Francis Taylor Diary

Pages That Need Review

Diary, 1786-1799

276
Needs Review

15[269] DIARY OF FRANCIS TAYLOR, 1795,1795 August, 1, Saturday, Thick warm morning, a little rain. Wind & Shower in even'g. Plowed Turnep patch before the house, but thought too wet to sow- Wm Taylor came here from J.Taylor's to dinner. In evening Ben Hyde came here & staid. 2, Cloudy-rainy evening. B.Hyde went away after breakfast. Wm Taylor & I went to C.Taylor's. J.Taylor & family,T.Barbour & do.,Sukey Gibson,Sukey Conway & Salley Burnley dined at C.Taylor's- W.T. & I came home in the rain. 3, Violent North wind with rain all last night, laid the corn very much.Wm Taylor & I went to J.Taylor's to dinner. T.Barbour & family & E.Chew there. Patrick Bell agreed to buy 15 Barrels corn 13/4 for ___quisenbery but said he would let me know certainly tomorrow. 4, Fair day. W.Taylor & I went to a Barbecue at Mr. Nooe's. There was a Genteel Company, the river being full stopped a good many. W.Taylor went to C.Taylor's at night. Saw Aaron Quisenberry at Mr.Shepherd's- he paid me $10. for 15 Barrel corn, which he said he wou'd send for tomorrow & next day. Deliv'd Pat'k Bell 10 Barrels the 5th & 5 Bar'ls the 10th August5, Fair morn & warm. Had the Wheat in home field stacked. Delivered 10 Barrels corn to P.Bell for A.Quisenbery. Sowed winter Turnep Seed in North Patch before the door, and my old sort in South. Ben Taylor arrived from Kentucky this evening- said Hub'd Taylor went to Col Madison's 6, Fairweather. C.Taylor & Wm Taylor came here- We all went to J.Taylor's- John Pendleton's family, one of his sisters & one of Mr.H.Pendleton's daughters got there to day. T.Barbour's family was there & C.Taylor's. I sent Frank with 3 Bus Wheat to Dade's Mill, did n t get much four. W.Taylor's George went with him & a bag of Corn. J.T.jr came with Ben & W.Taylor at night. 7, Some clouds- rain at distance. J.Taylor,C.Taylor,Ben Taylor, Wm Taylor(B.), J. Taylor jr,dined here- Wm Banks & Gab'l Barbour came here in evening- I agreed to let G.Barbour have 10 Bar'ls Corn at 13/5- Hub'd Taylor got here in evening- he,Ben & W.Taylor staid- Had a bed of E.Wheat Trod. 8, Saturday- Fair morn, a little rain in evening. We went to a Muster at Court house & from there to C.Taylor's- J.Taylor,Hub Taylor,Reu Taylor,Ben Taylor, J.Taylor jr, Wm Dade & Allan Massey dined here & W.Taylor(Botetourt). H.T., B.T. & Wm Taylor came home with m. 9, [SUNDAY] Pleasant for the season. W.Taylor wen to C.Taylor's,who he said promised to go with him to Capt Conways- I paid Benjamin Taylor Twenty pounds, which he had paid Jonathan Taylor- & Eighteen pounds he had paid for an order (from Wm Taylor & Sally Taylor,by their brother George) in favour of James Ware-being what was due from the Estate of Geo Taylor dec'd. I also paid Ben Taylor twelve pounds,which sum he had paid to Richard Woolfolk, my Agent in Kentucky for the purpose of paying taxes on my Lands there. I went with Hubbard & Ben Taylor to Reu Taylor's from thence they went after dinner by the Springs to Caroline. J.Taylor & family, T.Barbour & do, J.Pendleton's family &c,John Moore & Fanny- Phil Barbour & two sisters(of Madison), Rob't Cawthon & Wife dined at Reu Taylor's. 10, Fine morning- Rainy afternoon. Delivered 5 Barrels Corn to Patrick Bell,making the quantity of 15 which I sold Aaron Quisenbery- Rec'd by Patrick Bell from Mess'rs Blairs, a Sack Salt & a loaf Sugar 8 lb- I paid 3/- for bringing to P.Bell. Gab'l Barbour sent a boy & got 2 1/2 Bus Corn to send to Mill for meal. I rode to Mr.Shepherd's & carried Newspapers w'ch P.B.bro't from Fred'g. J'Taylor sent me a Quarter of Lamb. 11, Cloudy last night & to day. Rainy afternoon. Ch's Leathers was here & informed me he could get pines of Capt Z.Herndon for pales. Had Corn Beat out for G.Barbour. M.Biggers had 1/1/2 Bus Wheat. Wm Taylor[son of Jonathan -WKA] came in evening from J.Gibson's to day and thinks it probable that Miss S.Gibson will marry him and he intends to Orange about the last of October.[He married Susan Gibson,dau. of John Gibson, Nov 26,1795.WKA] 12, Cloudy misty morning,Great rain afternoon- Wm Taylor set out for Botetourt.intends to Col Madison's to day.

From the TAYLOR DIARY, #1907-z in the Southern Historical Collection, University of North Carolina Library, Chapel Hill. FOR REFERENCE ONLY: PERMISSION TO PUBLISH MUST BE REQUESTED. WARNING: MOST MANUSCRIPTS ARE PROTECTED BY COPYRIGHT.

Last edit about 4 years ago by maxineh
277
Needs Review

16[270] DIARY OF FRANCIS TAYLOR,1795,1795 August, 13, Rainy night,cloudy & rainy moderately not of the day.Reu Taylor called to breakfast returning from Mr.Shepherd's,whose run-a-way Peter he had carried home. Gab'l Barbour came with Waggon & got 8 Barrels Corn & paid me 14 dollars in part. 14, Rainy night & morning,with strong North wind- Cleared to day about noon,windy. Had Wheat brought from Barn & put into Hhds in Cellar. 15, Fair and pleasant. I went to J.Taylor's-his daughter Nancy is better after a severe illness- J.Pendleton & family, T.Barbour jr & do. Mrs Gaines & her granddaughter got up from Caroline- there at dinner. 16, [SUNDAY] Fair day and pleasant. I went to J.Taylor's- the same there as yesterday. 17, Fair & warm. Treading Early wheat-the 2d, Bed. I rode to Court house,got sundry articles for E.Chew & came with J.Taylor jr to his father's and let E.Chew have the goods I got for her. whilst I was there F.S.Taylor came to my house and walked over,got there before dinner- The same company(except T.Barbour & J Pendleton as dined there yesterday- Also G Taylor & daughter Betsy, Reu Taylor's wife & son Billy. F.S.Taylor came here at night. 18, Fair and warm.Delivered to Breedlove for Mr.Tho's Barbour 150 lb Hay.F.S.Taylor dined with me, after dinner we walked by my barn to C.Taylor's and returned at night. Rec'd Sal & Sugar from Triplett from Banks's store. 19, Warm day,a little hazy. J.Taylor, J.Taylor jr, Reu Taylor & F.S.Taylor dined here. J.T.jr, & F.S.T. here all night. John Brent sent the Shoemaker's boy got half a barrel corn he spoke for the 17th. 20, Fair morning- a few drops of rain in evening. Trod a floor of common wheat, the first. F.S.T. & I went to C.Taylor's to dinner. J.Pendleton & T.Barbour's wives &c, Mrs Gaines,Misses Pendletons, Milley Glassel & J.Taylor jr there. 21, Cloudy windy & cool last night, small rain all day. F.S.T. & I walked to J.Taylor's. J.Pendleton & family, Mrs Gaines, Fanny & Betsy Pendleton, Milley Glassel & Sally & Betsy Taylor were there- J.Taylor jr gone to a Barbecue at Coleman's Springs, we ret'd at night. 22, Cloudy & fine rain last night & to day. F.S.T. dined here, in evening he walked to C.Taylor's & returned by J.Taylor's- says that Nat is very sick. 23, Sunday, Cloudy & small rain till noon-fair evening. F.S.T. dined here, after went to C.Taylor's & returned by J.Taylor's- N.Taylor very ill. Bought & p'd F.Taliaferro's Gabriel for Chickens 3/-. Henry Daingerfield came here in the evening.24, Cloudy morn, fair noon, rainy evening. H.Daingerfield,F.S.Taylor & I went to Court. I paid Jos Woolfolk $28. for Macon Biggers,being for an Ex'on, Wm Reynolds Vs Wm Biggers & Macon Biggers & am to pay Wm Pollock jr his commission of the same tomorrow- the foregoing to discharge the Ex'on,which s'd Woolfolk had an order from Tho's Barnett,ass'ee of Wm Reynolds to receive. Mr.D.Triplett agreed to give me 8/- p/r bushel for my wheat and the rise till X'mas if I would not draw for the money till I set the price. 25, Fine morning, clouds and warm. Reu Taylor called here, I lent him 10 dollars. We went to Court. I paid Tho Proctor 4 dollars for 4 days hired of Bob to cut wheat. Rec'd 10/- of T.Barbour,balance of old acoo't. F.S.T. dined at Aunt Taylor's & came here. 26, Warm & appearance of distant rains. F.S.T. & I went to Court. I paid Wm Pollock 34/6 for his commission on Ex'on, Reyolds vs Wm & M.Biggers for M.Biggers. The Court appointed A Shepherd, Wm Dade, Ab'm Maury, U.Mallory, com'rs to Examine J.Coleman's of Chew's estate. F.S.T. went to J.Taylor's in evening. H.Daingerfield came here from Court. 27, Soem clouds. H.Daingerfield went away after breakfast. Reu Taylor called here returning from Co't house. F.S.T. came over & I returned to J.Taylor's with him. C.Taylor,J.Pendleton's & T.Barbour's familys and two Miss Pendletons & E Chew dined there. Trod Wheat. 28, Thick fog, cleared. C.Taylor sent & got 2 1/2 Bushels threshed Wheat. F.S.Taylor & I rode to Reu Taylor's- J.Taylor jr & W.Moore jr dined there.

From the TAYLOR DIARY, #1907-z in the Southern Historical Collection, University of North Carolina Library, Chapel Hill. FOR REFERENCE ONLY: PERMISSION TO PUBLISH MUST BE REQUESTED. WARNING: MOST MANUSCRIPTS ARE PROTECTED BY COPYRIGHT.

Last edit about 4 years ago by maxineh
278
Needs Review

17[271] DIARY OF FRANCIS TAYLOR,1795,1795 August, 29, A little fog- some clouds, F.S.T. & I went to Court house, he got his horse shod I bought a roll 12 1/2 yds Linen 1/- for myself & a pair of Cotton Stockings 4/2 for E.Chew- ret'd to dinner. 30, Sunday, Cloudy & Showery. F.S.Taylor & I went to J.Taylor's. T.Barbourr & family J.Pendleton's family, Miss Pendletons, dined there. Sent 5 3/4 lb butter to C. Taylor's p/r boy. 31, Cloudy & light showers. J.Taylor, J.Taylor jr, J.Pendleton, Catlett Conway, F. Conway, Harry Fitzhugh, & F.S.T. dined here. F.Conway & J.Taylor jr staid.

September, 1, Cloudy & misty. J.Fitzhugh came by & F.Conway went with him to Court house- John Taylor,C.P.Howard,J.Taylor,J.Pendleton,J.Taylor jr & F.S.Taylor dined here. Deliv'd 150 lb Hay & fodder to Robinson for which I rec'd 6/- sent by T.Barbour Began to get Fodder. 2, Fine pleasant day. F.S.T. & I went to Barbecue at Court house,213 Dined. I paid John Taylor,at Nooe's,$5.2.0 for 25 Gal's Whisky at 3/6,Cash 5/- & carriage 9/6. I let J's Tayloe have 7/6 to purchase Nest of Ware. 3, Fair and pleasant, cool.F.S.Taylor set out on his return to Norfolk intending to Mrs Daingerfield's to day. I let F.S.Taylor have $10.to purchase things for me at Norfolk & 4/- to get Anderson's pills. I went to Court house the Com'rs &c met to settle the Ex'or ship of W.Bell dec'd, but did not finish. Some quarreling & fighting last evening & to day. Col.Taliaferro's & Col. Barbour's sons. Mrs Lewis dancing school. 4, Continues fine weather,cool. I met the Com'rs again to day at Court house, we did not finish the business- Maj'r Moore,Col.Jameson & self present- J.Taylor was yesterday. 5, Cool & some clouds. The same Com'rs as yesterday met to day about Sunrise- We nearly concluded the business and are to meet again next saturday.*Col J.Madison jr paid ten Dollars to me for Eliz'a Chew,being the consideration for her relinquishing a claim in the Land he bought of Maj'r Lee- he also let me have 10 Doll's more to be Applied to her use(Bank note 20 Dol's). I dined at Mr. Shepherd's. 3d & 4th at Nooe's. Finished securing Fodder in Mountain field. [Col.J.Madison jr. President U.S.-WKA] 6, Sunday, Cloudy with fine mist. I staid at home. Rec'd a Nest Wooden ware w'ch I gave John Taylor 7/6 to buy. p'd Joe for bringing 9d. 7, Rainy last night & to day- showery,heavy at night. Sent Ja Taylor's & got 6 Bus White Wheat,for which am to return threshed wheat, sorry. Began to sow the above in Mountain field. John Bowling came with a letter from Mr Shepherd to know my price for Early Wheat & took sample, I wrote answer 9. bushel. Rec'd a letter from F.S.Taylor with 2 boxes Anderson's pills which I sent 4/- by him to pay for. C.Taylor ret'd Flour they borrowed, I sent Peaches & also to J.Taylor's Hannah. 8, Last night very rainy & some to day- good evening. J.Taylor sent & got a basket Peaches. Also 4 lb butter Grandison. In evening Sowed a little wheat. 9, Very warm, Fair. After dinner I walked to J.Taylor's & returned. 10, Warm cloudy evening. After dinner J.Taylor jr, Milly Glassel, Nancy Taylor, Fanny & Betsy Pendleton & Nelly Barbour were here an hour or two. Parted Rams from Ewes. 11, Warm & fair. I went to Church- A Mr Butler preached,the congregation was small. Came home & went to J.Taylor's to dinner. J.Pendleton & family, his sister, Fanny Pendleton & E Chew there. T.Barbour's family went home to day. Wm Pollock was at J.Taylor's in evening. I settled with him & took a receipt for my Taxes & Levies & paid himn 348 Cents for two fee bills, the whole amounting to $4.0.1/2 which J.Taylor paid & he gave my account Credit by him for same.

From the TAYLOR DIARY, #1907-z in the Southern Historical Collection, University of North Carolina Library, Chapel Hill. FOR REFERENCE ONLY: PERMISSION TO PUBLISH MUST BE REQUESTED. WARNING: MOST MANUSCRIPTS ARE PROTECTED BY COPYRIGHT.

Last edit about 4 years ago by maxineh
279
Needs Review

18[272] DIARY OF FRANCIS TAYLOR,1795,1795 September, 12, A little cooler & some clouds. I went to Court house- Paid Nooe 40/2 my part of Expense of Barbecue- there were 25 Subscribers. The Com'rs met and Signed a Report of And'w Shepherd &c, Executorship on Wm Moore, James Taylor & Fra Taylor signed- Col Madison did not sign. Gab'l Barbour sent & got 1/2 Bar'l Corn, part of 1 1/2 Bar'ls. John Brent sent for & got 1/2 Bar'l Corn. 13, [SUNDAY] Rained a little last night. I paid Moses 3/- for Chickens(6d due) paid Bill for 1 doz Joshua's 3/-. I went to James Taylor's. C.Taylor,John Pendleton & family & Miss Fanny & Betsy Pendleton dined there. E.Chew. 14, Fog in morn- Fair warm day. Little Peter absent from home. J.Taylor sent & had 3 Bus' threshed wheat. Gab'l Barbour sent & had 5 Bus' corn being the whole paid for by T.Barbour. 15, Continues warm. I staid at home. Finished sowing wheat in Mountain field 24 1/2 Bushels, 6 White from J.Taylor's by Bars- 18 1/2 Red of our own. 16, Continues warm. L-Peter came home in morning. Began to pull Blades in Lower field. Sunned Bacon, 24 Gam's- 20 Shoulders & 16 Midlings & 3 old Gammons-1 Midling missed- J.Taylor came & dined- he chose 3 GAmmons 2 Shoulders & 2 Midlings,Bacon & to send for tomorrow- says he will pay for at Court. J.Taylor paid me 2/9 1/2 & balanced on acco'ts to this day. 17, Continues warm. J.Taylor sent for 7 p/s bacon he chose yesterday, I sent them 110 lb viz 30,46, 2 S. 31, & 2 M. 34 lb. I rode to Court house. Mrs Lewis teaching dancing. I came back to dinner. 18, Fairmorning. Thunder Shower at night. Alex'r Shepherd came here to enquire if I had any Early Wheat to sell. I informed him Abner Porter had engaged to take it- He dined with me. After dinner I rode with him to Court house & got a little wet returning. 19, Cool and fair. I staid at home-finished pulling fodder and Then cut part of Tops in road field, 20, [SUNDAY] Fair & cool morn- a few drops rain in evening. I rode to Rob't Taylor's Col.E.Pendleton & son Edmund and familys dined there. I rec'd a letter from F.S.Taylor dated the 15th at Port Royal21, Continues cool-some. Ch's Taylor came here and dined-said he wants to get some Bacon, when his family returns from G.Conway's Finished Cutting Corn tops John Pendleton's family set out for Culpeper yesterday. J.Taylor went with them J. Pendelton's wife was taken ill on the road and they returned as far back as Mrs James's, where she mis-carried. 22, Cool & clear. Slight frost.Col.E.Pendleton & son Edmund, C.Taylor,Reu Taylor & J.Taylor jr dined here. J.Pendleton's wife came to J.Taylor's to day. Killed a lamb. Sent 2 1/2 lb butter to J.Taylor's. 23, Continues fair & cool. I went to J.Taylor's. Col E.Pendleton & son & familys and C.Taylor dined. J.Pendelton's wife as well as could be expected in her situation. Finished Stacking Tops in Night. 24, A little fog- Fair & Cool and windy. Began to Sow wheat of Early kind in road field. Yesterday gave a Bond to Indemnify A Thornton Trustee to Jos[or Jas] Robinson dec'd if he will pay the Debt & Costs, suit, Taylor's Ex'ors Vs him. Col E.Pendleton received the bond & promised to receive the above and said he would not charge commission- Gab'l Barbour sent a Note to deliver Wm Banks 1 1/2 Bar'ls Corn, 1 Bar'l del'd Banks's Waggoner,Sam. Sept 25, 1/2 Varl to Jim going to Mill. 25, Hazy, Mr Tho' Bell came here before noon and staid an hour-went to C.Taylor's & said intended to dine at Aunt Taylor's26, Fog & Cloudy morning. Moderate rain after. Sold M.Biggers a Midling 15 lb Bacon & gave a Shoulder 7 1/2 lb. I went to J.Taylor's, he went with me to John Waugh's a sale of his slaves was advertised,but not sold before we came away, about 3 o'clock. 27, Sunday, Last night very windy & rainy and some rain before noon to day- very warm J.Taylor gave me permission to turn my colt into his meadow with his, w'ch I had done to day- I went to J.Taylor's to dinner. John Pendleton and family & E Chew & Mrs Stuart there.

From the TAYLOR DIARY, #1907-z in the South Historical Collection, University of North Carolina Library, Chapel Hill. FOR REFERENCE ONLY: PERMISSION TO PUBLISH MUST BE REQUESTED. WARNING: MOST MANUSCRIPTS ARE PROTECTED BY COPYRIGHT.

Last edit about 4 years ago by maxineh
280
Needs Review

19 [275] DIARY OF FRANCIS TAYLOR,1795,1795 September, 28, Warm & Fair morn. Uncommon Fresh in River. I went to Court. Let Mr.C.Howard have 10 dollars to geet me some articles and to pay for a Newspaper at Philadelphia, he & Mrs Howard propose to begin their journey tomorrow for that place. Paid John Henshaw 10/- for a pair Strong Shoes. John Bowling came here from Court. I sold him 17 lb Wool for which he paid 21/- C.Leathers was here & said will come to work tomorrow. 29, Fair. Cool evening. C.Leathers came about getting garden rails. I rode to Court house. The Report of Com'rs about Bell's Ex'ors enclosed & sent to Clk. High Court Chancery, p/r Thos. Bell. Del'd Mr Banks 1/2 Barrel Corn for G.Barbour's verbal order- G.B. did not send for any himself. 30, A little Frost, cool and clear. Mr.Shepherd sent & got 3 Bus Early wheat p/r Governor.

October, 1, Thursday, Some Frost- fair & moderate. Mr. T.Barbour called here & spoke me to let his waggoner have a Barrel corn. Sent 3 Bus' Early Wheat to Mr. Shepherd by Governor. C.Leathers about Garden rails. I rode in evening to Barbour's store,got 4 lb Shot and a pair leading lines-on account. Del'd T.Barbour's Joe 1 Bar'l Corn after dark. 2, Fair,moderate weather. Sent 3 Bus'Early wheat to Mr. Shepherd p/r Governor. Sowed about 25 Bus'E.wheat to Branch, the North side. 3, Foggy warm morn. Cloudy, some drops rain. I staid at home 4, [SUNDAY] Warm, some clouds. I went to J.Taylor's-he & John Pendleton were gone to Mr.T.Bells, when they returned they said Mr. Bell lies very ill- J.Taylor jr gone to Bledsoe's meeting- Miss Nancy Clayton at J.Taylor's. 5, Monday, Cloudy- heavy rain at & in night. Finished sowing the road field with Early wheat. M.Biggers says 35 1/2 Bus sown there. Common Wheat & White 24 1/2 Sown in Mountain field, C.Leathers getting rails for Garden. 6, Find pleasant day. Killed a ram lamb- a Qr gave to M.Biggers. J.Taylor, J.Taylor jr & J.Pendleton dined here. 7, Pleasant,some clouds. C.Taylor came here to breakfast- Let him have 14 lb butter in a pot- he went to J.Taylor's. My cart brought 2 Loads Pales & some rails- C.Leathers came about garden towards noon. T.Barbour's Joe got a Bar'l Corn in morn, and Ben'j Breedlove got 6 Bus' Corn &6 lab Bacon in afternoon on T.Barbour's account. Abner Porter & John Williams came & looked at my early wheat,sown and unsown & concluded to send for what I have to sell. A Shepherd sent Governor & got 3 Bus E.Wheat. 8, Fair & pleasant. Mrs James came here to breakfast & paid 55/9 in her acco't with G.Taylor's Estate. J.Taylor called her & said he shoud send for 3 Bus cleaned for self. I rode to Court house in evening. C.Leathers here. 9, A little frost, fair & pleasant. C.Taylor came here to breakfast, he got 114 lb Bacon. Treading Wheat- the first since began to seed. - C.Leathers. 10, Cloudy and cool. C.Leathers worked before he went to muster. Sowed 1/2 Bus red wheat by Sheep pen. Hemp patch. Abner Porter sent York & had 20 Bus Early Wheat. I went to Muster at Court house, ret'd to dinner. 11, Sunday, Warm rain last night & this morning. Fair evening. I went to J.Taylor's-Thos Barbour & wife, G.Barbour, Caty Nooe & E.Chew dined there. T.Barbour, his wife & Nancy Taylor went to Madison in evening. My Early kind of wheat does not come up thick. 12, Fair pleasant day. I walked to Mrs James's, who was from home. Came by Wheat yard- Treading- L[ittle].Peter absent to day. C.Taylor lent his boy,Frank. C.Leathers at work. Sent 3 Bus Wheat to Dade's Mill by Frank. Lent 2 Gallons best whisky to James Taylor. 13, Warm & fair. Rode to Court house- Officers Exercising to day. Mr Shepherd informed me the wheat he had of me did not come up well. I returned about 10 o'clock. Gab'l Barbour sent & got a Gammon, 13 lb Bacon. C.Leathers, I believe, at work. 14, Cloudy. I went to General Muster. C.Leathers worked till Breakfast. Saw Mr D. Triplett at Court house, he signed the agreement about wheat and offered to fix

From the TAYLOR DIARY, #1907-Z in the Southern Historical Collection, University of North Carolina Library, Chapel Hill. FOR REFERENCE ONLY: PERMISSION TO PUBLISH MUST BE REQUESTED. WARNING: MOST MANUSCRIPTS ARE PROTECTED BY COPYRIGHT.

Last edit about 4 years ago by maxineh
281
Needs Review

20[274] DIARY OF FRANCIS TAYLOR,1795,1795 October, 14,[Continued] the price at 9/6 p/r bushel,which I declined to take at present- he is to send for the wheat by 10 next month. Spoke to Wm. Bell to make a pair Cart wheels. 15, Strong S.wind & rainy morning,very windy clear evening. Cleaning Wheat- A good hog dead. J.Taylor's Daniel came with L.Peter after dark.C.Leathers not here to day. 16, Fine morning. Had Little peter whipped at Horse rack. C.Leathers here at work. Gab'l Barbour sent & got 1 Gam'n & 2 Shoulders, 29 lb bacon by George. J.Taylor was here about noon,spoke for 2 p/s bacon. I told him he might have peach trees to plant, he sent & got them. Bought a tray at night of T.Proctor's Bob, 1/6. 17, Rained before day, ceased ab't Sunrise, cleared windy & cool- J.Taylor sent & got 2 Shoulders 29 lb Bacon. C.Leathers worked till dinner. 18, Sunday, Smart Frost, cool and windy. I went to J.Taylor's,he, J.Taylor jr & J. Pendleton were gone to meeting & ret'd in evening. Heard Col James Taylor died lately.[ A mistake-AGG.- Col.James Taylor of Midway,Caroline Co.d. March 1814] 19, Frost- hazy and moderate. I rode to Mrs James's & informed her that she had not paid by 30/- as much as she owed G.T's Estate, she said would pay as soon as she got the money. Treading wheat. C.Leathers at work. Sold him 7 1/2 lb Wool. I walked to J.Taylor's in the evening, they sent me,after I returned, a piece of beef. I sent them about 3 plates butter. George brought me 2 Crocks from Barbour's store. 20, Fair and moderate. C.Leathers here. Treading wheat, finished at Barn. I rode to Mr T.Bell's- he is very weak, C.Taylor there- went to Court house- Bracken to make me boots. I returned home to dinner, walked to Barn. Had Colt brought home 21, Fair and moderate. C.Leathers here. J.Taylor, J.Taylor jr, John Pendleton & son John and Nat Taylor dined here, Abs'm Smith here to see J.Taylor jun'r in evening. 22, Moderate. C.Leathers about Paling, Bo't 1/2 Bus dried Applies Mrs T's Nanny. Jos. Clark called & breakfasted- I let him have 10 Dollars to buy 2sides upper & two of Soal Leather at Fred'g. Finished Cleaning Wheat at Barn & had it brought to Wheat house. 23, Warm, some clouds. Trod the Wheat at home,but cou'd not clean it- much injured by weevil. C.Leathers paling. John Pendleton here an hour or two in evening. Received a letter from F.S.Taylor with Newspapers. Turned Rams with Ewes. 24, Rainy morning,not much. C.Leathers worked about half the day-came here to breakfast, went home & returned afternoon & dined. So wet cou'd not clean the Wheat 25. trod yesterday.]25, Fair pleasant day-[SUNDAY]- smoky. Slight frost in morn. I went to J.Taylor's- J.Pendleton & family, Mrs James, Mrs Burnley dined there. Charles Bell & sister Nancy there a while in evening- Mr Bell a little mending. Hear that Col Jas Taylor is still living. 26, Fine mild weather. I went to Court, Mr Triplett not there. I wrote & requested him to send for my wheat. Paid Jos Clark 4/3 which he paid over the 10 dollars I sent for 4 hides Leather. C.Leathers not here to work today. 27, Fine weather continues. Killed my next Largest young Steer. C.Leathers worked here & left off. 28, Wednesday, Fine weather. H.Daingerfield came here last evening from Court and set off home after breakfast. Had the Beef (killed yesterday) cut out and Salted- weighed about 380- sent 2 ps. 24 lb to M.B. Chas Leathers came here on his wa to Jas Taylor's and produced his account for work done $5.13.6. I paid him Cash $5.4.1 1/2 & let him have 7 1/2 lb Wool 9/7 1/2- Delivered for Mr D.Triplett 42 1/2 Bus Wheat to Ch's Smith and 33 1/2 Bushels to Zach Lucas p/r Receipts. Rec'd 1/6 of Z.Lucas for 1/2 Bus Corn. William & Jonathan Taylor(nephews) arrived here in evening from Botetourt[sons of Jonathan Sr.WKA]. Dug potatoes,both kinds small, the 29th 29, Very fine mild weather. J.Taylor jr came here after breakfast- William & Jonathan Taylor went with him to a Race to be run at John Waugh's

From the TAYLOR DIARY, #1907-z in the Southern Historical Collection, University of North Carolina Library, Chapel Hill. FOR REFERENCE ONLY: PERMISSION TO PUBLISH MUST BE REQUESTED. WARNING: MOST MANUSCRIPTS ARE PROTECTED BY COPYRIGHT.

Last edit about 4 years ago by maxineh
282
Needs Review

21[275] DIARY OF FRANCIS TAYLOR,1795,1795, October, 30, Moderate,smoky. I walked in evening to C.Taylor's, asked Sister to cut Cloth Jacket. I'm very unwell-headache & sore jaw. Wm.,Jonathan & J.Taylor jr came here in evening. 31, Some clouds,no rain-cooler. The young men went away after Breakfast- I continue very unwell. Was sent for & went to C.Taylor's- Jonathan Taylor there. W.Taylor went to Mr.Gibson's. [Wm Taylor married leter Susan Gibson, dau of Jonathan Gibson- WKA.]

November, 1, Sunday, Hazy, some clouds & cool. I am very unwell, my jaw much swelled from a bad tooth. Cou'd not rest last night. Ch's Taylor wrote to me to lend him a Case bottle Whiskey which I did- Also sent about 1 lb butter, they sent for me to dinner but I was too unwell to go. They expected Mr Dade & Company. 2, Good weather. I suffered much in the first part of last night with pain in my jaw but the rising broke in my mouth before day & got easy. I rode to Court house- Paid Bracken 2/6 for mending shoes- Had shoes removed from my mare- Returned to dinner- J.Taylor jun'r & Jonathan Taylor here & dined with me- Reu Taylor and Ch's Taylor here in evening. 3, Some clouds & cooler. Garde & Bracken,Shoemakers,were here, the former got licence to marry Mary Yates. Jonathan Taylor & I went to Reuben Taylor's. Charles Taylor & W. Taylor went by Mr Bell's & James Bell & they went there to dinner. John Moore & sister Polly was there. Wm. & Jon'a Taylor came home with me. 4, Wednesday. Smart frost and fine day. C.Taylor called here going to Mr.D.Triplett Jon'a Taylor went to C.Taylor's and ret'd in evening. Wm Taylor & walked to the School house & dined together at home. Took Bee tree,not much honey, about 1 1/2 Gallons. 5, Smart frost & fine weather, dry. T.Bohon came here & bought 7 lb unwashed wool paid me for same 8/9. C.Taylor came here to breakfast & set out by Mr T.Bell's for Fredericksburg, said J.Bell intends down with him- Gave him men'dum to purchase a few things, Bootlegs &c. Wm & Jon'a Taylor made & set 3 Partridge traps Mr Sam Terril called & dined with us- Went to J.Taylor's with letter from Mr. Toulmin desiring to be informed if he wou'd sell his land on Harrod's Creek- J.Taylor & wife got home from T.Barbour's in the evening- Wm,-Jon'a Taylor & I walked over late and returned- J.Taylor jr & Nancy absent. M.Biggers went to Mr Triplett's to enquire when he would send for my wheat-but was not informed- I sent by him & got 10 lb Coffee. 6, Friday, Mild weather-Smoky. Wm. Taylor & I went to Mr Dade's. J.Taylor jr came there afterwards, we dined there & returned after. 7, Soft weather, Smoky and sunshine. Wm & Jonathan Taylor went(about noon) to C.Taylor's, said Sally Taylor will go with them,this evening, to Capt Conway's- A.Porter jr came here in evening, asked me to go to the office to Certify his father's Com'rs returns- I excused myself. Gathered the Corn in Mountain field this week. Shocking it yesterday & present day- Quantity not great.J.Taylor Sr & Tho's Barbour called here on their way to Fredericksburg. Finished Shocking Mountain Corn. 8, Warm, cloudy and brisk South wind. I staid at home- Reuben Taylor dined with me. Capt H.Bell sent and got Brutus to put with his bitch. Col Ja's Barbour came here at night. ---[SUNDAY]--9, Very windy & some rain last night- showery & warm day. Col Barbour went away after breakfast. James Handy came here from the office. I could not do his business. 10, Tuesday, Earth a little frozen. Clear pleasant day. Measuring Corn made in Mountain field. Took up part of my greens & set in trenches. 11, Mild weather. Finished measuring Corn made in Mountain field. 28 Hhds & 6 hamper put into my old Corn house & 4 Hhds carried to Macon Biggers. Put 20 Hogs up in pen to fatten. I went to Mrs Thomas's- Mr Ben Porter, Wm Dade, Ch's Taylor & self Appraised the property not produced the 23rd June last,when the principal part was appraised- Col.Tho. Barbour & Mr Wm Buckner and wives were there. William & Jonathan Tylor came here after dark from C.T's-

From the TAYLOR DIARY, #1907-z in the Southern Historical Collection, University of North Carolina Library, Chapel Hill. FOR REFERENCE ONLY: PERMISSION TO PUBLISH MUST BE REQUESTED. WARNING: MOST MANUSCRIPTS ARE PROTECTED BY COPYRIGHT.

Last edit about 4 years ago by maxineh
283
Needs Review

22[276] DIARY OF FRANCIS TAYLOR,1795. 1795, November, 12, Some clouds- good weather for the season. Began gathering Corn in Road field. Wm Taylor, Jon'a Taylor & I went to Sale at Mrs Thomas's. Slaves sold very high boys from $50 to $80. There was considerable many people at the Sale. Wm & Jon'a Taylor went to J.Taylor's. C.Taylor ret'd a bottle whisky & sent Boot leg &c. 22/6. 13, Cool and cloudy. I walked to C.Taylor's. left 8 yds Virg'a Cotton & thread with sister Taylor to make some undershirts- I came with j.Taylor & Dined at his house, got a pack Cards he bought for me 3/- Wm Taylor came here at night. 14, Cloudy. Jonathan Taylor came here from C.Taylor's before breakfast- He & William Taylor walked to Court house- Dancing school two days past & this day by Mrs Lewis- They said they were invited to dine with G.Barbour.I had 16 1/4 doz or 195 Candles made- Took about 31 lb Tallow, 7 lb Bees wax & 1 1/2 lb wick. Wm & Jon'a Taylor came back at night. 15, [SUNDAY] Moderate. Cloudy at night. I went with Wm & Jon'a Taylor to Reuben Taylor's. J.Taylor, J.Taylor jr, Nancy, Sally & Betsy Taylor, R'd Barbour(Culp) his sister Fanny, Gab'l Barbour, Lucy Barbour(Orange) Rob't Moore, Polly & Fanny Moore dined there- W.Taylor staid. Jonathan went to J.Taylor's. 16, High wind & heavy rain in the past night, rainy morn. Fine mild afternoon. J.Taylor called on me, I lent him 15 dollars to pay for Flour & Butter. Wm Taylor & Reuben Taylor called here on way to W.Madison's. Joseph Robinson on his way from Fred'g received 50 Bus'Wheat to Carry to D.Triplett- Had it run thro'Fan, & Had the last cleaned wheat run thro'Fan. 17, Fair pleasant weather. J.Taylor, J.Taylor jr, C.Taylor, Wm Taylor & Jon'a Taylor dined here- Wm & Jonathan came from J.Taylor's, J.Taylor jr & Jonathan Taylor set out after dinner on their way to Fredericksburg. 18, Fine weather- hazy evening. I rode to Court house & ret'd to Dinner- Bought 3 doz Apples of A,Banks' negro Waggoner. Wm Taylor went after breakfast to John Gibsons. 19, Thursday, Some clouds- warm, smoky. Davy complains of Pain in his side & breast. I gave him 24 Grains Jallap & 8 of Ipecac- William Taylor sent his mare by Mr Gibson's negro & wrote for his young sorril horse, w'ch the man took. After dinner I walked to C.Taylor's & back. 20, Some clouds- mild weather. Finished gatherine Corn in Pasture field & got it Carted to Fodder Stack. 41 Loads-not all shocked. I staid at home. Jonathan Taylor returned from Fredericksburg- he dined at Reu Taylor's. 21, Cloudy & a little round snow in morning. Joshua Willis's Harry took 21 Bus' Wheat for D.Triplett. Zeph'a Nooe wrote me to send him some Bacon by Jim- I sent 2 Gammons 27 lbs & 2 Shoulders 29 lb- Jon'a Taylor & I walked to C.Taylor's to Dinner. Wm Taylor came there last evening- he came home with me at night & Jonathan staid at C.Taylor's. J.Taylor, J.Taylor jr, Nancy Taylor, Charles Bell & above dined there. J.Taylor ret'd $4.10.0 borrowed last Monday.Overseer & my People at work on road. 22, Sunday, Windy,but not very cold- some clouds. William Taylor & I walked to J.Taylor's- C.Taylor & family, Jonathan Taylor, Sally Burnley- Mrs Day, E.Chew, there. John Gibson came to my house- W.Taylor & I returned about 3 o'clock- Jon'a Taylor came in evening- Also Harry Daingerfield & afterwards Capt William Taylor(Fred'g) 23, Fine moderate weather. My Company & I went to Court. Wm & Jonathan Taylor ret'd with me at night to dinner. John Henshaw let me have a pair Strong shoes. I paid him 11/- for them. 24, Mild weather. I went to Court- Wm Taylor went to Court, got marriage Licence- He went to C.Taylor's to dinner- Jon'a Taylor went there before noon- they came to my house at night. 25, Continues mild weather. Wm & Jonathan Taylor left my house to go to John Gibson's The former expected to be married tomorrow. Jonathan said he thought of proceeding towards the Army via Redstone. I went to Court. Rec'd 42/- of Z.Nooe for 56 lb bacon.

From the TAYLOR DIARY, #1907-z in the Southern Historical Collection, University of North Carolina Library, Chapel Hill. FOR REFERENCE ONLY: PERMISSION TO PUBLISH MUST BE REQUESTED. WARNING: MOST MANUSCRIPTS ARE PROTECTED BY COPYRIGHT.

Last edit about 4 years ago by maxineh
284
Needs Review

23[277] DIARY OF FRANCIS TAYLOR, 1795, 1795, November, 26, Cloudy with some fine rain. I took a beehive. Finished measuring corn. Account of Corn made,1795 Mountain field, 28 Hhds at 12 Bus', 336 Bushels Pasture field, 47, 564 Gathered 1/2, 6 75, Total 906 made Put in Old Corn house, say, 40 Hhds Do in New, 20 M.Biggers had, 14 Has been used, say 1 1/2 75 Credit Macon Biggers By his 1/6 of 906 Bushels Corn made, 151 my allowance for next years provisions, 40 191 Dr. To 1 Bar'l old & 1/2 Bar'l new Corn, 7 1/2 14 Hhds you carried home, 168 F.Taylor bought at 10/- p/r barrel p/r acc', 15 1/2 191 27, Rained some last night- cleared mild. Had a large Shoat Which has long been fattened and a Smaller Boar do w'ch could not be gelt, killed. Had the former salted- Let M.Biggers have 1/4 of the small one. Reuben Twyman & brother Loaded with 60 Bushels Wheat to be delivered D.Triplett- Had it well cleaned. C.Taylor sent wheat in return for 2 1/2 Bushels he had formerly to send to mill. 28, Great Frost.Some clouds-pleasant mild day. C.Taylor borrowed a Case bottle Rum I went to Mr D. Triplett's Mill- My Wheat delivered there has lost very much, 207 only made 172,23/60. I bought there a pair Rose blankets 30/- & nothing else. I came to Barbour's Store-bought 1/4 lb Tea 1/9, 7 pair yard hose & 2/8 & 8 doz vest buttons 24/5. Dined at night. 29, Sunday, Rain in night. Dark cloudy & rained most of day moderately. I dined at home. My mare sick. Had her drenched. 30, High wind last night and cleared- Fair day moderate. I rode to Barbour's Store- Bought woolen cloths for Negroes- Cloth for Coat for self &c. Also for Breeches &c. Reu Taylor was at Store, we dined there and came by Doolin's- He left Cloth to make in a Great Coat, and I left my cloth &c. Heard that T.Barbour jr's wife had a daughter born two days ago-7 months child. This month the weather has been unusually mild, scarce any ice & little frost- Tobacco succors green,and leaves on fruit trees & c.

December, 1, Hazy- Thin clouds, mild. I rode to Court house- saw Wm Madison there. Came away about noon, called at Doolins and took wit me cloth &c for Breeches &c. Left Cloth & trimmings for Coat. 2, Some ice,cool and windy. Lightning last night in West. C, Taylor sent to ask me dine there- I went over, William Taylor & wife was there- Capt Conway came in evening, going tomorow to his Quarter. Received Newspapers- Norfolk & Philad'a at night.[Wm Taylor son of Jonathan, m. Susan Gibson,dau.of John Gibson, Nov. 26 1795-WKA] 3, Cool & cloudy morning-fair evening. I carried Legs & vamp Leathers to Mr Eubank at Hyde's to make a pair Boots. I got back about 3 o'clock-Wm Taylor,his wife & Sally Taylor got here soon after & staid till sunset. John Hill & A.Manspoil (in my absence) called here- M.Biggers delivered 30 Bushels wheat to each of them (60 Bus.) for D.Triplett.

From the TAYLOR DIARY, #1907-z in the Southern Historical Collection, University of North Carolina Library, Chapel Hill. FOR REFERENCE ONLY: PERMISSION TO PUBLISH MUST BE REQUESTED. WARNING: MOST MANUSCRIPTS ARE PROTECTED BY COPYRIGHT.

Last edit about 4 years ago by maxineh
285
Needs Review

24[278] DIARY OF FRANCIS TAYLOR,1795, 1795, December, 4, Sharp frost-mild evening, thin clouds. I rode to Doolin's- He took my measure for a Coat. Went to Court house. Bought a vest Pettern & 3 hanks silk of A.Shepherd jr & paid him 17/6 for them. Bo't 2 pair Worsted hose on acc'o at Barbour's 16/- After dinner walked to C.Taylor's. Wm Taylor & wife were there. I returned at night, C.T. & W.T. said if it suits them they will come here tomorrow. 5, Cold- some clouds in morn- Clear after. Lent Wm Taylor my Sorril mare to go after his horses, they left C.Taylor's yesterday. J.Taylor jr came here going to Tho's Barbour's- J.Taylor & Rob't Coleman dined here. John Leathers jr called here at night returning from Col Barbour's place, which he says he is to Oversee. He promised to bring me some smoking Tob'o Monday next, 6, Sunday, Hard frost. Moderate weather. I walked to C.Taylor's. W.Taylor & wife & Rob't Coleman dined there. 7, Hail,snow & rain in morn, rainy evening. Had all my wheat on hand run through the fan- 6 Bushels put into two bags for my own use. William Taylor came from C.Taylor's, dined with me, and returned in the Evening- C.Taylor went in last night to Uriel Mallory's, to visit his daughter, very ill. Gidieon May came with a Waggon for Corn he bought of M.Biggers- M.Biggers wife delivered it(he being gone to May's)- from Stack near the Stable. 8, Cleared last night- some clouds, moderate. J.Taylor sent for me, I went over to dinner- William Taylor, his wife, Sally, Betsy & Polly Taylor were there. J.Taylor jr not returned from Culpeper. 9, Smart frost- Fair pleasant day. Polly Edwards(with her sister Sally) came here and cut out Coats &breeches for my 5 negro men. I paid her 3/- and she took Frank's to make,for which I agreed to give her 3/- She got done soon after dinner. 10, Thursday, Mild pleasant- a few clouds. I rode to Court house to see Barbour's Salt, it will not suit to Salt Pork,being coarse. Left a letter with Mr.Shepherd for F.S.Taylor. Bo't 2 oz Col'd thread & paid Mr. Shepherd for do 1/- do 2 oz white 1/- & 9d.- on acco't at Barbour's- I got home by 11 o'clock- W.Taylor had sent word he wou'd be here to dinner. He, his wife, Sally & Betsy Taylor & C.Taylor dined here. 11, Moderate for the season. I paid 4/- for 8 Ball soap to E.Chew's Hannah. She said it was the property of Aunt Taylor's Phoebe. Sent Frank & got 2 Bus' Salt from A Shepherd. I carried Cloth & Rib. to Polly Edwards to get 2p'r Breeches made- Went over the nountain to Reuben Taylor's. Wm Taylor & wife- Sally, Betsy & Polly Taylor, J.Taylor jr, Milly Glassel, Rob't Moore, Polly & Fanny Moore & Gabriel Barbour dined there. They sent for fiddle. I came away in evening & met Nancy Taylor. the Company were going to dance. 12, White frost- Cloudy forenoon, Rainy evening. I rode by Doolins to Court house. Bought 2 doz vest buttons at 1/- of A.Shepherd jun'r, who told me the Goods he sells are Mess'rs D. & J.Blair's- I returned to dinner- M.Bickers repairing Negroes houses & stables- Breakfasted and dined with me. 13, Sunday, Thick, Cloudy & moist, mild. Rained last night. I rode to Court house and from thence to the Church. A Sermon preached by Mr O'Neil, an Episcopalian, to about 20 persons- I came home to dinner. 14, Rained last night. Some snow on Blue ridge- clear & cool evening. Sent Frank with buttons to P.Edwards. Mrs Biggers was here in evening to get a slip to add to Davy's breeches,being cut too short. Getting prepared to kill hogs tomorrow. 15, Fine moderate morning- Some clouds in evening. Had 20 Hogs that were put in en to fatten 11th November. Macon Biggers had 4 for his next years provisions, 501 lb Nett- viz't. 146, 124, 121,110. I had 16 for my use Cut & Salted up in Evening 1,859 lb=165, 161, 160, 160, 137, 117, 115, 105, 101, 98, 97, 95, 88, 85, 75, = 1859 lb Nt. = 16 Hogs F.T.kept. Negro George assisted to kill & cut out.

From the TAYLOR DIARY, #1907-z in the Southern Historica Collection, University of North Carolina, Chape Hill. FOR REFERENCE ONLY: PERMISSION TO PUBLISH MUST BE REQUESTED. WARNING: MOST MANUSCRIPTS ARE PROTECTED BY COPYRIGHT.

Last edit almost 4 years ago by maxineh
Displaying pages 71 - 80 of 127 in total