflett w'ch I gave Credit to Shiflett for on his bond to Col.Jas Taylor. I collected nothing tho' Edwards had told me he expected to pay $150. Mr.J.Blair gave me a Copy of my account. Col.Madison got to Court returning home from Philadelphia. 24, Rained last night & close rainy morning, cloudy evening & small rain. Wm Walker came here, aid me for E.Chew's Attach't vs James Coleman $11.10.0 & 2/5 cost of Execution. After dinner he went down the County. Daniel Triplett's Tom came with wagon and Received by our measure 42 Bus. Wheat, half a Bus. Weighed by my Steelyards 29 1/2 lb 25, Cloudy morning,which prevented from beginning to Cut Wheat, showery evening. D.Triplett's Tom staid here last night & early this morning proceeded with his waggon &c. Mrs.James came here & beakfasted & enquired if my money had been paid me for her account at Court- There had not. Ben Porter jr was here and took Sheridan's Dictionary, w'ch G.C.Taylor has borrowed of his father- Charles Bell & Billy Wood were with him. I planted some Indian Peas in the middle border which Harry Daingerfield gave me, also some Foward peas in other borders- Cucumber & Water melon seeds.J.Taylor & C. Taylor cut wheat to day. 26, Rained last night-and till about 10 o'clock to day when the Sun shone & fine afternoon. Began to cut Wheat about 11 o'clock, in the field towards the road, the wheat very bad. John Leathers was here, gave him Turnep seed. 27 A little rain about daylight, cloudy morning and day without rain. Cutting wheat in Mountain field the Wheat better than in Lower field- Afternoon cocked part of Wheat cut yesterday. I rode to Court house to hear if T.Barbour had whiskey it had not arrived.I walked over to J.Taylor's after dinner-saw him, his family were gone to Uncle Taylor's 28, A little rain about daylight,cloudy morning and day, without rain. Cutting Wheat in Mountain field and cocked what was cut yesterday. I rode to Court house & returned to dinner.

From the TAYLOR DIARY, #1907-z in the Southern Historical Collection, University of North Carolina Library, Chapel Hill. FOR REFERENCE ONLY: PERMISSION TO PUBLISH MUST BE REQUESTED. WARNING: MOST MANUSCRIPTS ARE PROTECTED BY COPYRIGHT.

Last edit about 4 years ago by maxineh
242
Needs Review

14[236] DIARY OF FRANCIS TAYLOR, 1794, 1794 June, 29, Sunday, Rained a very little last night, cloudy morning. I went to C.Taylor's- J.Taylor & family, John Pendleton & do. dined there & E.Chew- Had Cucumber & Cimblings plenty at dinner. 30, Cloudy without rain. Sent and got 2 Gallons Whiskey of Jenkins- Finished cutting the old ground wheat in the Mountain field an cocked it.Had 3 Cucumbers & 2 Herrings sent me from C.Taylor's- They sent John in evening and I sent by him a pot of butter 15 or 16 lb. Killed a Ram-Sent M.Biggers hind Qr.

July, 1, Cloudy without rain. Cur and cocked wheat in lower field.J.Taylor jr came her, said he expected C.Taylor & family would dine at his father's. I went with him. Sally Taylor was there and said her father was very unwell,none of the family but her came- J. Pendleton's family, Joanna Pendleton & M.Chew were there. M.Biggers brought me a letter(from Mr.Shepher'd)-from F.S. Taylor & Newspapers 2, Cloudy & showery all day. Cutting wheat-got all the lower field cut, but too wet to cock. I walked after breakfast to see C.Taylor, who is very unwell,but better this morning than yesterday. I returned and dined at home. 3, Find day. Cut the New ground wheat, and cocked that cut yesterday. 4, Fine day- some clouds in morning & Shower(not much)in evening. Had Wheat cocked in New Ground w'ch is the last of the crop.I walked to Court house-paid Jenkins for Whiskey bought last Monday,also for 1/2 dozen knives & forks bought today Uncle Taylor was at the store- I called & dined at his house- Rob't Taylor dined thee and went to the Springs in evening- Had Flax pulled up. 5, Cloudy morning;very rainy evening & cool. J.Taylor dined with me;his family at Mrs Thomas's. Cucumbers begin to be plentiful. do Cimblings 6, [SUNDAY] Rained lat night-some rain in morning, cleared in even'g. After dinner I went to C.Taylor's who is much recovered. Maj'r Moore J. Taylor & Reu Taylor were there. 7, Hazy. I staid at home-walked out in evening.Saw Corn Silked & tarsled in Mrs Burnley's field. 8, A little shower of rain about midnight, rainbow from moon;cloudy all day. J.Taylor jun'r came here and I went with him to C.Taylor's- Fanny Moore,Nancy Taylor & Betsy Coleman(Srings) dined there. 9, Rained a little last night-smart shower this morning and cloudy,& heavy shower in evening. J.Taylor jr-he went back back before breakfast. Had a Hnd Corn removed into Corn house-only 7 Hnds left in Wheat house-Ab't 16 Bar'ls in all As I was stepping out of the Back porch I trod on the secon step which gave way and I fell through which gave my right ankle a severe strain. [* a son of Commodore Richard Taylor-WKA.] 10, Cloudy and some small rain. My ancle pained me so much that I could not sleep any last night attended with high fever- I can with difficulty walk with a stick, the pain abated to day,tho'much swelled & sore. Uncle Taylor dined here 11, Friday, Fog & some clouds-Shower in evening. My sprain continues bad,very little mended. M. Biggers & Davy making new steps,which they finished before noon 12, Some clouds, pleasant at Court house to day,but I was not well enough to go.cool evening13, Sunday, Shower in lat night-cloudy day without rain. I walked to J.Taylor's- James & Nancy from home. E Chew was there. 14, Fair Pleasant moring & good day. I went to J.Taylor's-Cha Taylor & family and Kitty Nooe dined there. Had the 2 Hhds Tob'o carried out to the road- Intending to Roll to morrow. 15, Foggy morning. No rain to day. M. Biggers with Jack & Little Peter, set out about sunrise to Roll Tob'o to Fredericksburg. I let M.Biggers have 6/- he said he wanted to buy leather- Davy & Him went to cutting the Oats. Had the Geese picked. Miss Kitty Nooe, Nancy, Sally &Betsy Taylor,were here about 2 hours in the evening.

From the TAYLOR DIARY, #1907-z in the Southern Historical Collection, University of North Carolina Library, Chapel Hill. FOR REFERENCE ONLY: ERMISSION TO PUBLISH MUST BE REQUESTED. WARNING: MOST MANUSCRIPTS ARE PROTECTED BY COPYRIGHT.

Last edit about 4 years ago by maxineh
243
Needs Review

15[237] DIARY OF FRANCIS TAYLOR, 1794, 1794 July, 16, Cloudy- a little rain. Davy & Jim out a little of the meadow. Had the Oats(only two cart loads) brought and Stacked by the Wheat yeard. ColA.Maury's nephew came here & got some Wild Carrot blossoms for Mrs. Maury. 17, Cloudy & a very little rain. M.Biggers got home from Rolling about sunrise-two bay mares much fatigued, says he paid 2/- for shoeing one of them. The Tob'o inspected & weighed 1206 & 1221 lb. Got a letter from M.J.Blair. I rode to Court house,gave Mr Shepherd aL'r from Mr J.Blair- M.Biggers brought.Reu Taylor was at the C.house, we came to J.Taylor's & dined- T. Barbour & family were there- their son James broke his arm the day before yesterday & they came on that acco't. J.Clark's wife & daughter Patsy, & E.Chew there. After dinner Wm Taylor sent and got a pot, 14 lb.butter, and to ask me to dinner. Wm Taylor, C.Taylor & family, Reu Taylor & do, T.Barbour's wife &c. Patsy Clarke & E.Chew dined there- Camp Porter,P.Sanford-Mr Coleman & B.Porter jr dined after & Robert Taylor there in evening. Had Turnep patch Sown by middle gate- Wm Taylor came with me at night- The weather warm & cloudy- a few drops of rain,cooler in evening. 19, Gave W.Taylor the Certificate for 86 1/2 dollars & 20 Dol's Indents Capt G.Rice drew for the hire of his negroes at Alb'e Barracks. Wam, some clouds- Wm Taylor & I went to C.Taylor's. J.Taylor, Reu Taylor, Rob't Taylor,Nancy Taylor & Patsy Clarke dined there- Finished cutting my Hay. W,Taylor staid at C.Taylor's J.Taylor paid me 10/6 for 14 lb butter. 20, Some flying clouds in the morging & very warm,cooler & some rain at night- I went to Reu Taylor's- J.Taylor,J.Taylor jr, T.Barbour jr- his bro'r Richard- Ch Taylor & daughters Sally & Betsy, & John Moore dined there. --[SUNDAY}-21, Pleasant morning and day- Killed aLamb,sent M. Biggers a quarter. J. Taylor,W.Taylor,C.Taylor,Reu Taylor,J.Taylor jr. Rich'd Barbour(Culp'r),John Moore & Thos Jenkins was here to day- C.Taylor was sent for & did not dine here- W.Taylor went to J.Taylor's. 22, Tuesday, Foggy,warm and some clouds,no rain. Wm Taylor set off from J.Taylor's to Caroline. I walked in evening to J.Taylor's.C Taylor was there- Gibson was sick. 23, Some fog. warm and dry. Began to draw my wheat to the yeard,some Wevil, M.B.says are in the cocks. 24, Some clouds, hazy. Continue drawing wheat from lower field. J.Taylor was here about an hour in the evening-said Gibson is better. 25, Rained a very little last night,good shower this morning. Showery fine season. 26, Rainy last night,cloudy morning.Much rain afternoon with distant thunder. I staid at home. 27, A little rain in morning, cloudy. I walked to J.Taylor's- T.Barbour jr & family & E Chew dined there- Doct'r Duke dined, came after we had done- T.Barbour jr paid me four dollars w'ch he rec'd at Madison Court from ______Towles for Bond due from Abs'm Ford- he gave Towles the bond. 28, A little fog- Fine morning,Warm day, hazy- I went to Court.Rec'd 27 dollars & 13 from Mr.D.Triplett for 38 & 25/60 Wheat at 4/3. Gave F.Cowherd two small acco't ag't A Madison dec'd for him to shew Mrs Madison. ColT.Barbour drew an order for Rob't Patton to pay Col James Tay or $11. towards payment of his bond assigned by John Shifflet- I told Col Barbour if the order was paid that it should settle the Tobacco 18/- p/r hundred. Recd a letter from Mess'rs Blairs offering me 20/- p/r C/t for my own Tob'o. Wrote by Mr Buck that they might have it &c. Finished drawing wheat from Pasture field & Turned Stock in. 29, Sunny, but very smoky. I sent the ltter to Mess'rs Blairs by M.Biggers who went to Shop with lame mare-& my colt, had the latter out for Lampers. Also esnt by M.Biggers 2 dollars which he says he paid to Geo.Swetman for repairing my old saddle- Drawing wheat yesterday from Mountain and Stacking in the yard- Sunned the Bacon 10 Gam's, 12 Sho' & 12 Midligns of home killed $- 5 Gam's & 3 Midlings wild. 1 old Gammon & 3 p/s beef on hand.

From the TAYLOR DIARY, #1907-z in the Southern Historical Collection, University of North Carolina Library, Chapel Hill. FOR REFERENCE ONLY: PERMISSION TO PUBLISH MUST BE REQUESTED. WARNING: MOST MANUSCRIPTS ARE PROTECED BY COPYRIGHT.

Last edit about 4 years ago by maxineh
244
Needs Review

16[239] DIARY OF FRANCIS TAYLOR, 1794, 1794, July, 30, Hazy & smoky. I rode to John Waugh's he promised to pay the money he owes on Monday next- A Jury was there to view the way for a road31, Warm & Smoky. Two young men from Caroline came here to seek a colt strayed when B.Taylor's horse did- They said one of Richard Taylor's*daughters died lately I wrote to Col James Taylor by one of them(Roach) & inclosed an order for $11. from Col.T.Barbour on Mr.Robert Patton- they breakfasted and went from here to William Scott's, where B.Taylor's horse was taken up. J.Taylor was here when the young men came- I rode to Court house, had my mare's shoes taken off and mailed on faster. J.Taylor was at Court house. I came by his house-and dined- Mrs James was there and J.Taylor director me to give her credit and charge him with$5. 13. 2 for Jas.Barbour Jr and 4. 10. 0. for Tho's Dooling10. 3. 2. Tho's Barbour's family & E.Chew at J. Taylor's- [* Elizabeth Taylor died July 27, 1794.

August, 1, Friday,John Taylor & his family arrived at this father's[Erasmus Taylor's-PFT] from Georgia. A little smoky-sunshine. I rode to the Springs at John Waugh's, drank about three pints bud did not perceive that it had much effect- I fished but only caught few. J.Waugh assured me I should be paid next Monday. Saw Wm. Edwards,who said Mr.F.Taliaferro assures him that he shall have money by 1st, September. Had a bed of Wheat Trod to day, the first. I returned in evening & dined on my fish. 2, Warm & fair. Had Wheat cleaned that was trod yesterday, one stack, M.B. said 3;7 1/2 Bushels. 3, Fair warm. Bought 1/2 doz chickens of H.Taliaferro's Frederick & paid him 4/6 for them & 13 he left last Monday. I went to J.Taylor's to dinner- J.Taylor jr had not returned from Springs- nobody but E Chew & their own family at home. T.barbour & family went home to day. --[SUNDAY]-4, Clear & very hot- a few drops rain in even'g. I sent Frank to Barbour's store for my keg, he brought it not full, says they told him the put 7 1/2 Gallons in it. I rode to the Springs and John Waugh's. he paid $13.6.0, the balance due on his bond to G.T's estate. There was a light shower at Waugh's and appeared as if a good rain on Chestnut Moun'n. I returned by Col Maury's & a eat dinner after they had dined- Wm Dade,Baldwin Taliaferro,Sally Taylor and Franky Edwards came to Col Maur's after I got there. Had Turnep seed & some Cabbage Seeds sown by Sheep pen.Mr Mooe called here in morning & gave me a letter from F.S.Taylor w'ch gave an account of the death of Rich'd Taylor's daughter Betsy the 27th ulto. 5, Very hot & dry. A Traveller named Doan called & staid about an hour, appeared in a low state of health. I walked to C.Taylor's in the evening and came by J.Taylor's- Hendrickson(F.Taliaferro's Miller) was getting a certificate of his behaviour. 6, Cloudy and a light rain from N.East in the morning, none after. There was a Subscription Barbecue at Nooe's. I did not go- my leg swelled & unwell. 7, Fair and cool. John Taylor came here before noon. I went with im to his father' his wife unwell with breaking out- Uncle Taylor not well- Mr. Howard and wife got home from Springs. J. Taylor & family & Lucy Barbour at Uncle Taylor's. 8, Hazy & smoky-cool. Treading wheat. Walked to C. Taylor's & returned before Noon. Went to borrow the wheat fan. C. Taylor was gone to Col Madison's to visit his attendant. 9, Cloudy morning, a little rain & cleared. John Taylor rode here in the morning and breakfasted, he thinks riding out good for his health,which is low- he retd before noon. He sent for a dose Jallap in evening-I sent & borrowed C.Taylor's Fan & run Wheat trod yesterday through. 10, Cloudy warm & a little rain. I rode to Uncle Taylor's- John Taylor & family, Mr Howard & wife were there. J.Taylor jr here in evening, about an hour. --[SUNDAY]--

From the TAYLOR DIARY, #1907-z in the Southern Historical Collection, University of North Carolina Library, Chapel Hill. FOR REFERENCE ONLY: PERMISSION TO PUBLISH MUST BE REQUESTED. WARNING: MOST MANUSCRIPTS ARE PROTECTED BY COPYRIGHT.

Last edit about 4 years ago by maxineh
245
Needs Review

17[239] DIARY OF FRANCIS TAYLOR, 1794, 1794, aUGUST, 11, Saw the Moon totally eclipsed about 2 o'clock this morning- Cloudy, some drops rain. Trod half a Stack Wheat. Walked to J.Taylor's in evening, he hurt his leg 12, very bad last night by a fall on his steps.*Thompson, *Richard & *Colby Taylor arrived here in the Evening from Caroline, Dicky very unwell. [ * Three sons of Commodore Richard Taylor-WKA] 13, J. Taylor sent to ask us over- We dined there, John Taylor & family, Mr. Howard & wife, Aunt Taylor & E.Chew there. Cool, some clouds, no rain. 14, Cloudy & cool. Treading wheat, got 19 1/2 Bus' only. J.Taylor jr came here to breakfast, Thompson went with him to Col.T.Barbour's & found his horse lost two days ago & returned here to dinner- C.Taylor came here to dinner & Reuben Cowherd. 15, Warm & dry, cloudy, a very little rain. C.Taylor sent to ask us there, Dicky was so unwell that he & I did not go,but took some Caster oil- Thompson & Colby went to C.Taylor's and did not return. Had ____Bus' Wheat (which was threshed at the barn) put in a Hhd in the Cellar. 16, Cloudy & rainy morging & till evening, a fine seasonable rain.T.Barbour jr & C.Taylor was here a little time-the former looked at my wool which he liked and I agreed to let him have 1/3 p/r lb.I suppose 74 lb, my steelyards makes. J.Taylor jr came here at night17, [SUNDAY] Foggy morning, moderate rain afternoon, warm. J.Taylor jr went home after breakfast- Dicky had a slight ague. I staid at home with the boys- Hill Maury came & gathered Wild Carrot seed for Col Maury's wife. M.Biggers sent & got a peck salt, by Suky18, Fine day. Flying clouds without rain- I sent 3 1/2 Bus Wheat to F.Taliaferro's Mill and had flour. Gave Richard Taylor a vomit of Ipecac,w'ch operated up & down. C. Taylor was here after breakfast, but soon returned home. I staid at home with the boys19, Hazy without rain. Began sowing Wheat to the East of the Barn beyond Overseer's Dicky not so ill as usual on his sick days,but laid up all after morning. I staid at home with the boys. 20, Cloudy morning & rainy day. Stayed at home with the boys. J.Taylor sent for Nails to make Driers, I sent him 50-gd Nails. Had Rams parted from Ewes. 21, Fog & clouds morn, fine day- Removed & Stack Wheat to Barn to thresh, M.Biggers says wevil in the Wheat. R'd Taylor jr missed his chilly fit. Reu Taylor & J.Taylor jr were here a little time in evening. 22, Some clouds, warm. C.Taylor came here from J.Taylor's- The boys and I went tohis house to dinner. Brother Richard & family arrived at my house in the Evening from Capt Minor's to day- Says he left brother William ill at ColJTaylor's and to send his carriage for him two or 3 days hence. That Ben Taylor had the ague & fever but not very bad.{ Wm Taylor was at this time home on a visit from Ky. v. July 17, 1794-WKA] 23, Cloudy but no rain. I sent to C.Taylor's & got 5 Bus' Early or Isbell's Wheat and had it sown on the left of path to Barn- Paid Charles Taylor 45/- for the Wheat in afternoon, being 9/- bus' Killed a Ewe lamb. C.Taylor & family- J. Taylor's wife & family and Reuben Taylor dined here. 24, Sunday, Began to rain Early, moderate & showery. I went with Richard Taylor & famiy to J.Taylor's. C.Taylor & family & Reu Taylor & do there. R.T. &c ret'd to my house. 25, Cloudy morning-some drops rain in evening. Richard Taylor sent his carriage for W.Taylor(who he expects is at Capt Minor's) Reu Taylor went with the carriage R.Taylor's family went to C.Taylor's, he & I went to Court- he went home with C.Taylor- Thompson & Dicky came to my house at night. Rec'd a letter from Mess Blair with $78.12.7 by hands of Mr.A.Sheapherd & gave rec't for same26, Tuesday, Rainbow abouta sunrise & very rainy morning. The boys & I Went to C.Taylors. N'd Taylor & family dined there. C.Taylor got home f'm Court soon after dinner. R'd Taylor walked here & set an hour- Wm Taylor got to C.Taylor's (from Capt Minor's) in evening. 27, Very fine day. I went to C.Taylor's- Wm Taylor weak but mending from his indisposition. Rd. Taylor & family(except the boys)staid there.

From the TAYLOR DIARY, #1907-z in the Southern Historical Collection, University of North Carolina Library, Chapel Hill. FOR REFERENCE ONLY: PERMISSION TO PUBLISH MUST BE REQUESTED. WARNING: MOST MANUSCRIPTS ARE PROTECTED BY COPYRIGHT.

Last edit about 4 years ago by maxineh
246
Needs Review

18[240] DIARY OF FRANCIS TAYLOR, 1794, 1794, August, 28, Fair, except a few clouds. Reu Taylor called here & went to Court house with Thompson Taylor, who got a horse shod.They came back before noon & dined here- R'd Taylor, C.Taylor, W.Taylor,& J.Taylor Jrdo. J.Taylor's,R'd Taylor's & C.Taylor's daughters here in the evening & had Watermelons. 29, Fair- I went with the boys to J.Taylor's, Richard Taylor,C.Taylor,Reu Taylor, Mr Tho's Bell &c dined there & Wm Taylor, who came home with me. 30, Warm & hazy- Wm Taylor & the boys dined with me, after dinner W.Taylor & I rode to Uncle Taylor's & Mr Shepherd's store. W.Taylor went to C.Taylor's at night. Finished Sowing Wheat in the field by the Barn- it took 39 1/2 Common & 5 Bushels Early wheat. I let Macon Biggers have 10 dollars to pay a debt to Garrett,in Louisa-Charged 28/- in the Estate's acco't ag't him and 32/- do in my own. 28/- in G.Taylor's Est'e acco't 32/- in F.Taylor's ac't 60/31, Warm sone clouds.R'd Taylor came here & says his wife [Catherine David[WKA] continues very ill- The boys went- & young people fron James & C.Taylor's to Reu Taylor's. R'd Taylor jr staid three, very sick- I went with R'd Taylors to C.Taylor's. Wm Taylor & Mrs Howard dined there. W.Taylor came home with me. --[SUNDAY]--

September, 1, Monday, Thunder & a little rain in evening. Rich'd Taylor jr came from Reu Taylor's & took physick- Rd.Taylor,C.Taylor & the boys(except Rogere) dined here- W.Taylor went to C.Taylor's at night.Began to sow wheat by the wheat yard. Sent Jack & Peter with a note to Capt Scott's for 5 Bushels Early (or Isbells) wheat. 2, A little fog in morning, a little rain at night.Jack & Peter returned from Capt Scott's with the Wheat about 7 o'clock. Finished sowing the common wheat, 7 1/2 Bus' sown in the field this side the Meadow. I went to J.Taylor's, R'd Taylor, Wm Taylor and R'd Taylor's & C.Taylor's children dined there- C.P.Howard & John Taylor there after dinner. 3, A little rain in evening- Wm & J.Taylor jr came by I went with them to Reu Taylor's- Thompson Taylor went down the Country(To Caroline Co.-WKA-]Finished sowing wheat.Between 4 & 5 Bushels had from Capt Scott's of the Early, sown beyond the Meadow- a little of that kind left, about a peck. The common, 39 1/2, sown in Barn-field Dc. 7 1/2. this side the meadow 47. Early, C.Taylor's 9/- Bu. 5 in Barn field Do. J.Scott's 8/- Bu 5 in field beyond meadow 57, Total, a little (ab't 2 gallons) or Early wheat not sown:sown 3d, October this side of Meadow-in Potatoe patch, also 3 pecks tailings. 4, Richard Taylor walked here, is very unwell and returned to C.Taylor's, his wife & girls continue unwell- Wm Taylor came by, I went with him & John Pendleton to Rob't Taylor- Mr.Howard & wife there. Wm Taylor came home with me. Thunder & plentiful shower in afternoon.Rich'd, Colby, & Roger Taylor here at night. 5, Fine morning- & pleasant. Wm Taylor went after breakfast to C.Taylor's & ret'd here- John Pendleton, J.Taylor jr & boys dined here. 6, Fine day, some clouds- I went with Wm Taylor and Dicky to Ja's Taylor's to dinner, J.Pendleton & family, Reu Taylor & James Bell dined there- Rec'd a parcel Norfolk papers from F.S.Taylor- the Fred'g paper came. W.Taylor & I walked by C.Taylor's. Brother Richard very unwell & some of the Girls, his wife a little on the mend- At night had a conversation with M.Biggers & Offered him, if I kept only my own People, to give him next year 1/6, if I hire Jim and Ben, 1/7 wheat & 1/8 Corn, which he declined to take.

From the TAYLOR DIARY, #1907-z in the South Historical Collection, University of North Carolina Library, Chapel Hill. FOR REFERENCE ONLY: PERMISSION TO PUBLISH MUST BE REQUESTED. WARNING: MOST MANUSCRIPTS ARE PROTECED BY COPYRIGHT.

Last edit about 4 years ago by maxineh
247
Needs Review

19[241] DIARY OF FRANCIS TAYLOR, 1794, 1794, September, 7, [SUNDAY] Rainy night & morning, fine afternoon. Wm Taylor,Richard,Colby & Roger Taylor dined here- had no pther company. Bought 11 chickens of F.Taliaferro's Sam, paid him 3/- & to pay 6d. when he brings another. 8, Cool clear day.Trod out a stack of wheat. Wm. Richard & Roger Taylor dined here Colby went to C.Taylor's. Took 2 Hives of Bees-suppose 3 or 4 Galls Honey- Sent 4 Hides 47 lb. by Joe to MrBHyde's 9, Cool & clear- saw no frost. Had 2 shoats cut. Wm Taylor, the boys and I went to C.Taylor's and dined there- Rd Taylor mending fast, his wife & Matilda[10 yrs old-WKA]very weak- Reuban Taylor & J.Taylor jr wasthere. Wm Edwards paid $109.15.6 1/2 in silver he said he rec'd of Wm Glassel & $10. in Gold & Silver- he said rec'd of A.Maury. he is to take some of the dollars if they will not pass- 10, Cool & fair. Roger Bell spayed 3 shoats & the 2 Wild Sows. Trod a Stack of Wheat W.Taylor, Rd Taylor jr & I went w'th bro'r Richard To Uncle Taylor's- Maj'r Moore, John & Robert & their children there, & Mr.T.Bell. 11, Warm & some clouds. J.Taylor sent for us- Wm & Rd. Taylor jr & I went there- C.Taylor & family, Rich'd Taylor & family- T.Barbour & family, John Taylor & do J.Pendleton's wife &c were there. Nancy & Peggy Bell after dinner. Wm. R'd jr, & Roger Taylor came home with me. 12, Warm & fog- Fair evening. Treading wheat. Rich'd Taylor came & went with W.Taylor to Reu Taylor's- R'd Taylor jr went before & I went afterwards and dined there, Thompson Taylor got up in evening from Caroline. Wm Taylor & boys here at night. 13, Fair warm weather. R'd Taylor came by, Wm Taylor & I went with him to a muster at Court house. Mrs Day was here & paid for a quart honey for herself, and got a quart for John Brent p/r his note. Dicky & Thompson went to C.Taylor's dicky was taken ill & staid there. Had my mare shod. 14, Fair & warm. Tho's Barbour jr sent &got 75 lb Wool, which I sold him some time ago 1/3. I went with Richard, Wm Taylor & boys to Mr.T Bells- C.Taylor & children, J.Taylor jr & sister & Rd Taylor's children there. --[SUNDAY]-15, Fair after Fog & some clouds, warm.Trod the last stack of wheat. Richard Taylor & family came here from C.Taylor's. Col Madison dined here. Killed a Ewe Lamb, fat, a fore Q'r to M.B. 16, Fair & warm, a little rain last night. J.Taylor & family, C.Taylor & do. Mrs Burnley, Aunt Thomas- Reu Taylor, John Taylor, F.Conway, & Richard Taylor & family and Wm Taylor dined here- Mrs T.Bell,Peggy & Chas Bell, came in evening finished securing blades. Cutting tops. 17, Fair & pleasant. About 10 o'clock Richard Taylor & his family set out to return to Caroline. Sister & the children appear mending. Wm Taylor went to see some slaves at J.Brook's Quarter he heard were for sale- he dined at Reu Taylor's &returned here. J.Taylor sent for me. I went & dined. John Taylor &c, Aunts Taylor & Thomas, were there. 18, Fair & warm. I went with Wm Taylor to Newman's to see if Mr.Baylor had Negro boys for sale,he did not determine- We came to Uncle Taylor's. Maj'r Moore, John Moore, Aunt Thomas(Mildred Taylor-WKA], Bro'r James's wife & Nancy Taylor, John Taylor & family & Nancy Taylor. John Taylor & family dined there. Had Geese picked. I came by J.Taylor's. Wm Taylor staid there. 19, Cloudy night, cleared early to day. Very warm. Wm Taylor came from J.Taylor's. I went with him to Maj'r Moore's. John Taylor & wife dined there. W.Taylor retd here. 20, Hazy, warn & windy. John Taylor & ___Wayt came here to breakfast on their way to Philad'a via Fredericksburg. Wm Taylor changed 266 Dollars BAnk notes with John Taylor silver. I let John Taylor have a doubloon wt 17.pw.10 gr. $4.11.6- to purchase wine &c for me. C.Taylor called by & Wm Taylor went with him to see if Boswell Thornton has for sale such negroes as he wants to buy- they dined at Col Madison's & W.T. came here at night- I walked to W.Edwards in the evening but did not see him. 21, Changed to very cool. Reu Taylor walked here, Wm Taylor & I went with him to J.Taylor's- C.Taylor & family were there. ---[SUNDAY]---

From the TAYLOR DIARY, #1907-z in the Southern Historical Collection, University of North Carolina Library, Chapel Hill. FOR REFERENCE ONLY: PERMISSION TO PUBLISH MUST BE REQUESTED. WARNING: MOST MANUSCRIPTS ARE PROTECTED BY COPYRIGHT.

Last edit about 4 years ago by maxineh
248
Needs Review

20[242] DIARY OF FRANCIS TAYLOR,1794, 1794 September, 22, Slight frost- very clear. Wm Taylor & I went to Court.I paid Capt J.Scott 40/- for 5 Bus' Early Wheat had the 2d, instant- Did not receive any money from Mr. Edwards. W.Taylor came here with me. Rec'd of Wm Walker 3/9 for M.Biggers & paid him next morning. 23, Cool & hazy, a very little rain. I paid Wm Taylor for Richard Taylor, $83.11.11 & gave him, R'd Taylor, Credit, in my private Ac't 6.8.1 making his proportion of G.Taylor's Estate, $90.00.00 C Taylor called here after breakfast & W.Taylor & he went off to Caroline. Rueben Taylor came by & went with me to Court hose. I let C.Taylor have 2 dollars to buy me some medecine. Col Madison, Maj'r Moore, Mr.Fry, Col.Jameson & myself met, Col.Alcock, Mess'rs Shepherd, Downey,Tom Bell, about settling Wm. Bell dec'd Estate- John Walker & James Barbour jr Att'ya @ Sam'l Slaughter attended- The Com'rs began to examine but made little progress & appointed a meeting tomorrow.[Note-Richard Taylor receives $90. from his father's estate-WK 24, Cloudy without rain. Earth very dry. I met at Court house: Col Jameson & Maj'r Moore Com'rs Mr. Shepherd, Mr Downey,Col Alcock & T.Bell. Lawyers Walker, Barbour & Rob't Taylor- They Com'rs concluded that from the state of the accounts &c they could not make a proper report at present and did not proceed- Mr.Shepherd A Downey, Maj'r Moore, Col Jameson, Rob't Taylor & myself dined at Nooe's and staid till evening. I agreed with Macon Biggers to be my Overseer next year on the following terms. To find him 500 lb Port- 8 Barrells Corn & 1 1/2 Bus' Salt- If I hire one hand, he, M.B. to have 1/6 Wheat & 1/7 Corn. If I hire two, 1/7 Wheat & 1/8 Corn, and if only own hands 1/6 Wheat and Corn. 25, A few clouds, went off without rain, warm. I staid at home, killed two squirrels. Had Wheat that was threshed at the Barn put into Cellar, 34 Bushels26, Rained a little last night, cloudy.Had the Wheat in the Wheat house run through the Fan, the Wevil had hurt it some. Walked to J.Taylor's in evening, he is unwell. 27, Cloudy morn, Thunder to N. & E. warm. J.Taylor sent for me to Dinner. I went over Gariel Barbour was there- they expected T.Jenkins but he did not come. J.Taylor jr was at home- Nancy at T.Barbour's- J. Taylor still very unwell. Macon Biggers & wire went to Louisa. 28, [SUNDAY] Warm & fair.I went to J.Taylor's & gave J.Taylor jr a letter to Mess'rs Blairs- Reuben Burnley & A.Wilson came there & J.Taylor jr & they set off to Fred'g. I went to Mrs James's & heard a tolerable good discourse from _________ Morris, a Baptist. Came to C.Taylor's to dinner. Mrs Moore, her daughters, Robt Moore, Jas Bell, Mrs Burnley & children & Cha's Bell was there. 29, Foggy morning- Warm & fair afterwards. I rode to Hyde's. he & R.Johnson gone to Fred'g- Mrs Hyde got Mr Powell(a sadler) to assist me to choose 5 sides Soal leather 51 lb, which is to be sent to me- I did not pay for it. Roger Bell sent a girl & 2/3- I sent 3 lb Butter to him. In evening I walked to Uncle Taylor's He & Aunt Thomas are unwell- I carried a basket which Uncle Taylor gave me applies to fill & I brought home. M.Biggers returned from Louisa. 30, Turned cooler in night- Very windy towards noon with a little rain. Very cool evening. I rode to Mr.Shepherd's before breakfast,left a letter for Mess'rs Blairs- Saw Mr Jenkins- he sent the Store of Goods away yesterday, and expects a horse sent him to follow in a day or two. Cleaned some wheat tailings.

October, 1, Rained a little in the night, wind Northeast and very cold & rainy, small rain all day. Roger Bell brought a Black ewe & exchanged for a white ram for J.Taylor, Turned my Ram with the Ewes. 1 Ewe found dead- 26 Sheep left. 2, Cloudy & small rain last night & this morning, cleared by noon. the ground not wet much, fine evening. Let Macon Biggers have 6/- to buy Beef of John Biggers, & sent 7/6 to buy me a Quarter, he got a hind Quarter for me 41 lbs 2d. Reuben Taylor came from Doolins & dined. I walked in evening to J.Taylor's-he is better. Ben Taylor got here at night, said C.Taylor came up.

From the TAYLOR DIARY, #1907-z in the Southern Historical Collection, University of North Carolina Library, Chapel Hill. FOR REFERENCE ONLY: PERMISSION TO PUBLISH MUST BE REQUESTED. WARNING: MOST MANUSCRIPTS ARE PROTECTED BY COPYRIGHT.

Last edit about 4 years ago by maxineh
249
Needs Review

21[243] DIARY OF FRANCIS TAYLOR,1794,1794 October, 3, Fog in morning, fair day. Had a peck of Early Wheat sown the upper part of Negroes Potatoes patch & about 3 pecks tailings of common wheat at this end. Reu Taylor came here,went to C.Taylor's & came back to dinner. B.Taylor continued here. 4, Saturday, Frost and cold. I rode with B. Taylor to Court house. B.Taylor carried a letter to J.Baylor at Newman's- B. Taylor paid at Barbour's Store $20.8.0 for G.C.Taylor- I bought 20 yds Cloth for Ben Taylor's negroes & 4 pair Yarn hose, which were charged me by C.Barbour. We came home to dinner. 5, Great white frost and cool. [SUNDAY] B. Taylor & I went to J.Taylor's to Dinner. Aunt Thomas was there- C.Taylor & Reuben Taylor there after dinner. Wm Edwards came here in the morning and informed that he had not been able to get the money he owed for the land- In the evening he gave B.Taylor an order for $60. on Fontaine Maury6, White frost- B.Taylor set off early for Fredericksburg. C.Taylor came before he went-and afterwards settled his acc'o ag't my father prior to his death, the balance due C.Taylor $16. Sent Jack to Hyde's & got 51 lb Soal leather I bought the 29th Sept'r. Dug Sweet potatoes & buried by Fodder Stack. Went to J.Taylor's in evening. Aunt Thomas there. 7, A little frost, cool & cloudy. I staid at home. Had some Irish potatoes dug- Leather(2sides) curried & dressed. Took 2 Hives of Bees, one good(suppose 3 Gall's honey) the others very sorry. Mrs Biggers cut out Jack's, Sary's, Milley & Sukey Woollen cloathes. 8, Rained a little last night- Fair day & mild. Finished digging Irish potatoes, 20 or 30 Bus; had most of them buried in garden. I killed 2 Squirrels & dined on them. Davy began to make shoes. 9, A little Frost and dry weather. I rode to Court house- Wm Broaddus,Brigade Inspector met to Exercise Militia officers. 10, Cool dry weather. I staid at home. 11, White frost, fair & moderate. I went to Gen'l Muster- Gen'l Williams & Broadus there to exercise Militia. I dined at Nooe's. John Taylor ret'd a Doudloon I let him have to buy wine the 20th ult'o. Rec'd a letter from B. Taylor &one from Mrss'rs Blairs with my acco't inclosed. 12, Sunday, Fair and moderate. Heard C.Taylor was unwell-Set off to go there, met J.Taylor, who said C.T.was better- I walked by J.Taylor's and went with him & family & Aunt Thomas to Uncle Taylor's. John Taylor,Rob't Taylor & familys, Mr Howard & wife, Polly& Fanny Moore & Nich's Porter's son dined there. Uncle Taylor looks poorly-but does not complain of much pain- has a cough. 13, Clouds in morning, clear & warm after. I walked to see C.Taylor after Breakfast, he was better but expected an Ague to day- I met Reu Taylor, he is very hoarse & has a bad cold. I returned before noon. 14, Clear and dry. I staid at home,gathered some corn Yesterday & to day by Drake's branch. 15, Fair, dry, windy & warm & smoky. Sent 3 Bus' Wheat to Dade's Mill and got ground Had some corn put into Corn house. 16, Fair and moderate. I went shooting in morning, Killed 4 Squirrels. Jas Taylor came here and I went to Reuben Taylor's with him,Reuben continues hoarse,bad cold & palate of mouth swelled. 17, Fair, smoky, dry & warm. I Killed 4 Squirrels & a partridge early. Had C.Taylor's Wheat Fan & ran my Wheat through it, it is a good deal injured by wevil. Cleaned about 3 Bus' Fla seed. 18, Fog in morning-Smoky,fair & mild. Wm Hansdell jr came here in morning & Exchanged about $70. Gold for Silver dollars & Crowns- He breakfasted here & went before noon. I staid at home. 19, [SUNDAY] Some clouds and warm. Dined at J.Taylor's. Aunt Thonas there. J.Taylor jr gone to Waddell's meeting. 20, A little rain-very windy & warm. Loaded Tav'r Jones 50 bus Wheat-held out 47.12 put 13 hogs up to fatten. Put up log pen near corn house. Wm Taylor & Benj'a Taylor arrived here to dinner, they intend to set out the next day after tomorrow on their journey to Kentucky. J.Taylor jr & Charles Bell here in evening. William Taylor paid the balance his acco't with me 45/10 1/2. Ben Taylor & I balanced accounts.

From the TAYLOR DIARY, #1907-z in the Southern Historical Collection, University of North Carolina Library, Chapel Hill. FOR REFERENCE ONLY: PERMISSION TO PUBLISH MUST BE REQUESTED. WARNING: MOST MANUSCRIPTS ARE PROTECTED BY COPYRIGHT.

Last edit about 4 years ago by maxineh
251
Needs Review

23[2454] DIARY OF FRANCIS TAYLOR, 1794, 1794, November, 1, Saturday, Cloudy morning-some sunshine, very arm. John & Frank began to Saw,but broke the tiller. I sent Frank to the shop & got it mended,but it soon broke again,so that they sawed only one log- M. Biggers went & got it mended a second time. I staid at home. 2, [SUNDAY] Cloudy & small rain most of the day, warm. I was sent for and went to J.Taylor's to dinner, none by his own family there. 3, Rainy last night-very showery day a wam brisk wind from south, cleared at night mild. I was all day at home. 4, Clear fine mild day. I rode to Court house,bought & paid Banks for sundries,15 yds Fearnought 50-[?]m 4 lb Coffee 6/-, 6 lb Sugar 6/--(he made a mistake & was only 4 lb)- I dined at Mr.Shepherd's invitation at his house, all his family & Mr.Miller(Caroline) were there- When I got home found Mr.David Henning, who brought me the 1st & 2 Volumes of the American Revolution. 5, Fine day- only alittle frost in morning- I rode to Court house. Mr.Banks righted mistake in Sugar bought yesterday. I returned to dinner. M.B.dined with me. 6, White frost- mild day- Cloudy evening. J.Taylor, J.Taylor jr & John Langham, dined here. Fixed posts to act Corn house on Killed a shoat this morning. 7, Hazy, warm & some clouds. J.Taylor sent to borrow my mare- I rode her to Mr. Shepherd's, came to J.Taylor's, breakfasted there & lebt him my mare to ride to Mr Triplett's Mill- Col B.Johnson & J.Langham at J.Taylor's- I came home before noon. Tavener Jones came here- I settled with and paid him for carrying to Fredericksburg 142,13/60 Bus Wheat at 8d Bus'l, I found him provision & c & it came to $14.14.10- I paid him in full $4.6.0 Rec't. Rec'd a letter from D. & J.Blair that they sold my wheat at 6/3 pr bushel 190,11/60 8, Very warm, some clouds,smoky,windy even'g. I rode to Uncle Taylor's, he is very weak & low- I went from thee to Muster at Court house- Saw Mr.A Glassil & wife- Mr.Howard & do. at store- J.Taylor asked C.Taylor & me & we came with him about 2 o'clock to dinner- C.Taylor's & Reu Taylor's familys & Miss Polly Moore there- J. Taylor jr, Gab'l Barbour & Rob't Coleman(School m'r) came afterwards, dined & went to Mr Dade's to a dance. 9, [SUNDAY] Some clouds-not so warm as yesterday, nor cold. I staid at home-reading history of revolution. 10, Cooler, cloudy & a little rain. Charles Leathers began to work,putting up Corn house-I agreed to give him 2/6 day. Macon Biggers at work with C.Leathrs. I staid at home. 11, Clouds without rain, and warm. Ch Leathers & M.Biggers finished putting up logs or Corn house and went to get the rafters- 12, Fair & moderate for the season. James Taylor was here to breakfast, I let Davy go to his house to make a pair Shoes for Harry: he sent Cyrus & Sawney here. C.Leathers finished getting rafters, had them brought in & he began to couple them. Putting Corn in old Corn house, Macon Biggers says he has measured 52 Hhds. Pat came from C.Taylor's with 2/3 for butter. I sent 3 pounds. 11 of the wild hogs(all but one of the old sows) came into the pasture, got them in Mountain field next day to fatten- The Guinea sow took Boar about this time. 13, Sharp frost, Ice, good day. Sent Frank & got 100 20d Nails of Mr.Howard-He brought Gunlocks,but they dont suit my gun. M.Biggers & Cart went to Herndon's Mill & brought a load of Slabs, for Cornhouse floor. C.Leathers worked on Corn house- 4th, day. 14, Turned cloudy in night,before day hail & rain & cold small rain all day.ice on trees in morning. C.Leathers went home early in morning. 15, Ceased raining before day-cloudy & a few drops rain about sunset- Mountains covered with snow. C.Taylor sent 4/6 for butter, I sent 6 lb Pat. C.Leathers worked on Cornhouse- Raised roof and began to cover- M.Biggers about the floor Joe Clark was here to see Sleys- He took them (4) home, if they suit not, he to carry them to Barbour's Store- he paid for 3 the 19th-12/16, Sharp frost, clear morning, cloudy evening, spit snow. I went to J.Taylor's to dinner, James & Nancy at J.Pendleton's17, Cold Cloudy morning, fair evening. C.Leathers covering Cornhouse.Began to put corn in New Corn house.

From the TAYLOR DIARY, #1907-z in the Southern Historical Collection, University of North Carolina Library, Chapel Hill. FOR REFERENCE ONLY: PERMISSION TO PUBLISH MUST BE REQUESTED. WARNING: MOST MANUSCRIPTS ARE PROTECTED BY COPYRIGHT.

Last edit about 4 years ago by maxineh
Displaying pages 41 - 50 of 127 in total