Civil War letters at Middlebury College

Pages That Need Review

Letter from William [McKeand?] to Eliza Quilty

p.
Needs Review

p.

if John comes out Lt Lee will have a good time so will Geo. for Drumers have nothing to do but stay in camp Camp life is a life far different than any other life you enjoy all the there is in a forest life you are away from the busy care and tumult of a city you see nothing but ^guns what was the work of nature you can see the beautiful parade Grand before our Camp The Hills sourrounding are breathing with canon the woods and every aval-ible place are lined with huts built by the Soldiers in all it is a grand scene but when I come to think of home and the happy days spent by me I begin to think there is no place like Home but it is very seldom that my head is turned that way the boys say I am the

Last edit over 1 year ago by LibrarianDiva
p.
Needs Review

p.

Merry fellow in the company when will the rave some comfort since I been sick they say they can sleep without being smoked out --- I have played some tricks on them and if anything is done Bill done it our Boys went out in great spirits in the anticipaof a Fight and they will do the fighting if there is any to be done they are a head they will have The First lick at them Wm Hale is well Jo. Falkner is our Pickett duty to day all The rest are well as far as I --- know excuse this miseable writing as my hand is not steady yet Give my love to all write soon tell Ed to write and I will answer Good by From You friend CoB 2nd Vt Regt Washington DC Wm Mc Keand

Last edit over 1 year ago by LibrarianDiva
p.
Needs Review

p.

Head Quarters 2nd Division 6 Corps January 5" 1863 Friend Eliza How do you do no dont you have forgotten me by this time but I still think of thee what is the reason you do not write me do you not rec my letters or have you grown lazy - I have not received a letter from you is sometime if you do not answer this I will talk to you when I come home What do you think of [Fredghns?] and the fight - we got nicely whiped there but are agoing to try it again We have Orders to have 3 days [Rating?] in H.S. and 8 in [S...?] we are a going to Cross the River where where we did before and Storm the Enemys possition and take it if possible - I will write more after the Battle. my health is good so is [Stannards?] I am now at Hd Qs [&?] the Din in the Office and like

Last edit 10 months ago by SusanE
p.
Needs Review

p.

my Place much I do not have to fight any but get a good place and work on [Irish?] [Hammond?] could get [Clear?] of it to but he has to go in and Stand His luck Excuse the writing as I am in a hury and there is no news of importance I will Close when you write [with?] all of the news Give my love to all tell John to write me as I should like to here from very much - No more Good Night From Your Friend Wm McKeand

Direct

Head Quarters [Horses?] Div South Corps

Washington D.C.

Last edit 10 months ago by SusanE

Letter to "Dudly"

p.
Needs Review

p.

newd to write I expect you have hered of the death of Billy Talbert He was bured about two weeks ago He has been sick a long time. At last we have a [illegible] rail road from Broad to line Sts & East Bay is being paved and a few Houses going up in difrent parts of the city. Christmas Has come and gone with no unusual change only they celerbrated it by fireing canons & crackers & Fire works & the blowing of Horns. The [illegible] talk is Jack Sheaperd the great walker He is at the Club House He has a match to walk one Hundred Hours with out any vest. He commenced last Tuesday Evening (at 6 o clock) and finishes on Saturday night at (10) o clock. I think I have told you all the news and will close hopeing soon to here from you. I hope you will eicuse my Haste

I remain as Ever. Your friend

C H Town

Last edit over 1 year ago by Jannyp

Letter from William [McKeand?] to Eliza Quilty

p.
Needs Review

p.

Oct 2d Nagesstown M.D. Sept Friend Eliza I have just rec"d your letter and was glad to hear from you I had almost began to think you had forgotten to answer me but this is the first mail we have had for ten days I supose you have herd of the great Battle at Antietem and at the Cumberland Pass at the latter our Core done all the Fighting and won a splendid Victory we charged up the mountain driving the Rebels before us like sheep and took 1400 Prisoners and one brass gun The next day we had a rest and the day following we marched for Sharpsburg Just in time for the battle which had began and raiged Fiercly Our Brigade was Ordered

Last edit over 1 year ago by LibrarianDiva
p.
Needs Review

p.

To the right but the Centre being driven back we had to Double quick back to the Centre the Rebs were driving our men back when our Brigade wheeled into line and and pressed forward on the Double Quick and drove the enemy from the ground they had just gained and held it not to be given up at this time the Canonading was Feerfall the musketing was also deafning and the air was filled with shells and balls thus it raiged all day and at night as though by mutual consul all firing seased the next day was spent in buring the dead and by this means the Rebs made good their retreat the following morning all was gone except the wounded the field was covered withe the dead

Last edit over 1 year ago by LibrarianDiva

Letter from George Quilty to Eliza Quilty

p.
Needs Review

p.

[The next Letter you write [4 words illegible?] that letter that [Lieut?] Welch wrote to Walter I dont see why John didnt let me see it in [N. S. Gov 19?]. I want you to write all the news you know and send me some [2 words illegible?] that you dont want. In regard to paying for that land you need not be alarmed for at the time my time is up I shall have $342 coming to me. I hope you will send me some stamps. Give my love to muv and all the rest. Write soon [?] Oblige Your Affectionate Brother George

Direct to E. A. Quilty 2d Co. Garrison Guard Conscript Camp New Haven Conn

Last edit 5 months ago by cmc102247
p.
Needs Review

p.

[S Garisons C- Landing??], July the 25

My Dear friend

presumeing on old friendship which at least on my part was highly valued. I take the liberty to send you a few lines hoping it will be aceptable to let you know how I am getting on. we are still on the James River and expect to remain here some time our Regiment was pretty well used up at Savage Statian My principal friend Clark Bowen was taken prisoner I feel very lonesome without him Hamond and I are very often together when duty alows it

Last edit over 1 year ago by Jannyp
p.
Needs Review

p.

Conscript Camp

Fair Haven

Sunday Aug 28 Conn

Sister Eliza

Here I am gay and happy as a lark with not a thing to mar my happiness. I arrived here safe and sound after after a dusty ride of two ((20)[?] miles and was placed in the third story of a dusty lousy old building there being no less than 500 on the same floor however I enjoyed myself tip top. Our grub is not the best nor the boorest, it jest goes down and that all. Pickpockets are thicker than lise on a Soldier's Shi[r]t Collar and not a night passes but some body losse's some thing but as yet I am safe. These

Last edit over 1 year ago by vant
Displaying pages 71 - 80 of 85 in total