Francis Taylor Diary

Pages That Need Review

Diary, 1786-1799

294
Needs Review

2[287] DIARY OF FRANCIS TAYLOR,1796, 1796, January, 14, Small rain last night,very rainy morning, rainy day. The Waggons came for Wheat last night only took 71 1/2 Bushels, not having bags to hold the balance, about 15 or 20 bushes- John Hill & A.Watson gave their Receipts, Lee drives for Watson. 15, Rained a little last night, cloudy soft day-rainy evening. I rode to Court house. Left a letter at Mr.Shepherd's for Mess'rs Blairs. Saw Mr.C.P.Howard, came with him to Aung Taylor's. Maj'r Moore, John Moore & Capt R.Barbour dined there- They went out with Partridge Net-but did not catch any birds- they caught some as they came from Maj'r Moore's16, Thick soft and cloudy,most of snow thawed. Heard Frogs in the evening. 17, Sunday, A great deal of rain all day with some hail and cold. There is much water in Valleys and on the earth- I staid at home. 18, Cleared last night, great white frost,fog,clouds & sunshine. I remained at home. Had Turnep tops at dinner. 19, Cold and raw-some clouds. John Pendleton called here before noon, going to Mrs Burnley's, and as he returned in the evening- He said Brother James has a bad cold. 20, Rainy and freezing- much ice on trees & c. C.Taylor sent a note informing that Company was expected by Mr.W.Dade who desired I would dine with him to day. The weather was such that I did not go. 21, Cleared a great frost- Cold, flying clouds and windy. J.Taylor sent for me to dinner, I went, he is unwell and has been several days, with bad cold. C.P. Howard & wife- J.Pendleton's & T.Barbour's familys and their own family- C.Bell & E.Chew were there. J.Pendleton & T.Barbour gone home. 22, Clear & hardest frost this winter. Evening mild. Major Moore, Col.Ja's Barbour & Mr C P Howard dined with me. Col'o Barbour staid with me. Macon Biggers had 1/2 Bus' Salt. 1/2 Bus' more is due him. 23, Fair and mild- heard frogs at night. Col.Barbour went away after breakfast. Finished Memorial to Congress & inclosed in a letter to Col Madison.Wrote to F[rancis] S[tubbs] T[aylor]. 24, Sunday, Fine mild weather, a little hazy at night. I went to J.Taylor's,he has got better of his cold. J.Pendleton's & T.Barbour's wives and children, Rob't Moore, J Taylor jr and wife & E.Chew dined there. 25, Warm S.wind. Began to rain before noon & small rain till night. I went to Court. Rec'd a letter from D.Triplett- no money- Mr.A.Darby took my letters to Col Madison & F.S.Taylor and promised to Lodge them with Mr J.Blair. 26, Rained heavy last night. Warm cloudy day. I took a dose Jallap & Ipecac & staid at home. Had some Irish potatoes dug- most of them quite sound. 27, Began to snow before day & snowed all day, 6 inches deep- Not very cold. Sent S[lave?PFT? Peter to Mill yesterday & cou'd not get meal- Sent him & Frank to day & only got a bushel ground. I staid at home. 28, Frosty fog in night & morning- Fine day. John Langham came here after dinner. I gave him some Garden seeds- Returned him a Book he lent. 29, Cold Cloudy morning- Fair evening, cool. C.Taylor sent a boy with Rum for lent the 28th last month, and ask me to dinner. I went over, Maj'r Moore, Polly Moore, J.Taylor & wife, John Pendleton & wife, T.Barbour's wife, James Taylor jr & wife, Nancy Taylor & C.Bell, were there. 30, Clear and cold. J.Taylor jr and John Pendleton chased a Fox through my plantation but did not catch it- suppose a Red Fox. I staid at home. 31, Sunday, Froze very hard- Clear cold day. I walked to James Taylor's- Col James Barbour, J.Pendleton & family. T.Barbour & do, Ch's Taylor & daughters, James Taylor jr & wife, Miss Fitzhugh & E.Chew were there. I carried a New pair Shoes for E.Chew- the other pair being so small she could not wear them. I told her to send the first pair back.

From the TAYLOR DIARY, #1907-z in the Southern Historical Collection, University of North Carolina Library, Chapel Hill. FOR REFERENCE ONLY: PERMISSION TO PUBLISH MUST BE REQUESTED. WARNING: MOST MANUSCRIPTS ARE PROTECTED BY COPYRIGHT.

Last edit over 3 years ago by maxineh
293
Needs Review

1[286] DIARY OF FRANCIS TAYLOR,1796 1796, January, 1, Friday, Fair, mild and very pleasant- a very little frost.Col'o James Barbour & self went to J.Taylor's to Breakfast. some of the company that came Wednesday still there but chiefly went away to day. Mr William Dade sent a boy with 2 bottles,which I filled with honey as promised yesterday- Went from J.Taylor's to Hiring Dade's Slaves at Col L.Taliaferro's Shop- They hired very high- J.Taylor, John Pendleton, T.Barbour jr & J.Taylor jun'r went- We returned before night- I came home- Rec'd a Note from James Bell (by G.C.Taylor's Jim, that I might hire him,which I concluded to do, the hire,on same terms I had him in year 1794, $12. 2, Great white frost- moderate, a little hazy in evening. Macon Biggers went to Mr.Shepherd's Shop, brought away part of a bar of Iron & went to M.Taliaferro's to get some Smith's work done. I think to have my work done there. I rode to Court house- Got a pair of boots made at Hyde's by Eubank- rather too short in show & sharp toes. I took dinner with G.Barbour. Reu Taylor there. 3, Sunday, Flying clouds, Windy from South but not cold. I went to James Taylor's J.Pendleton & T.Barbour jr went home yesterday-both their families, J.Taylor jr & wife & E Chew & Roger Bell's wife & children dined there. 4, Monday, Slight frost, fiar mild day. I walked to Aunt Taylor's- Mr.C.P.Howard & wife got home last night- He paid for sundries for me in Philad'a 34/- and returned 26/- the balance of 10 dollars sent- I paid him 5/3 for Nails (bo't in his absence). J.Taylor & wife, J.Taylor jr & do.,*Nancy Taylor, +Chas Bell, #Jno. Pendleton's wife, #T.Barbour's Wife- Miss Polly Moore, John Moore, Fanny Barbour & Sally Burnley, dined there. G.C.Taylor's Jim came to live with me and work this year, I having hired him of James Bell p/t note. *Probably Ann, daughter of James Taylor- m. Thos.Crutchfield-WKA-, + Probably son of Thos Bell who m. Eliz Taylor dau. of Zachary- WKA.-, # Elizabeth & Mary, daus. of James Taylor & nieces of the diarist.-W.K.A.5, Cloudy,soft misty day. Mrs James came here to breakfast- Paid 5 dollars,being the balance due from her to the Estate of G.Taylor deceased after deducting her proved account,which she did not produce but promised to do it-when I am to give her a Receipt. 6, Rained a good deal last night & this morning, about 10 o'clock snow & sleet with the rain. Snowed till night with North wind but only about 2 inches at night- the earth being wet, most of it dissolved- This is the first weather like winter of the season. I did not go from home & saw no white person. 7, Ceased Snowing in night, froze hard- Snow only ab't 2 Inches deep. Fair moderate morning, cloudy afternoon, clear at night. One Ewe had 2 lambs last night,only 1 alive- 119 days since 10 Sept'r the Rams were parted from Ewes- Sent a Dollar by M.Biggers to pay his wife for Davy & Moses,3/- each for part making their Cloaths8, Friday, Fair, cold but not severe. J.Taylor, John Pendleton, T.Barbour & J.Taylor jr dined here. J.Taylor paid the balance of his acc't $5.15.6. a Doublcon $..11.6 & 4 dollars $1.4.0- At night _____Roberts came & got M.Licence. Sam'l Ham & Jas Hay were with him9, Clear & cool. I walked to J.Taylor's- J.Pendleton & T.Barbour & family's, J.Taylor jrs wife- E.Chew & C.Bell there. J.T.jr at Ct house. T.Barbours young child died ab't 2 o'clock this morning. I carried E.Chew a pair shoes. 10, Sunday, Clouded in last night, began to snow before sunrise & cont'd all day,not cold or windy,Snow fell 6 inches on the old. I received a letter from Mess'rs Blairs,desiring me to send them money & that they had sent me Iron for Cart. I walked to C.Taylor's,dined with him & family. 11, Cloudy mist all night, fine rain mixed with snow all day,and thawing-snow no deeper. J.Taylor, John Pendleton,Tho Barbour,C.Taylor & J.Taylor ju'r dined here. 12, Cleared last night,thawed much to day. J.Taylor sent and got 13 lb butter,he spoke for yesterday- Had my Pork hung up to day to smoke for Bacon,Killed and Salted 15, December. 13, Cloudy and thaws. Sent & got 3 Bus'Wheat ground at Dade's Mill.Mr.D.Triplett sent 3 Waggons- John Hill, Abner Watson & Lee, for Wheat. they got here about sunset and got partly loaded and wait till morning.

From the TAYLOR DIARY, #1907-Z in the Southern Historical Collection, University of North Carolina Library, Chapel Hill. FOR REFERENCE ONLY: PERMISSION TO PUBLISH MUST BE REQUESTED. WARNING: MOST MANUSCRIPTS ARE PROTECTED BY COPYRIGHT.

Last edit over 3 years ago by maxineh
291
Needs Review

29[284] DIARY OF FRANCIS TAYLOR, 1795,

BIRTHS, DEATHS, & MARRIAGES. 1795, Apl 27, G.C.Taylor's Shary had a son born, May 18, Mrs Sarah Thomas died in 84th year of age. Aug't Mrs Fanny Taylor, wife of Wm Taylor, Fred'g died. Oct. 20, James Barbour jr married to Miss Lucy Johnson. 22, Mrs Burnley(Col.Z.Burnley's wife) died. Nov. 26, William Taylor (Botetourt) & Susanna Gibson married. 28, T.Barbour jr had a Daughter born. 7 months child. Died 9 Jan'y following. Dec. 10, James Bell married Miss Hannah G.Gwatkyn [Swatkin-PFT], (P.William). [Note-PFT- James Bell was son of Thomas, and Elizabeth(Taylor)Bell. 22, James Taylor jr married F[rances]. Catlett Moore. John Walker (of James) to Lucy Wood- (Madison [County]) 31, Th's Bell (C.house) to Sally Burnley. Wm. Taylor(Fred'g) married Ms Dickinson. John G.Catlett, married Nancy Robb.

NOTE BY DR.A.G.GRINNAN. Jany 1, Funeral of Erasmuc Taylor, Rev.Mr.Maury officiated.

Apl 28, Gabriel & Tho's Barbour of Culpeper were brothers. Gabriel appears to have had a Store in Orange for some time. Col.Ja's Barbour their father May 8, Robert Moore was son-in-law to Col._____Spencer. June 23, Mrs [Sarah Thomas' Estate appraised. Susannah Gibson[who married William Taylor] was daughter of John Gibson. Ben Taylor arrived from Kentucky, he said Hubbard Taylor,who came with him went to Col Madison's. Dec. 11, Reuben Taylor lived over Quarles Mt.

From the TAYLOR DIARY, #1907-z in the Southern Historical Collection, University of North Carolina Library, Chapel Hill. FOR REFERENCE ONLY: PERMISSION TO PUBLISH MUST BE REQUESTED. WARNING: MOST MANUSCRIPTS ARE PROTECTED BY COPYRIGHT.

Last edit over 3 years ago by maxineh
292
Needs Review

30[285] DIARY OF FRANCIS TAYLOR, 1795, 1795, Jan. 4, One of the young Sows had 6 pigs last night. 31, The other young sow had 5 pigs. 1 dead & do. 1, Feb'y 18, The pied Cow had a female calf. Feb. 14, The Brindle cow had a 26, 2 Ewes had 4 lambs 1 dead, 1 do 8, March. 28, 1 do 2, Mar 2, 1 do 2, 3, 1 - 1, 7, 1- 2, 20 do 9th, 1 do 12th. 18 alive about 15, April, 2 dead. 19 Alive at Shearing & 25 old sheep 27, May Parted Rams from Ewes 10, Sept'r & put together 23 October. Guinea Sow had 4 pigs the 7, March, 1 dead the 14th. Apl. 27, The young heifer calved- male calf. May 29, Cherry, the Bell cow calved- a male. June White Sow had 7 pigs- lost one. July August the 1st, the old Brindle Cow calved. Sept. 1, Guinea Sow had (8) 7 pigs about the beginning of the month.

Feb. 23. Had my riding mare's shoes removed- Shod 23rd May. May 11, Riding mare had a Mare colt fell Last night. Nov. 28, One of White Sows had 8 pigs, the other had 9 pigs about a week after.

June 11, Hived a swarm Bees- on Bench next Meat house. 19, Do in small Gum, came from Hewed Hive.

May 1, Killed a small shoat- sent M.B. a fore quarter. June 15, Killed a Shoat- sent M.B. hind Quarter.

Fron the TAYLOR DIARY, #1907-z in the Southern Historical Collection, University of North Carolina Library, Chapel Hill. FOR REFERENCE ONLY: PERMISSION TO PUBLISH MUST BE REQUESTED. WARNING: MOST MANUSCRIPTS ARE PROTECTED BY COPYRIGHT.

Last edit over 3 years ago by maxineh
287
Needs Review

25[280] DIARY OF FRANCIS TAYLOR,1795, 1795, December, 28, [Continued- Note- *Mrs Sarah Thomas- *She was not 'Aunt Thomas,' i.e. Mildred Taylor, dau. of James Taylor 2nd., who m. Richard Thomas, of Granger Co., and whodied in 1790. This Mrs Thomas was probably the mother of Mary Thomas who m'd Col.John Barbour, as James Barbour was her Executor-A.G.G.] 29, Frost, Fair morning- Cloudy mild evening- J.Taylor sent for a Wether. I sent him one of my best. I went to Court house- Maj'r Moore,J.Taylor & self made a division of the Slaves remaining of Wm Bell's dec'd Estate amongst, Wm Bell,Tho's Bell & James Bell, p/r order of High Court of Chancery,but acted for him- Dined at Nooe's [Tho's Bell above mentioned, m'd Elizabeth Taylor, dau of Zachary Taylor and his wife, Eliabeth Lee.-WKA] 30, Wednesday, Warm, a little rain-last night- some clouds with very little rain at night. I went to James Taylor's- J.Taylor jr & bride got home Yesterday. A large & genteel Company Collected and were very merry- I staid till after supper- Phil Barbour(of James), P.Barbour(of Thomas), William Barbour(of Ambrose), & George Pendleton came over with me. 31, Mild weather- some rain at night- After breakfast my Company & I went to J.Taylor's, a good many remained all night & others came again to day. I staid till near night & came home- Col.Jas Barbour came with me.

The weather to this time has been uncommonly mild, very moderate frosts- & little ice. I have not seen frozen milk- nor 1/2 inch thick on water in vessels exposed to open air.

From the TAYLOR DIARY, #1907-z in the Southern Historical Collection, University of North Carolina Library, Chapel Hill. FOR REFERENCE ONLY: PERMISSION TO PUBLISH MUST BE REQUESTED. WARNING: MOST MANUSCRIPTS ARE PROTECTED BY COPYRIGHT.

Last edit over 3 years ago by maxineh
286
Needs Review

24[278]DIARY OF FRANCIS TAYLOR,1795, 1795, December, 16, Sharp frost, moderate. I rode to Court house- Dined at Mr Shepherd's,C.Taylor dined there also- Had Oysters. Valentine Winslow got up with his Waggon whilst I was there- He brought me from Blair's a Sack of Salt, 2 Iron pots, abo't 50 lb. & 2 bats Iron for shoeing wheels- I paid him for Waggonage 4/6- I called a Doolins as I came home- got my Coat, and paid him 2 dollars for making. 17, Sharp frost, some clouds & moderate for Season. Sent my Cart & brought sack salt & 2 Iron pots from Mr.Shepherd's- left Iron. Reuben Taylor, John Pendleton & J.Taylor jr, dined here. Boiling Hogs lard yesterday & this day. 18, Fair, moderate for season- Smart Frosts. I sent my Cart to Wm Bell's & got a pair Cart wheels he made. Finished refining hogs lard. I joined J.Taylor jr & John Pendleton hunting hares in Mrs Burnley's pasture- they went home & I came home about dinner. After dinner rode to Doolins & got the cuffs of my coat altered- went to Mr Shepherd's Store & returned about sunset. 19, Saturday, Fair frosty morning- Cold hazy evening. I rode to Court house- Mr. O'Neil preached to a midling number(say about 50 or 60) of persons. Charles Taylor deliv'd me 6 pieces french gold(5 single & 1 Double Guinea) wt 1 oz. 14 pw. 9 gr. $9.0.6. which he said Abner Porter desired him to pay me for wheat I sold him, 20 Bushels, the 10th Oct'r. I gave A Porter Credit for $9. and paid him 6d the 28th at Court. Had hogs feet boiled for Souse. 20, [SUNDAY] Snowed last night & this morning-2 or 3 inches deep, fine afternoon, most of the snow dissolved before night. I went to J.Taylor's- J.Pendleton's wife & family were there- Capt H.Bell sent his bitch and desired me to put her up with Brutus. I wrotehim word it was not convenient,but that he might send & have the dog- Brutus covered the Bitch whilst she was here. 21, Frost, Clear and moderate. Tho's Barbour's Joe got 100 lb Hay, his master wrote for. I wrote by Joe to Mr.R.Patten for Brown Sugar. William Bell(Wheelwright) came here- I paid him 40/- for making a pair Cart wheels & 9/8 for Boxes he purchased. I rode to Court house. There was a Vestry met & agreed to employ the Rev'd Mr Charles O'Neil 1 year from 1st of Feb'y next at $100. for a year. Lent Brutus to Capt H.Bell. I bo't 5 yds Green Cotton at Barbour's for E.Chew's Hannah. I got home to dinner. 22, Tuesday, Clear and moderate for the season. J.Taylor's negro woman Jenny died yesterday. I went to Maj'r Moore's, Saw J.Taylor jr married to Fanny Catlett Moore-A good many of their relatives were there, and the Company very merry. Brother James's wife was not well and did not go. J.Taylor,C.Taylor,John Pendleton, T.Barbour jun'r, Mr O'Neil & myself came away about 10 or 11 o'clock. Sent Frank & got some smoking Tobacco. 23, Cloudy morn, a little rain in evening. John Pendleton came by & said he was going to Maj'r Moore's, asked me if I was going,but I did not. I dined at home 24, A little rain last night, warm & cloudy day. After dinner I walked to C.Taylor's he was abroad. I paid Sister Taylor 6/- for making 4 under Shirts- Paid Sally Taylor 6/- for making a vest. J.Taylor sent 2 gallons Brandy for Whisky bor'd 12 Oct'r. I received 32 1/2 lb Brown Sugar(that being marked on on a small cask I sent) from Mr Rob't Patton, brought by Mr T.Barbour's Joe. 25, Friday, Warm- Cloudy with some drops rain. I did not go from home-dined alone- After dinner, J.Taylor walked here and staid about 2 hours. Received a packet Newspapers from F.S.Taylor this morning but no letter. 26, Warm, some clouds. E.Chews Hannah was here-let her have 5 yards green Cotton for Jacket & Petticoat. Sent my Breeches to Polly Edwards p/r Frank to let out I went to J.Leathers's Tob'o Pen- got some Tobacco. 27, Mild- a few clouds. J.Taylor sent & borrowed a Brass cock- I went to his house to dinner- J.Pendleton & T Barbour and their families were there. J.Taylor jr not come from Maj'r Moore's. -----[SUNDAY]----28, Clear, smart frost-tho'moderate & fine for the season. I went to Court. Returned to Court the Inventory & appraisement of*Mrs Sarah Thomas's Estate. Paid A Porter 6d for money overpaid the 19th inst. Bo't 4 doz small buttons of pedlar & paid him 3/4- also Apples 3d, Cake 3d & ferrit 4 1/2d. I was very unwell last night, headach which continued to day-better at night.

From the TAYLOR DIARY, #1907-z in the Southern Historical Collection, University of North Carolina Library, Chapel Hill. FOR REFERENCE ONLY: PERMISSIN TO PUBLISH MUST BE REQUESTED. WARNING: MOST MANUSCRIPTS ARE PROTECTED BY COPYRIGHT.

Last edit over 3 years ago by maxineh
285
Needs Review

24[278] DIARY OF FRANCIS TAYLOR,1795, 1795, December, 4, Sharp frost-mild evening, thin clouds. I rode to Doolin's- He took my measure for a Coat. Went to Court house. Bought a vest Pettern & 3 hanks silk of A.Shepherd jr & paid him 17/6 for them. Bo't 2 pair Worsted hose on acc'o at Barbour's 16/- After dinner walked to C.Taylor's. Wm Taylor & wife were there. I returned at night, C.T. & W.T. said if it suits them they will come here tomorrow. 5, Cold- some clouds in morn- Clear after. Lent Wm Taylor my Sorril mare to go after his horses, they left C.Taylor's yesterday. J.Taylor jr came here going to Tho's Barbour's- J.Taylor & Rob't Coleman dined here. John Leathers jr called here at night returning from Col Barbour's place, which he says he is to Oversee. He promised to bring me some smoking Tob'o Monday next, 6, Sunday, Hard frost. Moderate weather. I walked to C.Taylor's. W.Taylor & wife & Rob't Coleman dined there. 7, Hail,snow & rain in morn, rainy evening. Had all my wheat on hand run through the fan- 6 Bushels put into two bags for my own use. William Taylor came from C.Taylor's, dined with me, and returned in the Evening- C.Taylor went in last night to Uriel Mallory's, to visit his daughter, very ill. Gidieon May came with a Waggon for Corn he bought of M.Biggers- M.Biggers wife delivered it(he being gone to May's)- from Stack near the Stable. 8, Cleared last night- some clouds, moderate. J.Taylor sent for me, I went over to dinner- William Taylor, his wife, Sally, Betsy & Polly Taylor were there. J.Taylor jr not returned from Culpeper. 9, Smart frost- Fair pleasant day. Polly Edwards(with her sister Sally) came here and cut out Coats &breeches for my 5 negro men. I paid her 3/- and she took Frank's to make,for which I agreed to give her 3/- She got done soon after dinner. 10, Thursday, Mild pleasant- a few clouds. I rode to Court house to see Barbour's Salt, it will not suit to Salt Pork,being coarse. Left a letter with Mr.Shepherd for F.S.Taylor. Bo't 2 oz Col'd thread & paid Mr. Shepherd for do 1/- do 2 oz white 1/- & 9d.- on acco't at Barbour's- I got home by 11 o'clock- W.Taylor had sent word he wou'd be here to dinner. He, his wife, Sally & Betsy Taylor & C.Taylor dined here. 11, Moderate for the season. I paid 4/- for 8 Ball soap to E.Chew's Hannah. She said it was the property of Aunt Taylor's Phoebe. Sent Frank & got 2 Bus' Salt from A Shepherd. I carried Cloth & Rib. to Polly Edwards to get 2p'r Breeches made- Went over the nountain to Reuben Taylor's. Wm Taylor & wife- Sally, Betsy & Polly Taylor, J.Taylor jr, Milly Glassel, Rob't Moore, Polly & Fanny Moore & Gabriel Barbour dined there. They sent for fiddle. I came away in evening & met Nancy Taylor. the Company were going to dance. 12, White frost- Cloudy forenoon, Rainy evening. I rode by Doolins to Court house. Bought 2 doz vest buttons at 1/- of A.Shepherd jun'r, who told me the Goods he sells are Mess'rs D. & J.Blair's- I returned to dinner- M.Bickers repairing Negroes houses & stables- Breakfasted and dined with me. 13, Sunday, Thick, Cloudy & moist, mild. Rained last night. I rode to Court house and from thence to the Church. A Sermon preached by Mr O'Neil, an Episcopalian, to about 20 persons- I came home to dinner. 14, Rained last night. Some snow on Blue ridge- clear & cool evening. Sent Frank with buttons to P.Edwards. Mrs Biggers was here in evening to get a slip to add to Davy's breeches,being cut too short. Getting prepared to kill hogs tomorrow. 15, Fine moderate morning- Some clouds in evening. Had 20 Hogs that were put in en to fatten 11th November. Macon Biggers had 4 for his next years provisions, 501 lb Nett- viz't. 146, 124, 121,110. I had 16 for my use Cut & Salted up in Evening 1,859 lb=165, 161, 160, 160, 137, 117, 115, 105, 101, 98, 97, 95, 88, 85, 75, = 1859 lb Nt. = 16 Hogs F.T.kept. Negro George assisted to kill & cut out.

From the TAYLOR DIARY, #1907-z in the Southern Historica Collection, University of North Carolina, Chape Hill. FOR REFERENCE ONLY: PERMISSION TO PUBLISH MUST BE REQUESTED. WARNING: MOST MANUSCRIPTS ARE PROTECTED BY COPYRIGHT.

Last edit over 3 years ago by maxineh
284
Needs Review

23[277] DIARY OF FRANCIS TAYLOR, 1795, 1795, November, 26, Cloudy with some fine rain. I took a beehive. Finished measuring corn. Account of Corn made,1795 Mountain field, 28 Hhds at 12 Bus', 336 Bushels Pasture field, 47, 564 Gathered 1/2, 6 75, Total 906 made Put in Old Corn house, say, 40 Hhds Do in New, 20 M.Biggers had, 14 Has been used, say 1 1/2 75 Credit Macon Biggers By his 1/6 of 906 Bushels Corn made, 151 my allowance for next years provisions, 40 191 Dr. To 1 Bar'l old & 1/2 Bar'l new Corn, 7 1/2 14 Hhds you carried home, 168 F.Taylor bought at 10/- p/r barrel p/r acc', 15 1/2 191 27, Rained some last night- cleared mild. Had a large Shoat Which has long been fattened and a Smaller Boar do w'ch could not be gelt, killed. Had the former salted- Let M.Biggers have 1/4 of the small one. Reuben Twyman & brother Loaded with 60 Bushels Wheat to be delivered D.Triplett- Had it well cleaned. C.Taylor sent wheat in return for 2 1/2 Bushels he had formerly to send to mill. 28, Great Frost.Some clouds-pleasant mild day. C.Taylor borrowed a Case bottle Rum I went to Mr D. Triplett's Mill- My Wheat delivered there has lost very much, 207 only made 172,23/60. I bought there a pair Rose blankets 30/- & nothing else. I came to Barbour's Store-bought 1/4 lb Tea 1/9, 7 pair yard hose & 2/8 & 8 doz vest buttons 24/5. Dined at night. 29, Sunday, Rain in night. Dark cloudy & rained most of day moderately. I dined at home. My mare sick. Had her drenched. 30, High wind last night and cleared- Fair day moderate. I rode to Barbour's Store- Bought woolen cloths for Negroes- Cloth for Coat for self &c. Also for Breeches &c. Reu Taylor was at Store, we dined there and came by Doolin's- He left Cloth to make in a Great Coat, and I left my cloth &c. Heard that T.Barbour jr's wife had a daughter born two days ago-7 months child. This month the weather has been unusually mild, scarce any ice & little frost- Tobacco succors green,and leaves on fruit trees & c.

December, 1, Hazy- Thin clouds, mild. I rode to Court house- saw Wm Madison there. Came away about noon, called at Doolins and took wit me cloth &c for Breeches &c. Left Cloth & trimmings for Coat. 2, Some ice,cool and windy. Lightning last night in West. C, Taylor sent to ask me dine there- I went over, William Taylor & wife was there- Capt Conway came in evening, going tomorow to his Quarter. Received Newspapers- Norfolk & Philad'a at night.[Wm Taylor son of Jonathan, m. Susan Gibson,dau.of John Gibson, Nov. 26 1795-WKA] 3, Cool & cloudy morning-fair evening. I carried Legs & vamp Leathers to Mr Eubank at Hyde's to make a pair Boots. I got back about 3 o'clock-Wm Taylor,his wife & Sally Taylor got here soon after & staid till sunset. John Hill & A.Manspoil (in my absence) called here- M.Biggers delivered 30 Bushels wheat to each of them (60 Bus.) for D.Triplett.

From the TAYLOR DIARY, #1907-z in the Southern Historical Collection, University of North Carolina Library, Chapel Hill. FOR REFERENCE ONLY: PERMISSION TO PUBLISH MUST BE REQUESTED. WARNING: MOST MANUSCRIPTS ARE PROTECTED BY COPYRIGHT.

Last edit over 3 years ago by maxineh
283
Needs Review

22[276] DIARY OF FRANCIS TAYLOR,1795. 1795, November, 12, Some clouds- good weather for the season. Began gathering Corn in Road field. Wm Taylor, Jon'a Taylor & I went to Sale at Mrs Thomas's. Slaves sold very high boys from $50 to $80. There was considerable many people at the Sale. Wm & Jon'a Taylor went to J.Taylor's. C.Taylor ret'd a bottle whisky & sent Boot leg &c. 22/6. 13, Cool and cloudy. I walked to C.Taylor's. left 8 yds Virg'a Cotton & thread with sister Taylor to make some undershirts- I came with j.Taylor & Dined at his house, got a pack Cards he bought for me 3/- Wm Taylor came here at night. 14, Cloudy. Jonathan Taylor came here from C.Taylor's before breakfast- He & William Taylor walked to Court house- Dancing school two days past & this day by Mrs Lewis- They said they were invited to dine with G.Barbour.I had 16 1/4 doz or 195 Candles made- Took about 31 lb Tallow, 7 lb Bees wax & 1 1/2 lb wick. Wm & Jon'a Taylor came back at night. 15, [SUNDAY] Moderate. Cloudy at night. I went with Wm & Jon'a Taylor to Reuben Taylor's. J.Taylor, J.Taylor jr, Nancy, Sally & Betsy Taylor, R'd Barbour(Culp) his sister Fanny, Gab'l Barbour, Lucy Barbour(Orange) Rob't Moore, Polly & Fanny Moore dined there- W.Taylor staid. Jonathan went to J.Taylor's. 16, High wind & heavy rain in the past night, rainy morn. Fine mild afternoon. J.Taylor called on me, I lent him 15 dollars to pay for Flour & Butter. Wm Taylor & Reuben Taylor called here on way to W.Madison's. Joseph Robinson on his way from Fred'g received 50 Bus'Wheat to Carry to D.Triplett- Had it run thro'Fan, & Had the last cleaned wheat run thro'Fan. 17, Fair pleasant weather. J.Taylor, J.Taylor jr, C.Taylor, Wm Taylor & Jon'a Taylor dined here- Wm & Jonathan came from J.Taylor's, J.Taylor jr & Jonathan Taylor set out after dinner on their way to Fredericksburg. 18, Fine weather- hazy evening. I rode to Court house & ret'd to Dinner- Bought 3 doz Apples of A,Banks' negro Waggoner. Wm Taylor went after breakfast to John Gibsons. 19, Thursday, Some clouds- warm, smoky. Davy complains of Pain in his side & breast. I gave him 24 Grains Jallap & 8 of Ipecac- William Taylor sent his mare by Mr Gibson's negro & wrote for his young sorril horse, w'ch the man took. After dinner I walked to C.Taylor's & back. 20, Some clouds- mild weather. Finished gatherine Corn in Pasture field & got it Carted to Fodder Stack. 41 Loads-not all shocked. I staid at home. Jonathan Taylor returned from Fredericksburg- he dined at Reu Taylor's. 21, Cloudy & a little round snow in morning. Joshua Willis's Harry took 21 Bus' Wheat for D.Triplett. Zeph'a Nooe wrote me to send him some Bacon by Jim- I sent 2 Gammons 27 lbs & 2 Shoulders 29 lb- Jon'a Taylor & I walked to C.Taylor's to Dinner. Wm Taylor came there last evening- he came home with me at night & Jonathan staid at C.Taylor's. J.Taylor, J.Taylor jr, Nancy Taylor, Charles Bell & above dined there. J.Taylor ret'd $4.10.0 borrowed last Monday.Overseer & my People at work on road. 22, Sunday, Windy,but not very cold- some clouds. William Taylor & I walked to J.Taylor's- C.Taylor & family, Jonathan Taylor, Sally Burnley- Mrs Day, E.Chew, there. John Gibson came to my house- W.Taylor & I returned about 3 o'clock- Jon'a Taylor came in evening- Also Harry Daingerfield & afterwards Capt William Taylor(Fred'g) 23, Fine moderate weather. My Company & I went to Court. Wm & Jonathan Taylor ret'd with me at night to dinner. John Henshaw let me have a pair Strong shoes. I paid him 11/- for them. 24, Mild weather. I went to Court- Wm Taylor went to Court, got marriage Licence- He went to C.Taylor's to dinner- Jon'a Taylor went there before noon- they came to my house at night. 25, Continues mild weather. Wm & Jonathan Taylor left my house to go to John Gibson's The former expected to be married tomorrow. Jonathan said he thought of proceeding towards the Army via Redstone. I went to Court. Rec'd 42/- of Z.Nooe for 56 lb bacon.

From the TAYLOR DIARY, #1907-z in the Southern Historical Collection, University of North Carolina Library, Chapel Hill. FOR REFERENCE ONLY: PERMISSION TO PUBLISH MUST BE REQUESTED. WARNING: MOST MANUSCRIPTS ARE PROTECTED BY COPYRIGHT.

Last edit over 3 years ago by maxineh
282
Needs Review

21[275] DIARY OF FRANCIS TAYLOR,1795,1795, October, 30, Moderate,smoky. I walked in evening to C.Taylor's, asked Sister to cut Cloth Jacket. I'm very unwell-headache & sore jaw. Wm.,Jonathan & J.Taylor jr came here in evening. 31, Some clouds,no rain-cooler. The young men went away after Breakfast- I continue very unwell. Was sent for & went to C.Taylor's- Jonathan Taylor there. W.Taylor went to Mr.Gibson's. [Wm Taylor married leter Susan Gibson, dau of Jonathan Gibson- WKA.]

November, 1, Sunday, Hazy, some clouds & cool. I am very unwell, my jaw much swelled from a bad tooth. Cou'd not rest last night. Ch's Taylor wrote to me to lend him a Case bottle Whiskey which I did- Also sent about 1 lb butter, they sent for me to dinner but I was too unwell to go. They expected Mr Dade & Company. 2, Good weather. I suffered much in the first part of last night with pain in my jaw but the rising broke in my mouth before day & got easy. I rode to Court house- Paid Bracken 2/6 for mending shoes- Had shoes removed from my mare- Returned to dinner- J.Taylor jun'r & Jonathan Taylor here & dined with me- Reu Taylor and Ch's Taylor here in evening. 3, Some clouds & cooler. Garde & Bracken,Shoemakers,were here, the former got licence to marry Mary Yates. Jonathan Taylor & I went to Reuben Taylor's. Charles Taylor & W. Taylor went by Mr Bell's & James Bell & they went there to dinner. John Moore & sister Polly was there. Wm. & Jon'a Taylor came home with me. 4, Wednesday. Smart frost and fine day. C.Taylor called here going to Mr.D.Triplett Jon'a Taylor went to C.Taylor's and ret'd in evening. Wm Taylor & walked to the School house & dined together at home. Took Bee tree,not much honey, about 1 1/2 Gallons. 5, Smart frost & fine weather, dry. T.Bohon came here & bought 7 lb unwashed wool paid me for same 8/9. C.Taylor came here to breakfast & set out by Mr T.Bell's for Fredericksburg, said J.Bell intends down with him- Gave him men'dum to purchase a few things, Bootlegs &c. Wm & Jon'a Taylor made & set 3 Partridge traps Mr Sam Terril called & dined with us- Went to J.Taylor's with letter from Mr. Toulmin desiring to be informed if he wou'd sell his land on Harrod's Creek- J.Taylor & wife got home from T.Barbour's in the evening- Wm,-Jon'a Taylor & I walked over late and returned- J.Taylor jr & Nancy absent. M.Biggers went to Mr Triplett's to enquire when he would send for my wheat-but was not informed- I sent by him & got 10 lb Coffee. 6, Friday, Mild weather-Smoky. Wm. Taylor & I went to Mr Dade's. J.Taylor jr came there afterwards, we dined there & returned after. 7, Soft weather, Smoky and sunshine. Wm & Jonathan Taylor went(about noon) to C.Taylor's, said Sally Taylor will go with them,this evening, to Capt Conway's- A.Porter jr came here in evening, asked me to go to the office to Certify his father's Com'rs returns- I excused myself. Gathered the Corn in Mountain field this week. Shocking it yesterday & present day- Quantity not great.J.Taylor Sr & Tho's Barbour called here on their way to Fredericksburg. Finished Shocking Mountain Corn. 8, Warm, cloudy and brisk South wind. I staid at home- Reuben Taylor dined with me. Capt H.Bell sent and got Brutus to put with his bitch. Col Ja's Barbour came here at night. ---[SUNDAY]--9, Very windy & some rain last night- showery & warm day. Col Barbour went away after breakfast. James Handy came here from the office. I could not do his business. 10, Tuesday, Earth a little frozen. Clear pleasant day. Measuring Corn made in Mountain field. Took up part of my greens & set in trenches. 11, Mild weather. Finished measuring Corn made in Mountain field. 28 Hhds & 6 hamper put into my old Corn house & 4 Hhds carried to Macon Biggers. Put 20 Hogs up in pen to fatten. I went to Mrs Thomas's- Mr Ben Porter, Wm Dade, Ch's Taylor & self Appraised the property not produced the 23rd June last,when the principal part was appraised- Col.Tho. Barbour & Mr Wm Buckner and wives were there. William & Jonathan Tylor came here after dark from C.T's-

From the TAYLOR DIARY, #1907-z in the Southern Historical Collection, University of North Carolina Library, Chapel Hill. FOR REFERENCE ONLY: PERMISSION TO PUBLISH MUST BE REQUESTED. WARNING: MOST MANUSCRIPTS ARE PROTECTED BY COPYRIGHT.

Last edit over 3 years ago by maxineh
Displaying pages 41 - 50 of 124 in total