Civil War letters at Middlebury College

Pages That Need Review

Letter from Orlando L. French to Lydia French

p.
Needs Review

p.

fits such as were common with me at one time giddiness + blindness followed by a killing sick head ache nothing dangerous but as the chivalry sat "powerful uncomfortable - at ten A.M. then being under orders to change camp the Col gave me permit to go to the city + make myself as comfortable as I could the surgeon ordered me into the hospital but I did not go but took lodgings at a hotel where I remained until nearly night to day when I returned to camp Dec 4th Nothing occurred to day except that we recieved orders to allow no citizen or straggling soldier arround our camp but arrest them + set them to work on our fortifications + it being Sunday thousands of citizens were strolling arround to see what they could + ran right in to a trap + before night we had very fine works It afforded our boys a great deal of sport to see those nice old fellows from town dig in the ditches who ahd probably never handled a spade nefore in their lives Dec 5th the Regt was detailed for picket today + remained out 24 hours no demonstrations Dec 6 " Peace + quietness prevails in our front but to our right + near or on the river some heavy fighting had taken place today that the Johnneys have been whipped again is all we have heard

Last edit over 1 year ago by LibrarianDiva
p.
Needs Review

p.

540

Dec 12th

I have not had time to finish this letter, + now we have orders to be ready to move at a moments notice + as the mail is just going out I will add a word + send it there is going to be a big fight or a foot race but we will not be the ones to run this time If we do not go tomorrow I will write you again I havent said anything in this that I wanted to but I am as ever your loving Husband

O L French

Last edit 4 months ago by MaryV

Letter from Henry Holt to "Wilbur"

p.
Needs Review

p.

boys waked me up and said that my farther was thare and you better believe I was astonished some but I got up and he sood up by the stone he come up to me and shook hands but I want you to understand that he gives me his hand first but he was pretty [clever?] and he stayed all Day the next night he went home I went down to the gate with him and passed him by the guard and he said that he and I had had some trouble but we would let it go he said that I mite send home my mony or do as I was a mind to, he give me a 1,50 before he went, I thought

Last edit 4 months ago by MaryV
p.
Needs Review

p.

he would come round when he found that I was sick but I did not know, I did suppose he would come up thare to see me I suppose that the snow is deep up thare now do you go to school now and how is Frank [Pierce?] and Tom and Charles Smith and Walterman tell Tom that I see New York before he did I had a ride on a steamboat from New York to Elizabeth fort and I see a English manawar and Spanish at New York they ware laying in the harbor a boat come from the Spanish ship filled with Spanish Sailors I see some of them in port but I must stop for it is time to water the horses direct

Last edit over 1 year ago by Kowalski

Letter to a Civil War soldier

p.
Needs Review

p.

[??iontown] Jan 15 1863

Dear Frank

I received yours of the 9 to day and was very glad to hear from you once more as it is the first news we have had from your regiment since the 30 of Dec you were then under marching orders and we did not know where you were all this time I was expecting to hear from you away down south but I thank the Good being you are still on this side of the Rappahannock and in good health you say you have not got an answer to any of your letters which you have written since you were there I have answered every one of them but may be I do not put enough on them you have never given me your Division or Brigade as to money I think if nothing happens I have enough to last me until the first of April and pay my rent besides so you need not be uneasy about that but if you are paid I want you to send every cent home only what you need for you will only lose it there) Mrs Moore is going to send Abe a box and if there is any thing you need

Last edit over 1 year ago by Jannyp
p.
Needs Review

p.

I want you to let me know. and I will send it to you I suppose some paper and envelopes will not come amiss and she wants to know the exact way to direct your letters so the box will not get mislaid. I have rented the same house I am in for next year [Skile's??] did not notify me to leave it and when I paid my rent they asked me if I were going to stay in it another year I told them it was owing to what arrangements could be made they said I could have it at the same price I had last year without security or writings so I told them I would keep it your father talks of going to the army in the spring on a money making expedition but what I do not know Geo. was here the other day he said he was going to Beverly again he wanted me to Board [J?T?udie] till spring but I told him I could not do it for it was as much as I could do to do my own work and take care of my children but I did not tell him the main reason which was the pay Andy Prentice told me he had written to you some time ago and you had not answered it David Porter has got back from the army if you know anything of Thomas Cole let me know

Last edit over 1 year ago by Jannyp
p.
Needs Review

p.

I believe I have given you all the news I can think of now only we are well and I hope you are the same, the smallpox are prevailing to such an extent in Harrisburg that they are going to move the legislative to Philadelphia I want you o get vaccinated for fear yours has run out and if you move back to Washington where there are good dentists I want you to have those teeth of yours attend ed to as I am told you suffer a good deal with toothache which must be very disagreeable you say you get no news I suppose it is well enough to keep what there is from the army for it is not very encouraging there is a talk now of the Western States seceding from the eastern cutting the Union in three the Illinois legislature has appointed a committee to wait on the Governor to ask him to recall the Illinois troops and if he refuses means are to resorted to to force him to comply but how it will end nobody knows but I will send you some papers by mail and will try and get you a good lot and send in [illegible] remember your own dearest and nearest friend [Lib??]

Last edit over 1 year ago by Jannyp

Letter from William [McKeand?] to Eliza Quilty

p.
Needs Review

p.

Camp Griffin Nov 17" 1861 Friend Elisa To night your able and thoughtfull written letter came at hand since I wrote you varius changes in the climate also in our laborious and Military life we are as we may say holding the key to the Military Chessboard of the Potomac and inconsequence of holden post pertaining to Reward - and honor it keeps us in constant society Oh how diferent the life tho fare of a soldier to the free and happy men who saunter gaily The streets and public places of a peacble town or villia up the thoroughfares of city the [?] or slave pen of the South canott compare with the fast fadin life of a vollunter you may think that I am discouraged I may say in one sence I am but of the only would use and once think of the poor soldier who is daily being himself

Last edit about 1 year ago by Zadie
p.
Needs Review

p.

thing in the morning by the D-ble sound of an old Kettle drum for Roll Call then [?] a [slate?] go and pack up your Knapsac put everything you own in it and be driled around a 80 acre lot for an hour then come in and draw nailes Then go out again for perhaps 2 hours then clean your guns Eat some pea soup and drill till dark and then stand for Dress parade come in and run like a pack of hounds for a Land full of doe, or a cup full of what they call coffee come back and answer to your name go to ground and sleep and all on acount of the officers who do not know how to drill

I have complaind Longe enough tell [Fate..?] Rush I should here from here by letter and tell her will answer now be [?] and answer this write soon tell Luke to [essay?] to have [Jo?] would like to be in Brandon now give my love to all enquiring not forgeting yourself No more at present I Remain Yours Truly Billy

P.S. The weather is Freezing and it is cold sleeping in tents now Direct Camp

Griffin Co B2nd [?] Regt Washington DC

W McKeand to Eliz Quilty

Last edit 11 months ago by SusanE
p.
Needs Review

p.

Camp Griffin Decr. 20th 1861 Friend Eliza I received your welc-omb letter sometime ago and would have answered it before but I have been laid up for two weeks with a feaver and have just got so I can scribble The news of you Mothers sickness caused me much ------------pain for I now she could not endure much and yet arround I could not have felt worse if it was my own Mother when I think how kind she has been to me it all most make me wish I was there I am getting strong now one spell thy thought I would have to go to the hospital There is a Battle about five miles from here they have sent for the second and Fifth Regts-

Last edit over 1 year ago by LibrarianDiva
Displaying pages 61 - 70 of 85 in total